We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at this very nice, high-end hotel located in a beautiful area near Banff. It is a short walk to the gondola lift and hot springs bath. At the time we were there...they offered free rides to Banff via public bus. All you needed to do was show the bus driver your room key card. You were picked up in front of the hotel and dropped off at a couple of different locations in town (they had a schedule card for you to keep and times are also listed in town). This was a nice option since parking in Banff can be a challenge at time. Note: the bus doesn't run late into the night...I believe the last pickup was around 8:00 p.m.

Our room had a partial view and was very nice. When we first checked in our A/C wasn't working properly but they sent maintenance to our room immediately. The repair took about 10 minutes and while fixing our problem...the repairman gave us many helpful and interesting tips/info. It is pricey to stay here but I felt we got our money's worth. The only let-down was that you had to pay an additional charge to park your car (about $15 a day for self parking...they also offer valet parking at a higher cost). They have a multi-level, enclosed garage which is nice; however, the 'best' spots are reserved for valet parking but they have elevators that take you to the main floor so it's not too much of an inconvenience not to park on that level.

We ate once in their restaurant (breakfast). It was pricey but the food, service and atmosphere were excellent. The view is outstanding and we were seated at a table that allowed us to enjoy it! I also took advantage of their spa. It, too, was very nice. I made a last-minute massage reservation and ended up being place in a hotel room converted to a massage room...not quite what I expected but was fine with it because the massage was great!

The staff was always very helpful and attentive....excellent service! We enjoyed our stay and all the amenities that the hotel offered. We have no complaints and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioOtters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,967)
There are newer reviews for Rimrock Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,941 - 3,947 of 4,967 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a great hotel.
Greatly enjoyed my stay there.
Room was very clean and very fresh.
Bathroom was very clean.
Restaurants (Larkspur and Diva's) serve amazing food.
Very close to the hot springs and the Banff Gondola. Amazing view from the hotel.
Will definitely stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well I have changed my mind about the fairmont chain. Over the years I have stayed at the Banff springs hotel and was quite happy until I stayed at the rimrock. The fairmont in Banff is still a beautiful hotel with a lot of history but its the staff that seems to tarnish the shine. I found them cold and unfriendly and when you add that up with the cost of staying there the rimrock is a much better memory. The hotel itself is beautiful mixing old world charm with modern amenities. The staff will go way overboard to make your stay great and it seems to come naturally to them. The rooms have a fantastic view and are nice and large and so are the bathrooms unlike the fairmont's gold floor. I have never had a bad meal, everything tasted amazing even the snacks. The pool and the gym came with amazing views of the Rockies and the main lounge was great with the massive fireplace in the center of the room. Nice for a cozy and to read a book. I will definitely be back here every year and at half the cost of the fairmont I might even stay a little longer. My new home in the Rockies . Steve S.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a Great Hotel for us. Food was great, room was spacious enough for 2 adults 3 boys. The pool area was great and workout area fine. The price was booked through hotels.com , a great price for a weekend getaway.

As far as Banff hotels go this was money well spent. It was also right across from the hot springs pool.

The views were stunning from the hotel , might be the best in Banff.
We would go back for a ski weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Obs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your family's experience. It is great to hear that your family enjoyed their time together and with us. I would definitely agree that we have the best views in Banff! I hope you will be able to visit again soon.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Rimrock is without a doubt the most positive hotel/dining experience we have ever had. The service from the time we arrived to the time we left was impeccable. We were greeted by very friendly and accomodating staff at our vehicle when we drove up. Our luggage was swiftly taken to our room, which was beautiful and had an amazing view of the mountains and the valley. From our night at Diva's watching the hockey game to the Larspur where we had a beverage before our fabulous dining experience at Eden, this hotel was amazing! While the food itself in Eden was absolutely delicious and very artistically presented, it was the service that was most outstanding. We had a very special experience which we will never forget. Thank you to all of the people at the Rimrock for making this a memorable weekend for us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scootergirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Rimrock. Eden is truly a remarkable experience! It is also the only AAA 5 Diamond restaurant in Western Canada. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all the great dining areas of the hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Rimrock!

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel and it isn't a tourist trap. This hotel is well done great staff and the best hotel lounge in the area. It has comfortable beds and a top notch spa. Restaurants are fantastic. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience of TripAdvisor. I love the title of your review and I can not agree more! Did you know that The Rimrock is 5550FT above Sea level? That's more than 700FT higher than the Town of Banff. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Rimrockresort.com offers the best rates...Guaranteed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A high end facility with lots of wow factor. An exceptionally comfortable lobby with a fabulous view, lots of overstuffed sofas and seats. Fireplaces and lobby service were also very nice. The rooms were large, well appointed and comfortable. The staff was very young but attentive and energetic. A nice coffee shop and a very good but expensive restaurant. All in all it is a place I would look forward to returning too.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank You for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of the Larkspur Lounge, as you mentioned it is exceptionally comfortable and most certainly boasts spectacular views. We hope to welcome you back to The Rimrock soon.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
403.762.1808
nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
966 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $174 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing