We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,342)
Filter reviews
5,342 results
Traveler rating
3,250
1,288
475
201
128
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,250
1,288
475
201
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springsprimrose restaurantlarkspur loungeprimrose dining roombanff gondolarim rocksulphur mountainpremium roombeautiful hotelspectacular viewsself parkingfree shuttlebow valleycanadian rockiespool and hot tublake louiseeden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,059 - 4,064 of 5,342 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Rimrock Hotel was the first stop of our grand tour of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, which was for 2 nights on 19/20 Aug 2013. We were certainly not disappointed with the hotel, the room or the food. The service was excellent at all times. We took advantage of the valet parking and out suitcases seem to magic themselves to our room which was a Premium Mountain View with king bed. The room was very large with a good sitting area and the bathroom was as expected for this type of hotel. The only negative was that we had very noisy neighbours who thought it was ok to party till 4.00am. We did have to call security out at 3.00am but they only asked for the music to be turned down - and not off. The hotel considered that this was enough - such a shame because everything else about our stay had been excellent, but we left feeling very tired and irritable due to the lack of sleep. I would return to the hotel, but I would be ringing security every hour and become a lot more forceful in ensuring that something more was done.

Room Tip: Premium Mountain Rooms have large windows to look out on the view and are a very good size.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

If you felt like it was magic, then we know we got it right! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to be sharing your comments with our team.
We are sorry to read that you had a concern with the noise of your neighbours while with us. We would like to assure you that we do take all concerns of our guests very seriously, and acted as we felt necessary in the situation. We have shared your concerns in the resolution of your concern with our team members, and will use your feedback to update our procedures as required.

We look foward to your next stay.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

All the staff are exceptionally well trained, friendly, helpful and, this is important, happy in their jobs.
The Rimrock facilities want for nothing! Most completely satisfying hotel/resort I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: The North Wing is newer.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind words in regards to our team, and our hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time so much! We are excited to share your comments with our team.

We look forward to your next stay.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only for one night but it was worth the visit. The front desk were very helpful and kind. The view from the 9th floor was astonishing!!! We took a visit to the gym that was A class even for city guys like us. And the food worth a Michelin star.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taly_schwatrzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to share your comments with our team. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our position on the mountain, and enjoy your views from your guest room. We feel extraordinarily lucky each and every day we get to look out the window at natures beauty.

We look forward to your next ~ hopefully longer ~ stay!

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a drive up the mountain, away from the commercial shops of Banff (these are similar to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, or similar resort towns), yet close enough via the shuttle that runs regularly. Very close within walking distance to hot springs and shuttle. Beautiful hotel, great service. Have a cup of coffee or tea at one of the outdoor tables (ground level on the front, 7th floor up from the back of the hotel) and enjoy the view. Great! Pricey, but really quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle into the Banff townsite. We enjoy our location in Banff, as it provides the most amazing views in the valley, in every direction. We are delighted that you also found time to relax outside on the deck and take in the area.

We look forward to your next visit.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was amazing, clean and tidy, comfortable, pleasant staff. There's a small bakery inside the the hotel which is lovely and there are a couple of shops too. The staff are very nice and welcoming. The views are great and rooms are spacious. One thing to be aware of is that you are expected to tip the staff a lot which isn't a big deal as they deserve it. Definitely recommend this hotel. A shuttle bus stops outside the hotel to take you down town and its just a walk away from tunnel mountain- a good climb for people of all ability.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller99829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Amazing! That is one of the words we love to read and hear from our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were able to take advantage of the great views from your guest room. Our associates take a lot of pride in their job, and it shows with the service that they provide each guest. We would like to assure you that the hotel, and its team, have no expectation of tipping and any gratuity you extend is apprecaited, but not expected. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle from the hotel into the Banff townsite, it is a wonderful "perk" we enjoy having the opportunity to provide our guests.

We look forward to your next visit

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews