We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed views...But a lovely property none the less”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mixed views...But a lovely property none the less”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was left with mixed opinion of this truly nice property. Positives first:
1. Solid building, tastefully decorated with all amenities you would expect in the hotel. There is no noise issue as the building is concrete.
2. Located in the nature.. However you must have a car if you want to stay in this hotel as walking into town is 30 mins downhill which means even longer on your return.
Negatives:
1. Hotel charges for parking which I think is unfair since it is located so far away from any alternative parking arrangement that you have no choice but to park there.
2. Hotel is busy and you feel you are treated as a number
3. Requested a quiet room on a higher floor... made to pay more for a room with a view... After waiting for an hour and a half for room to be ready, it ended up a room with a connecting door (not so quiet). Offered an alternative option on lower floor which was not any different than a normal room apart from a nicer view. Promised nicer amenities etc but it was not the case. When requested to view a regular room, they had no staff to do it... in the end I just gave up waiting and just called a Duty Manager who finally waived the extra charge for upgrade... It was my birthday trip and bearing in mind I only asked for a quiet room I thought the whole affair turned into hassle.
4. Despite my experience above I do not want to put you off staying in this property. It is very secluded and stylish hotel. If you like those two descriptions and prepared to pay for it then you are in the right place. I did feel that someone eventually looked after us but I had to speak to a Manager... Product knowledge and staff training as well as absence of a personal touch is clearly apparent.

Room Tip: I provided a picture of the view from room 610... Breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,905
    1,155
    430
    183
    119
See reviews for
1,233
2,276
102
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is very good value and is in a superb location. Get a room with a view of the valley and you wont want to leave it!
Excellent facilities, very attentive and caring staff, food excellent and good value with choices around different restaurants.
We were "marooned" during the recent floods and had to stay an extra 3 nigths before the roads reopened, hotel was brilliant in reducing the room rate and keeping us in the same room, and I cant think of a better place to be stranded!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrainMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel with good amenities and excellent customer service. Without exception, every member of staff that I met were friendly, professional and courteous. The hotel is located approx. 3km from Banff and so walking into town for dinner is impractical. Either drive, use a taxi or the complimentary bus service. Parking at the hotel is costly, but the hotel is located near to the Gondola and the Hot Springs, so maybe parking there is an option worth considering. (I parked at the hotel myself, so I am unable to comment further). If your room has a view down the Bow Valley, then it is wonderful particularly early in the morning. To summarise then, good hotel, location is well out of town, but the service is great - even by Canadian standards, which is saying something!

Room Tip: A view overlooking the Bow valley is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Firstly Banff is a beautiful Canadian destination and we were traveling on a family holiday so the mood should be set for this review. Upon checking in, to 2 nights later upon leaving everything was very very nice. The room was clean and well appointed. Spacious (room 718) with stunning views. The pool area was pleasantly adequate and view awesome (even from the fitness centre)! suggestions for activities, restaurants and wildlife viewing from the staff at the hotel were fantastic. The location was superb....off the beaten path but close (walking distance) to the hot springs and gondola...not to mention great hiking!!!! My husband often says where you stay can set the mood of the vacation, in the case of the Rimrock it helped make a fantastic vacation better, it was cherry on top of the sundae. Breakfast at Primrose in the hotel was lovely too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is extremely nice! It is very fancy, but we felt out of place walking through in our hiking clothes. I was disappointed to have to pay extra for self parking given the high cost of the room in the first place. Parking should have been included. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel, the prices were way too expensive for our budget. The view was beautiful. Since our room didn't have a view i looked for a sitting area to relax and take pictures if the view. Unfortunately the restaurants had all the good views. The location is a little outside of downtown Banff but we enjoyed being away at night. It is within walking distance of the hot springs. And it is very close to the gondola. Overall it was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bkcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I cancelled my reservation with otel.com and yet they did not cancel and neither would the hotel. so I went anyway. The Lobby was poorly maintained but the rooms were tidy and spacious with a nice view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sculpt2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was supposed to stay at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel as it was part of the goldleaf package offered as part of the Rocky Mountaineer train I was taking. I used Fresh Tracks Canada, a travel company that suggested the Rimrock due to its proximity to the Banff gondola and Banff Upper Hot Springs since I had a short window to visit these sights..and..they were literally right across the street. The Resort is wonderful. The doormen are friendly and knowledgeable about the area and gave great advice.I had a deluxe room which had two comfortable leather chairs and a few to die for. I slept with my drapes open..lol. I ate breakfast there each day. After my check out, which was 12:00 and wonderful it wasn't early like most of the hotels, I was able to wait for my transfer to Lake Louise at one of their tables in the lobby. Internet was complimentary, so that was great. I stayed for two nights and had a lovely time. The ROAM bus stops there every 40 minutes, and it was free by showing your room key. I loved the Rimrock and hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVVickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,020 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
923 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing