We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hoping to avoid the Christmas vacationers, we stayed for two nights the week prior to Christmas (Dec.17 & 18). The Rimrock is a lovely resort hotel, a short drive from the town of Banff. It sits nestled between mountains with wonderful views in each direction. Walking directly into the main lobby you are struck by the beauty of an open lounge area with a huge wood burning fireplace and a wall of windows - a lovely place to kick back and relax in the sun. Because the hotel was slow, upon check-in, when we inquired about internet and parking, the front desk waived the fees and provided us with both at no charge. The customer service was awesome - always a good morning/afternoon/evening when entering or leaving the hotel, the concierge and bellman were knowledgeable and helpful always anticipating our needs. Our room was clean, well appointed and had everything we could need. Our reservation came with a breakfast coupon for both days. The service in the dining room was impeccable and the food was delicious. Coffee was provided in a thermal flask and tea in a teapot. When breakfast was complete, we were provided with take-away cups for our unfinished coffee/tea - something you don't find very often. During our stay we took the opportunity to visit the Sulphur Mountain Hot Springs, just a short walk from the hotel. Just under $10.00 a person will gain you admittance to the pool and a towel. It was a nice way to spend a couple hours. Although we had our own vehicle, one could easily catch the bus, which stopped right at the front door and ran about every 40 minutes. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonfireCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,164 - 4,170 of 5,120 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in late November and were lucky with lots of lovely fresh snow and not many tourists. The hotel is out of town which is a downfall, but if you have a car or use the hotel shuttle, it is fine and definitely worth it. If we were going all the way to the Rockies, then I wanted to see the Rockies out of our window, and see them indeed we did. Stunning. Our kids had a ball playing snowball fights outside the hotel and we loved sitting in the cozy lobby lounge at night by the huge fire. All the Christmas decorations were up too which helped add to the magic. My only complaint is that our room was next to a function room and on our last night, there were loud parties that didn't end till 2am. Very disappointing and definitely bad management to put a family in this location. Lodged a complaint and got a discount on the last night but it did leave a bad taste in the mouth. Great hotel if you get a room NOWHERE near the function rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Location is little out of town but shuttle bus is excellent. Stunning view of mountians & a short walk to the Hot Springs, which are lovely to relax in, water was 38degrees. We enjoyed every minute & would love to visit again .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location is stunning. I've stayed here a few times over the years and I still get a kick out of the location.

Rooms here are frequently discounted, but once you arrive its obvious why. The parking garage must be a profit center. In a world where 4 and 5 star hotels offer free WIFI throughout their hotels that's not the case here.

The rooms are spacious. Dinner is a good bargain. Well prepared and more than ample servings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Terrible front desk service. I ordered twenty rooms for a conference. I required one room to be ready a little earlier than check in time (4pm which is ridiculous). Then they temporarily lost my luggage. I went to have a shower and there was no hot or even luke warm water.

Beautiful views, but totally not worth the price for such poor service.

Little FYI, they don't check parking. No point in paying 16 dollars (self parking) for half stalls underground or above ground parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brianstram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was one of the best resort hotels I've been in. The room we stayed in was humongous, with a king size bed, very clean and with all the ususal amenities. The best part about the room, which wa on the 4th floor (the lobby of the hotel being on the 7th!), has a very convenient balcony, where you can chill and enjoy the snowy mountains in the distance, absolutely breathtaking!
We had the buffet breakfast in the morning, which was also pretty good. . I wished they had a wider variety in the food menu tho, but can't complain, becasue the excellent service from the staff really makes you feel like home! Will definitely go back every year, the location being so close to the Banff Gandola and Sulphur Hot Springs.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms on the 4th floor have the personal balcony option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SajeedAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Rimrock for a 2 day conference and have to say what a great place. It is located a little ways out of town ,,,, 15 min drive or $12.00 cab ride but the location gives you a fantastic view if the mountains and the piece and quite of the wilderness.

The hotel has everything you could ask for, great restaurants, nicely decorated and comfortable rooms, poll/hot tub facilities, lots of meeting room space and even an outdoor skating rink. As soon as you walk in the front doors you are immediately greeted by an incredible view from the floor to ceiling windows in lobby and the smell of the crackling fire. The check-in staff was very helpful and had no problem accommodating a change of room request. The rooms are large and well-appointed with new furnishings and an extremely comfortable bed. The in room wifi works well and is available to multiple devises at no extra charge.

I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or business conference ,,,, you will not be disappointed either way.

Room Tip: Lobby is on the 7 floor so request a room on the 5th or 6th floors to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,098 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $132 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing