We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed at many hotels and resorts around the world and the Rimrock Resort rates as one the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
1 review
“We have stayed at many hotels and resorts around the world and the Rimrock Resort rates as one the best”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The service we received from every individual was outstanding.They were friendly.helpful.The room was excellent and the location is beautiful.There was not one thing we were unhappy with.We would stay there again and we would recommend it to others

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and were elated to share your comments with our entire team.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,875
    1,146
    420
    178
    116
See reviews for
1,217
2,248
101
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here with our teens in the summer of 2012. It was an easy walk to the hot springs and the base of Sulphur Mountain (a good day's adventure to hike). It had excellent fitness facilities including squash courts, and the ambiance was fantastic, Great lobby with great views; clean modern rooms. Too far of a walk to the main village (for the average person), so wheels or shuttle are essential if you plan to visit the village of Banff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view into the valley (looking down on the Banff Springs Hotel). It's pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for remembering us, and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel is the best but the staff have been amazing. My husband fell and hurt himself and the staff drove him to the hospital and picked him up as well. They would check in on him and wanted to be sure he had everything he needed. The hotel was also close to the sights and the mountains. The food was excellent along with the service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering a vacation in Banff.

Room Tip: I would get a room with an outside area. The views are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marycentral2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent trip. We were so happy that we were able to assist in ensuring that you and your husband, even after his fall, were able to enjoy your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

You can always tell how well a hotel is managed by the staff you encounter while staying at the hotel. I live in Banff and had good friends visiting from Victoria so we decided to be a visitor in our own town and spend a night at this resort I'm so happy we did. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by the doorman, to the bell hop who took our bags and then to the front desk staff who checked us in, I was overwhelmed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The room we had was a beaut and the view of the valley is nothing less than spectacular. We dined with our friends at Eden, where we've been many times before and the evening was incredible as it always is. Special mention goes to all service staff (Julian was one and his partner in crime was equally great) and to the maitre D, Chad - a great asset to the restaurant and resort. I joined my friends at the well-equipped gym in the morning and then had breakfast at Primrose - another beautiful restaurant at the resort. The host was charming to my wife and the waitress, "Jen from Taber" could not have been more helpful, friendly and proficient. With staff like this, the management team must be complimented for running such an effective operation.

Room Tip: We had a room that ended with 03 which had a nice sitting area and a great balcony. Try to get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are overjoyed that you selected to host your friends at our property while visiting you in Banff. It is always a delight to hear from our local neighbours that you elected to have a "stay-cation" at our resort. There is a tremendous amount of pride in our team, for their passion and dedication for providing great guest experiences, and we love to share your comments with our team.

We look forward to your next "stay-cation". Please let us know if we can be of any additional assistance.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went to an office Christmas party at the Rimrock. The rooms are very nice...the hotel is built on the side of a mountain so you go down to get to your room. The food and service were excellent and they made sure everyone was well looked after. The hotel was decorated beautifully with lots of gorgeous trees.
We look forward to going again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are delighted that you were able to join us for your office Christmas Party and to hear that you enjoyed it, and the hotel. Our team takes a tremendous amount of pride in putting the hotel together for the holidays, and we always love to hear that our guests enjoy it.

We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtonfield, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We initially had booked to stay at the Fairmont Banff Springs, however the day before we were to commence our stay at the Fairmont we were informed that they had overbooked and we were being relocated to the Rimrock Resort Hotel. We had booked over 6 months prior to our stay and this was the one hotel we wanted to stay at so we were quite upset. On arrival to the Rimrock we were greeted by friendly staff who made sure our stay was enjoyable. We had a one bedroom suite which was very spacious and had gorgeous views of the snow capped mountains and pine trees. It was very easy to access public transport from the hotel and was only a short bus ride to the village. The meals were excellent, nothing was a bother to the staff. We had to go to the Fairmont to sort out some matters, and after visiting there we realised how much better the Rimrock Resort Hotel is. The staff and atmosphere overrules the Fairmont by far. I would highly recommend staying at the Rimrock Resort Hotel!

Room Tip: If you can stay on the 2nd level on the north wing, we had a corner room so the mountains surrounded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skwoods64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that your impromptu stay with us was enjoyed so much. We were pleased to have you stay with us and that we were able to assist in turning your Rocky Mountain vacation into a success!

We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed three nights in a standard room. My wife and I were there for a work conference, but arrived on day early for a mini vacation.

The layout is weird with the lobby being on the 7th floor, but I thought this was part of the charm. The room was great and spacious. The staff gave me the best service of any hotel I have every stayed in- they were very friendly and helpful. The lobby lounge was comfortable, had a nice fire, and great food. The room was nice and big. I especially appreciated having a squash court available.

This is about a 30 minute walk from town. But the hotel provides a free bus pass- we had a delightful walk downhill to town, then took the bus back up hill. It is also right across the street from the hot springs, so it was great to walk to them.

The downsides: my room was dark- I wish there were brighter or more lamps. The free wi-fi was annoying: it was fast once you got on, but you have to go through their splash screen to access it every time you start your device (so, to check email on my phone, I would have to first open my browser and go through their splash screen: doing this ten times a day is annoying). The indoor parking was full and there was no indication of this: so I drove many levels all the way to the bottom of a narrow parking lot only to have to do a 6 point turn to drive back out. Over all, these were minor annoyances for me and no place is perfect- so I like it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. We take great pride in our staff's desire to WOW our guests, and always love to hear when we hit the mark.

We appreciate your additional comments as well and are pleased to share that we have made adjustments with our Wi-Fi service provider, to make the process more user friendly. We are also always in the process of upgrading our product, to keep in line with our guests expectations, and we look forward to sharing the changes as we move forward.

Please let us know if we can be of any additional assistance. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,004 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,105 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing