We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very good service.
Room was average size, bathroom could use a little remodeling as it's showing its age.
The bed was the best part of the stay. Most comfortable bed and bed sheets. I am often disappointed with the bed and linen at most hotels, but this place puts my own bed and sheets to shame.
Scenery out the window is beautiful.
Food at Primrose was very good (a side note, avoid Melissa's Missteak in Banff - it was truly a "mistake").

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

'a last minute' booking by Rocky Mountaineer as our original Calgary Hotel was still closed due to flooding.

And what a substitute - 9th floor overlooking Banff and the mountains and river, valet parking, wonderful restaurant and bar. Comfortable beds, well maintained rooms.

And a free pass on the shuttle bus back down into Banff - so I could have a couple of beers without the worry of driving.

Worth every penny of however much it cost us....

Room Tip: choose a high floor if you can for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent location and views, we were only on the third floor so the view was somewhat obscured by the Forrest

The room was spacious and clean and there is free WiFi

We went for valet parking which was a little pricy but delivered by very efficient and friendly staff.

We did not eat in the restaurant but did have room service which was extremely good and reasonably priced.

The public areas of the hotel are a little over the top with roaring fires even on a hot July day but the views are stunning and I would recommend the hotel if visiting the area

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank onemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I encourage you to book a Premium or Grandview guest room on your next visit ~ with unobstructed views of the mountains/valleys surronding us, you will never want to leave your room.

We look forward to your next visit.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Outstanding hotel in a very memorable trip to Canada.
We have just returned from an 18 day trip to Canada and Alaska.
We stayed at good hotels and on an excellent cruise ship but this hotel was outstanding.
A wonderful position adjacent to Banff Gondola and Hot Springs, excellent staff and service, great food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for making us part of your 18 day trip through Canada and Alaska. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is stunning - the scenery is breathtaking as well. We parked underground and checkin was quick and easy; the reception staff were personable and professional. The lobby is beautiful and the gym/spa area looked very inviting! There is also a small pool adjacent to the gym area which looked to be well maintained. It was frequented by several guests at the time.
The room with two double beds had a mountain view - stunning. It was clean and well stocked. We ate supper and breakfast at the hotel, and the food was divine. The quinoa chick pea burger and the mushroom salad were excellent, as was the service. Having tea while looking out over the mountains is so relaxing!!
There is a town bus that stops at the Rimrock, for handy access to Banff, and it was comfortable and frequent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: There are various choices available for mountain versus partially obstructed mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Upon arrival at the resort we were welcomed by the concierge who pointed us towards the check in desk, this was where the experience started to go downhill as they could not find our booking, even though we had a copy of the booking confirmation e-mail we were left standing in the lobby for approximately 30mins as the seemingly incompetent check in clerk fumbled around, eventually i was informed that they could not find my booking but would book me in anyway, now surely if this was the case they could have done that half an hour previously instead of making us feel like we were intruders to the hotel. This was not the end of the check in saga though as i was then asked to e-mail a copy of my booking confirmation to a member of the hotel staff. Finally we were given the key to our room which was at best average the lobby's and lifts all seem very dated and the only reason i can think for the price of the hotel was for the view from the room window, which i cannot complain about as it was simply stunning. Having been in the room for a matter of minutes we were pestered yet again by the incompetent check in clerk as the e-mail address she had given me was the wrong one! Onto the parking, surely for a hotel this exclusive the parking would be complimentary? no not here as per most things it appears that they want to screw every last penny out of you, at $16 per day I thought this was a bit pricey as all of the carparks in nearby Banff are free. We did however dine at the Larkspur restaurant which was very good, the food was excellent as was the service and even the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience upon your arrival at the property, and would like to assure you that we have taken the time to follow up with your booking company to ensure that this is something that does happen moving forward. I encourage you to book direct with the hotel on your next visit to the area, so that we are able to ensure that we can meet and exceed your needs ~ even before your arrival.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent Hotel, very good facilities, excellent staff, superb cuisine. Rooms are overlooking mountains or aerial view of valley floor to Banff. Beautiful scenery and a bus service to Banff from the Hotel. Short walk up the road to the hot springs (also drop off point for buses) and a chance to see the wildlife. Very good value for money. Would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
2.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing