We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“World's Best Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“World's Best Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

All the staff are exceptionally well trained, friendly, helpful and, this is important, happy in their jobs.
The Rimrock facilities want for nothing! Most completely satisfying hotel/resort I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: The North Wing is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our team, and our hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time so much! We are excited to share your comments with our team.

We look forward to your next stay.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,378
    971
    361
    146
    100
See reviews for
993
1,893
86
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only for one night but it was worth the visit. The front desk were very helpful and kind. The view from the 9th floor was astonishing!!! We took a visit to the gym that was A class even for city guys like us. And the food worth a Michelin star.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taly_schwatrzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to share your comments with our team. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our position on the mountain, and enjoy your views from your guest room. We feel extraordinarily lucky each and every day we get to look out the window at natures beauty.

We look forward to your next ~ hopefully longer ~ stay!

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a drive up the mountain, away from the commercial shops of Banff (these are similar to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, or similar resort towns), yet close enough via the shuttle that runs regularly. Very close within walking distance to hot springs and shuttle. Beautiful hotel, great service. Have a cup of coffee or tea at one of the outdoor tables (ground level on the front, 7th floor up from the back of the hotel) and enjoy the view. Great! Pricey, but really quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle into the Banff townsite. We enjoy our location in Banff, as it provides the most amazing views in the valley, in every direction. We are delighted that you also found time to relax outside on the deck and take in the area.

We look forward to your next visit.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was amazing, clean and tidy, comfortable, pleasant staff. There's a small bakery inside the the hotel which is lovely and there are a couple of shops too. The staff are very nice and welcoming. The views are great and rooms are spacious. One thing to be aware of is that you are expected to tip the staff a lot which isn't a big deal as they deserve it. Definitely recommend this hotel. A shuttle bus stops outside the hotel to take you down town and its just a walk away from tunnel mountain- a good climb for people of all ability.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller99829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Amazing! That is one of the words we love to read and hear from our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were able to take advantage of the great views from your guest room. Our associates take a lot of pride in their job, and it shows with the service that they provide each guest. We would like to assure you that the hotel, and its team, have no expectation of tipping and any gratuity you extend is apprecaited, but not expected. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle from the hotel into the Banff townsite, it is a wonderful "perk" we enjoy having the opportunity to provide our guests.

We look forward to your next visit

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.f.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Spent Labor Day weekend at the Rimrock and overall, loved it! Our room was well appointed, clean and comfortable with an outstanding mountain/water view. We had one lunch and one snack (cheese plate) in the lounge area - comfortable and welcoming space with average food. Pool/spa area was great with outdoor patio - we were delighted to catch a glimpse of a nearby wedding with stunning backdrop. We were surprised that the in-room coffee was low quality and there was no cream despite the available refrigerator - we expect attention to detail at a luxury hotel! Concierge services, although friendly, could also be improved. We did enjoy and appreciate the free bus passes - did not have to use the car all weekend which was great as parking would have been a headache and the traffic was bumper-to-bumper!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pacifist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for joining us for labour day weekend. It was a beautiful weekend and we were happy to have so many guests to share it with. We are glad that you were able to experience so may different areas of the property ~ including the spa/pool, deck ~ and even got to take in the sights of the beautiful labour day weekend wedding.
We appreciate your feedback in regards to what we could do to make your experience better on your next visit. We have shared your comments with the appropriate managers and look forward to using them when making changes in the future.

We look forward to your next visit.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Located up the slope, just short of the entrance to Sulphur Mountain Gondola and Hot Springs. (Note that we could smell the sulphur some evenings as we drove up the mountain, but never at the hotel itself.)

Lovely partial views from most rooms. The hotel itself is nestled into the steep hillside and is surprisingly difficult to see from the valley due to its shape and use of subtle colors.

Very good service: front desk, concierge, maids, café, etc. We felt as if we had really splurged, although the room price was fairly typical to many other, less impressive hotels in the area.

We had a junior suite that worked very well for our 6 nights. The bed was absolutely huge (too big!?) with very nice sheeting, pillows and comfort. Our only suggestion is that it would have been nice to have a dual-sink bathroom. We made good use of the complimentary bathrobes, wearing them down to the hot tub and sauna several times during our stay.

Room Tip: The junior suite seems to add a lot of room, which we valued for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure to have you here for 6 nights, and I hope that we made you feel at home away from home. We are delighted to share your comments with our team, and use your feedback for insight into what would work best for you, our guest, when we make changes to our washrooms.

We look forward to your next stay!

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

After a long drive trough the mountains we came to an excellent hotel. We were upgraded to a corner suite, which had one king size bed and a pull out sofa which was perfect for our family!
We were hungry so we ordered room service, portions were huge. Nachos would feed a family of four (We orderd just for a snack, but there was more than enough for a snack). Awesome pool and everyone was very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliGaMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for chosing to stay with us, with your family. We are pleased that enjoyed your stay so much. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the pool, and indulge in the amazing nachos! We hope you will come back soon, and try out our new menu!

We look forward to your next visit.

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,931 reviews
2.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing