We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RimRockSolid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“RimRockSolid”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

In the valley there are a host of hotel choices. In my opinion The Rimrock edges out all the others. No it wasn't built by the railroad. No it doesn't have sprawling grounds. No it doesn't have a golf course attached. But it does have startling views of the mountains. And modern rooms and facilities. And fine dining. All in, a luxury, high-end hotel that gives you the feeling that you're well away from it all. Even though the town is right around the corner.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good with fine views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,875
    1,146
    420
    178
    116
See reviews for
1,217
2,248
101
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We decided to spend a weekend in Banff and chose this resort...I initially tried to book a resort right in town but everything was booked...so glad we ended up with this one. Check in was a breeze...the view from the room was amazing! The staff along with the mountain views are what truly make this hotel stand out.
I booked online but I had to call the hotel directly b/c I didn't get a confirmation number right away...I mentioned that it was my daughter's bday and that I needed to ensure we had a room booked..she assured me it was booked and proceeded to give me the confirmation number. Once we were settled away in our room there was a knock at the door-a staff member handed my daughter a bday card with 2 chocolates! Nice touch! It made her day! I had forgotten that I mentioned it when I called in...
Everyone that worked here greeted us with smiles and asked we were always asked if we needed assistance with something...We ate at Primrose and the dinner was great..so glad we got talking to the waiter about ski hills...he gave us some useful info as to which one would be good for us beginners..lol...We used every facility this hotel had to offer-right down to the ice rink outside and enjoyed them all. This place is a short walk to the hot springs- which was great.
I do have a couple of negatives though.. the beds...did not find them comfortable but, I survived..all depends on one's personal likes I guess... I also think that if you pay to stay at a hotel (nightly rate, plus tourism levies, tourism improvement fees.... not incl. the other money you spend at the establishment-food, drinks, etc.) I don't think you should have to pay for parking esp. if other hotels in the area offer free parking....just my personal opinion..and why I'm giving it a 4 not a 5...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Labgirl7100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is an extremely well run, higher-end hotel with great views. If you were looking at the Banff Springs DO consider this instead. Great restaurants, swish rooms, good lobby bar area with open fires, etc. Situated a few steps from the Banff Gondola and the outdoor hot pools. Look up on Tripadvisor.ca and you'll usually find reasonable rates. The only thing not going for it is that it's situated away from the Banff townsite up a long hill so use of a car or shuttle bus is needed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arbourstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Rimrock in Banff. The hotel is tucked slightly outside of town up Sulphur Mountain. The views from the hotel are fantastic. This hotel is a first class hotel and I would highly recommend it. The couple small details that keep me from giving it a five are as follows:
- the rooms are very nice with terrific views. The bathrooms are fine - clean, large enough, etc but the bathtubs are small and this dates it.
- The room was quite hot at night and we had a bit of difficult with the thermostat.
- the pillows are not 5-star pillows and anyone who has read any of my reviews knows I am a stickler for wonderful pillows.
- the coffee shop which is very nice and a real treat at 6:30 am was not open one morning. This was a problem for us as we needed to be on the ski hill and had relied on this being open for breakfast. Not a big deal if you are not time constrained. All other days it was open. The first day on Thursday morning the muffins were fresh and warm. On the Saturday they were cold and just not quite as wonderful - another tiny detail.

Overall - the restaurant menus are fantastic - the food is very good in all the restaurants, the lobby is very cozy with the huge fireplace - a great meeting place for drinks. The gym and pool are very good. The service is very good.

With a bit more attention to those tiny details, I would give them a five.

Room Tip: You will need a car if you stay here or a shuttle to down town Banff. It is too far to walk on a reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JECan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

THis hotel is virtually in my back yard, about a two hour drive. If you have never been to banff, you owe it to yourself to go! The city is beautiful Quaint. Almost like a Swiss village, perhaps Zermatt. And just across the ricer up towards the mountain and Cable car sits the beautiful RimRock hotel. Surrounded by tall pines, this hotel is unique in The world. The lobby is beautiful, very much like a modern Mountain Chateau should be like. The rooms are modern and luxurious. Not really a bad view, as you are surrounded by the Canadian Rockies! Don't be surprised to see a herd of Elk walking amongst the tree's or even in the parking lot. Big Horn Sheep, and the odd Moose. The food is superb, the restaurants both comfortable and elegant. It tends to be on the higher end price than most others, but it is well worth it. A gem in Canada's Rockies. And in my view the best hotel in Banff. OH and don't forget, Skiing is all around you. 40 minutes to Sunshine, a bit further to lake Louise. And you come home to total luxury. Sumer time, hiking, biking, golf, banff has it all!

Room Tip: Ask what the view is. But you can't miss our Mountains! And it is always good to ask sq. footage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter747_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dear Readers Welcome to the gateway to paradise on earth to be specific the Rimrock Resort Hotel,Alberta,Canada.The very address of the hotel tell you that it is on a mountain and the viiew is just fantastic.From your room you can see the "Rocky Mountains" and pines on th e slopes of the snowcapped mountains.The Gondolas plying so smoothly between the mountain tops is breath taking.The warm room with all the amenities you can imagine on the mountain top are there.The courteous service the dinning room ,the lounge and of course the menu left nothing to imagination.Although there are many hotels in Banff this one scores over all .You have to visit to believe it.Believe me toy will not regret it.Long live Canada

Dr Syed Naim Zahir

Room Tip: 3rd or 4rth floor room will be excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musafir011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Friendly and top notch service. Amazing views!! Close to the hot springs and other attractions. An elegant and wonderfully relaxing establishment. Very romantic as well !!! The rooms are spacious and very well equipped with all you need. We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,105 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing