We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,991)
Filter reviews
1,993 results
Traveler rating
981
627
267
89
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
981
627
267
89
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimney corner eagles nest west wing hot tub chair lift first tracks ski school early season spring skiing ski hill ski resort lift tickets your luggage gondola ride mountain lodge ski lockers loft room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 1,993 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

The lodge is more than 100 miles away from entrance of Banff National Park. Driving to sunshine village is very pleasant.
GPS in my couldn’t find the location of the hotel. Google maps also couldn’t guide me to the hotel. However, both apple map and huawei map guide us to the exact address.
Check in the hotel starts in the ground. You should park inside the hotel parking lot which is free for hotel guests.
Hotel service people are very nice. They took our luggage’s and gave us three day gondola passes.
You need ride gondola to the hotel which need 26 minutes.
Room is clean and cute. Unforgettable Mountain View.
Restaurant also good.price are reasonable.
However, it’s very cool outside. You have to bring winter coat with you. The coat in the store near the hotel is extremely expensive, which might be 10 times as usual.
I have to leave for hicking and finish this review.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank tomasw325
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JasonCalgary, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Thank you for your review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you advising concern with Google being unable to locate our hotel, and we're working with them to resolve. Future guests can also search Sunshine Village to get directions to our hotel base area check in.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

The room was extremely warm. We had to sleep with the windows open and the curtains open which meant the sun shining in early. The manager tried to turn the heat down the 2nd night but it wasn't enough, it was better but still really warm in the room. Talked to other guest and they felt the their room was to warm also.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nealobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JasonCalgary, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will share with our team to explore opportunities to help improve.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

We really enjoy this excursion. The gondola is about a 25 minute ride up. Once on top, there is a resort with a restaurant or two. The highlight was then getting on the chairlift to go up top. The views are sweeping with multiple trails and lakes. A nice touch was they had very nice staff at the viewing platforms to assist you with recommendations for the different trails in the area.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 4bk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JasonCalgary, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing your pictures.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

Only recently opened for summer guests, this is a very nice hotel whose staff were just terrific. It is quite isolated as the gondola ride, the only way to get here, is 22 minutes long--so you don't just hop in and out. We had a lovely room, a suite that was very spacious, had a working fireplace and a great bath. The hotel itself is good and well maintained. The food in the restaurants at the lodge was terrific; the tavern was very ordinary pub food. But the alpine hiking was incredible--unlike any other we have done. This season the meadows are full of flowers, the trails are beautifully maintained, the views are astounding.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JAnneBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JasonCalgary, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Thank you for your review and kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

We had an excellent adventure during our anniversary. We really had a great time, with a few oddities we weren't expecting.

Firstly, we stayed in the Goats Eye suite, which is right close to the chair lift. Great room, except that they have a LOUD phone ringer at the lift that was going off all morning. There was no way for us to sleep in with how bad that was. And the number of calls they had was just crazy. How can they get any work done if they are on the phone so much?

I would have given top marks for this adventure, except for a horrible spa experience I had. First, the spa is by appointment only. No problem there, except that they were 30 minutes late to even open the spa, and they asked me to be 15 minutes early. Kinda weird to stand around a locked door waiting for 45 minutes. Then when they got there, it was clear the masseuse was frazzled and the onboarding experience was terrible. No change rooms. No wraps. Just told to get undressed and get started. I don't spa much, but usually its a much more calming experience, helping to get relaxed before you even start. That didn't happen at all.

I had ordered a hot stone massage, but after being so late for them to get started, nothing was on or prepared... so the hot stone massage wasn't hot at all. The massage itself was great, but the experience was lacking.

I also ordered the East Indian Head massage, as it sounded wonderful. However, it didn't seem like the masseuse really knew what that was and offered to focus on an extra shoulder rub. There was no scalp or facial work done at all. As an add-on I would have expected more experience around this. I would have been better off just ordering an extra 30 minutes of the hot stone massage.

I would stay away from the spa; its just not a refined, calming experience that I would have expected from such a facility.

People at the front desk saw the initial experience I was having. They apologized and called to the spa for me when they saw how late it was, but then never followed up to see how it went. It seemed no one cared about my experience... so I just let it go. I wasn't going to let it ruin the rest of the experience, which was great.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JasonCalgary, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Thank you for sharing your spa feedback with us. We're very disappointed to hear about your experience and have shared your comments with the spa services team to ensure we're addressing your feedback to ensure our services are aligned with our commitment to delivering outstanding customer service.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews