We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice stay at the Rimrock” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rimrock Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get your Heritage Pass
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Rimrock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is very nice in Banff. Location is a bit off the main downtown area, but they have regular bus service into town. Rooms are typically nice, have a nice bar called the Larkspur. It is an expensive place to stay, definitely wouldn't stay here for every visit, as we are from Calgary and go to Banff regularly. They charge extra for parking no matter if you self park or valet park, and the distance from the parking to the rooms can be significant. Definitely are other places you can stay in Banff for less money that still provide a great experience, and closer proximity to the downtown. Having said that, if you are going to stay at the Rimrock, I would recommend spending the money for the views, which are quite nice. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,306
    935
    339
    138
    93
See reviews for
936
1,822
84
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
405 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a company meeting. The room is very comfortable and well maintained, the food was great and the service prompt and friendly. The views of Banff Valley and Mountain Rundle are great. The hotel gym and pools are worth visiting. The hotel is a short walk away from the Banff Upper Hotsprings (a must in my books) and the Sulphur Mountain Gondola (great on a sunny day). I would stay again at this hotel for a meeting or a personal vacation.
There is a bus shuttle to downtown Banff. I did not take the shuttle, but it appeared to run on a fairly regular basis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on the service our staff provides, and it is always a pleasure to read that we were able to show our guests what our staff are able to provide. Next time you will have to head into town and use the Complimentary Shuttle Service, provided by ROAM transit system.

I look forward to your next visit! Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at Rimrock and i can honestly say that this hotel is super overpriced, not much new for banff park. If you really want to save money dont stay here, staff are good however rooms are small. The view is pretty good, the food was oily and not within budget. I hope people really do there research if deciding to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We hope that you can come back and try out the new menu options, including our lifestyle menu ~ featuring gluten free and vegetarian options. The Rimrock is also under the process of completing guest room refreshments, based on feedback from you ~ our guest.
Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,
Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
Cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great ambience, great dining, specially Eden restaurant, great spa and workout facilities. Really good overall value and service. Better view than the Banff Springs hotel in my opinion. The Eden restaurant was by far the best dining experience we ever had.

Room Tip: There are 4 suites available 700, 702, 800, 802 I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Eden is the only 5 Diamond restaurant in Western Canada and it truly is a magnificent dining experience. Visit our website for great specials including our inaugural Maple Fest in March. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
(t) 403.762.1808
(e) nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here in January 2013, we stayed here two years ago too and simply fell in love with the place. The Rimrock I would say is one of the best places to stay, the other being Banff Springs. The rimrock's views are simply amazing but only if you book the right type of room grade, I noticed that some rooms overlooked the multi storey car park so just bare that in mind when booking.
Rooms are comfortable and the staff are generally very nice, our check in wasn't the warmest of check ins but concierge more than made up for it being very friendly.
I'm a keen swimmer and one factor that I loved about the hotel when we stayed two years ago was that it had a swimming pool, I used the pool a few times during the stay but had to stop as there was sand/grit in the large hot tub at the bottom (I'm not being picky- it seemed that someone had dumped a bucket of sand in it) and the swimming pool was seriously murky and made my skin itch like mad - funnily enough the hotel closed it shortly after for a few day's.

Generally I would advise you give the rimrock a go, they have some massive pluses such as the complimentary roam bus which gives you a lift into downtown Banff every forty minutes but be weary at weekends as the hotel is always full!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for posting your experience of The Rimrock Resort Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! After a fresh snow, it is always a pleasure to look out the windows at the majestic snow-capped mountains. I would like to apologize for the closing of the pool, there minor difficulties with the pump which I am happy to report have been rectified. I trust you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rimrock soon! Don't forget to checkout our website for great rates and specials!

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Desk Manager
(t) 403.762.1808
(e) nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The location is wonderful! outside Banff Avenue with a spectacular view! To go downtown a car or a bus is necessary! With the card of the room showed to the driver the bus is free!The staff of the hotel is very efficient and polite ( as everywhere in Alberta). The connections with the Lake Louise and Sunshine ski resorts are also efficient and free using the 3 areas skipass!The bar has a good coffee and chocolates! The Primerose Restaurant has a Lobster Pappardelle dish really tasty, delicious and special!!! To be pedantic one could say that the turkish bath could be improved as comfortable! The days spent at the Rimrock Resort Hotel will remain as a relaxing, pleasant holiday. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself! We are truly fortunate to live in such a beautiful area that offers phenominal skiing. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Canada and trust that you will be able to make it back soon.

Cordially,

Nathan Adair
Front Dsek Manager
(t) 403.762.1808
(e) nathan.adair@rimrockresort.com
~Check out our website for the latest Specials & Promotions~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel from the outside looks amazing and the indoor spa, pool, lounge, restaurants look amazing. THEN you get to your room and it's average or even less. There was wallpaper coming off, the treats left were awful, and the room attached was open so the person next door could easily walk into our room. The safe did not work, the remote did not work.
WOULD not stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krystyna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,902 reviews
2.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing