We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Initial shock wa sthat the hotel was out of town so far.
BUT the room views & service was excellent & staff very attentive.
Bathroon tile mould was not needed.
Free town Shuttle was nice BUT really P'd when the return drove past @ the in town stop when another bus was parked in the slot.
Bus numbers do not correspond with the timetable @ the bus stop & you need to catch number 1 bus.
Did not like being charged $16 a day to park our vehicle but did appreciate they didn't charge for internet access.

Room Tip: We stayed in north wing 418 & views were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artificer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Rimrock is a very good hotel with well-trained, extremely friendly and helpful staff. The conference facilities and restaurants are also very good. What elevates the Rimrock to "excellent", IMO, is the awesome view you get from any window facing away from the road. The view from my room was spectacular and made waking up a special treat.

This is one of those venues where it really pays to select the "with a view" option, and aim for one of the higher floors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graygo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Rimrock twice so far. Both times have been pleasant stays. The view is obviously one of the main points of coming to stay in the hotel. I also liked that you can use the bus for free by showing your room key and the hot springs is about a ten minute walk away. Rooms are large, comfortable, clean, and beautiful. There is a free internet option that isn't bad. I like that this hotel is quiet. Which at times makes it seem like it's just you and your partner staying. The service has been awesome. We went to the cafe, honestly not paying attention to the time and ordered something that would take a bit of time to make. The gentleman behind the desk was really nice and still made it for us. All in all, I really like this hotel and will definitely come back.

A tip would be: if you don't like transit or walking then go with another hotel that is closer in Banff.

Room Tip: Go with one of the deals that are offered if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kigi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I travel for a living and I used to live in Banff. When I'm in Banff, I choose the Rimrock for it's excellent views and superior customer service. At no other location in Banff can I honestly say that the concierge staff strive to know every customer by name. Sit back and listen, although there are 346 guest rooms, the staff will greet nearly all customers by name as they come to the concierge desk located at the front entrance.

As for the views, they are spectacular and it is worth upgrading the Grandview rooms.

Food at the Eden restaurant is spectacular. It is a 5 Diamond rated venue and is worth the splurge.

Room Tip: Grandview Room is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I was here for six nights, three on vacation and three for business.

The hotel, rooms, and staff are great. You cannot beat the views! It is a little removed from town, which can be a plus or minus depending on your point of view. If you want peace and quiet this is the place. If you want to walk to dinner or shopping, forget about it. They do however offer no cost rides on the local bus service.

The conference facilities are wonderful.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Rimrock did not disappoint on our recent visit. It's setting is majestic with stunning views. The staff is friendly, attentive and helpful. We spent a relaxing, snowy day by the beautiful, huge fireplace in the lounge, reading and being served coffee, drinks, etc. Our room was very clean, quiet and spacious. The only negative was that it was too hot at night and, although we turned the temperature down, the heat stayed on. We brought this to the attention of the staff and they sent a maintenance man to check it. After his visit, it was much better. We enjoyed the fitness centre and the swimming pool, but didn't visit the spa. We wanted a quiet, relaxing holiday for a few days and this hotel and staff delivered - just what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I took my mom for a girls weekend for her birthday, our room was upgraded and they brought her a happy birthday card with chocolates. The room was gorgeous. The staff is amazing, they are all super friendly and there to help with anything. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat-from-Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
2.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing