We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Banff. We stayed in room 919 and the view was beautiful. We found this hotel to be exactly what we had hoped for, a nice, romantic getaway. It was quiet and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. We knew the hotel was located outside of town but didn't find this to be a problem at all. We wanted to "disconnect" and we did! We walked to the gondola and enjoyed it very much. We booked our trip through Travelocity and received the VIP treatment...free valet parking, discount at hotel restaurants. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macysmom2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,991 - 3,997 of 5,111 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Comfortable hotel, wonderful views, staff very friendly and helpful, we did not realise when booking it was so far out of town although a shuttle bus is provided.i cannot comment on food as we only used coffee shop which was fine.
Probably would not return because of position.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very nice hotel, staff are friendly and helpful. We visited here as part of our Rocky Mountaineer experience. The room was comfortable the bed was nice. The restaurant was very over priced. Close to the gondola, a little far out of town but they ran a free shuttle. Loved Banff.

Room Tip: The room we had was a beautiful view as they look over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leann_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently travelled here with girlfriends and we had the Grandview room, which was very comfortable with great views. We ate at the Primrose and had great service and enjoyed the pasta menu and a good selection of wine. We ordered room service for breakfast and it came promptly and the hot meals were hot and the yogurt parfait with fruit was more than i could eat for breakfast and delicious. Didn't try the spa this time, but used the pool and hottub and enjoyed some quiet time here to read. The concierge was helpful when we were needing a cab and looking for some spots to try out in town for the evening. Check in and check out were fast and easy. Will always come back to this hotel when visiting Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jo123Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at ... great location, gorgeous views, super restaurants, very good breakfasts, breakfasts, helpful, friendly, courteous and knowledgeable staff, and to round it all off, free transit to and from downtown ...

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a fantastic stay, the service was over the top. All staff were extremely helpful and happy. Our room had a incredible view, room service was great, fast & accurate. Had a 2 year old with us and he loved the pool. Really nice spa and an overall great expierience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpencerV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am actually staying at the Rimrock right now - been here for several days and thought I'd share my experience. I do a lot of business and personal travel so here are the pros and cons I've seen:
Pros:
- If you pay for the upgrade, gorgeous view and location (close to the springs and gondola). Further up in the mountains than other hotels
- If you don't have a car, you can take advantage of a free bus service to downtown.
- Beds are comfortable
Cons:
- Restaurant service at the Larkspur is s-l-o-w (with the exception of one server). It is painful so if you plan to stop by make sure you're not on a time schedule and can burn time. The Primrose is dependent on who you get and if the chef is out front, but if you tell them you need to move faster they will - recommend buffet for breakfast. That said, they did overcharge me this morning.
- Internet service is not always reliable esp. if you need VPN
Trying the spa later so we'll see how that goes

Room Tip: North side seems quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $110 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing