We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Christmas Buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hotel is nice. Location is beautiful. Lounge is comfortable ....but...

We booked the Christmas Buffet and I expected that the buffet would be outstanding for the location , time of year and price but was disappointed . As my child said 'pretty bad quality...whole family could of had steak and lobster at the Keg for half the price....'.

I would recommend hotel but not the buffet..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,969)
There are newer reviews for Rimrock Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,025 - 4,031 of 4,973 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel its self is stunning in architecture. Starts off as a two storey at the reception and drops off the mountain to become nine storey on the other side.
Owing to its location on the edge of the mountain the view is to die for!
The down side was that most of the staff were (I think) part time or new to the town and were therefore not very helpful on general information.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the valley have an excellent view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngunjiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We give these comments to travelers and management. First, we need to mention that we travel frequently to high-end quality resorts and restaurants, and usually do research before we travel to new places. Moreover this was not our honeymoon, we have been married 41 years and gone to many places, so this is a fair and balanced assessment.

Now the Rimrock is truly a five star hotel with all the amenities as one would expect of such a resort. It has comfy elegant rooms with grand views and its interior décor is gorgeously romantic, with of course a spa and gym, for those who use such things on vacation. It even has a small skating rink. Moreover, its room prices are very reasonable considering its beauty. The location of the resort is terrifc, being about three miles from the town (we rented a car), and ten minutes by bus which conveniently runs every forty minutes back and forth. So, if you want to be near the shops and noise of the small town, perhaps this is not the hotel for you. Yet, if you are looking for great service and a wonderful staff and like being treated as king or queen or the person who owns the resort, this is the place for you.

The concierge desk is located to the left near the front door. Standard practice is smile and a welcome going in or out. The concierge is your life line to an enjoyable stay. They can pre-arrange on your itinerary with adventures like dogsledding (great), snowmobiling (terrifc), sleigh rides, and of course skiing. They even open your car door when arriving and leaving. In addition, they know great places to eat. Yet, don’t be surprised if the recommend their own “Eden” for dining. It’s a fabulous five star restaurant with all the trimmings. You’d thing it was expensive, but we ordered its four course dinner and paid $200 US, including a bottle of wine and tip, and our dinner will certainly be put on our top five all time list (don’t miss the lobster appetizer and the steak). Their dishes are small yet absolutely delicious, and they keep coming with extras and extras. We were stuffed when we left.

And there is something more to Rimrock. This is their pleasant can do attitude. Their one objective is to make your stay fantastic. And they do other things like changing activity times if you oversleep or changing dinner times if you late from enjoying your outdoor activities, or even after you return home having left your scarf at the last restaurant in town, they’ll get it and send it to you. Indeed, we put them through the tests, and each time they came up roses. Our best to Sean and Scott, Jeff, and others, they became our friends.


Sincerely,
Alan John Meister
CEO and President
Travels Review Company

Room Tip: Make sure to go the the "Eden Restaurant" for a night never to forget.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hoping to avoid the Christmas vacationers, we stayed for two nights the week prior to Christmas (Dec.17 & 18). The Rimrock is a lovely resort hotel, a short drive from the town of Banff. It sits nestled between mountains with wonderful views in each direction. Walking directly into the main lobby you are struck by the beauty of an open lounge area with a huge wood burning fireplace and a wall of windows - a lovely place to kick back and relax in the sun. Because the hotel was slow, upon check-in, when we inquired about internet and parking, the front desk waived the fees and provided us with both at no charge. The customer service was awesome - always a good morning/afternoon/evening when entering or leaving the hotel, the concierge and bellman were knowledgeable and helpful always anticipating our needs. Our room was clean, well appointed and had everything we could need. Our reservation came with a breakfast coupon for both days. The service in the dining room was impeccable and the food was delicious. Coffee was provided in a thermal flask and tea in a teapot. When breakfast was complete, we were provided with take-away cups for our unfinished coffee/tea - something you don't find very often. During our stay we took the opportunity to visit the Sulphur Mountain Hot Springs, just a short walk from the hotel. Just under $10.00 a person will gain you admittance to the pool and a towel. It was a nice way to spend a couple hours. Although we had our own vehicle, one could easily catch the bus, which stopped right at the front door and ran about every 40 minutes. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonfireCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in late November and were lucky with lots of lovely fresh snow and not many tourists. The hotel is out of town which is a downfall, but if you have a car or use the hotel shuttle, it is fine and definitely worth it. If we were going all the way to the Rockies, then I wanted to see the Rockies out of our window, and see them indeed we did. Stunning. Our kids had a ball playing snowball fights outside the hotel and we loved sitting in the cozy lobby lounge at night by the huge fire. All the Christmas decorations were up too which helped add to the magic. My only complaint is that our room was next to a function room and on our last night, there were loud parties that didn't end till 2am. Very disappointing and definitely bad management to put a family in this location. Lodged a complaint and got a discount on the last night but it did leave a bad taste in the mouth. Great hotel if you get a room NOWHERE near the function rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Location is little out of town but shuttle bus is excellent. Stunning view of mountians & a short walk to the Hot Springs, which are lovely to relax in, water was 38degrees. We enjoyed every minute & would love to visit again .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location is stunning. I've stayed here a few times over the years and I still get a kick out of the location.

Rooms here are frequently discounted, but once you arrive its obvious why. The parking garage must be a profit center. In a world where 4 and 5 star hotels offer free WIFI throughout their hotels that's not the case here.

The rooms are spacious. Dinner is a good bargain. Well prepared and more than ample servings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
968 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $174 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing