We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed here in shoulder season in...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We stayed here in shoulder season in...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed here in shoulder season in April. So it was worth the package deal. It was nice to stay on hill for one night but any longer than that and the cabin fever would have set in. I would recommend staying in the deluxe room since it is bigger. The food could be better. In hindsight, it would have been better to eat at the fancy restaurant. It was okay but would probably stay inn Canmore next time.

Therefore I would only recommend in low season with a group of friends for a weekend.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homewardbound2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    194
    88
    29
    11
See reviews for
218
189
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

this lodge is half way up the mountain, accessed by the Gondola. At the hotel which is nice, there is a inside cafe and a pub type building with a few benches outside. the only access is via the gondola - this we knew but did not realise that the Gondola shuts at 5.30pm so you cannot get off the mountain after this. They open the gondola on fridays untill 10.30pm allowing you to go into banff, which did hinder our holiday as we like to go to different restaurants/eateries, and window shop.

The eating on the mountain between 5pm and 9pm was restricted to the hotel, as the cafe and the pub shuts, but the pub then re-opens about 9pm for anyone wanting to go out for a drink - what a laugh!!!!!, the menus are limited we had gone through it all by the 5th night. it was very expensive, a bottle of coors light was $7.25, and tea and coffee were around $3.50 depending on size, the spirits and mixers were around $7.00 but they only use 10cl for their spirits not 25cl like in UK so you were paying for pop basically. There were no tea or coffee facilities within the hotel rooms.

The staff are really friendly and helpfull - i realise its not their fault, but this Sunshine need to address this cos i will not be going there again at all, unless it changes, and i will make sure other ski friends know of this....

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgranero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed at the hotel from March 12 to 14th with a group of 9 people, including 2 couples in their 40/50s, one couple in their 20s, two teenage boys and a tween girl. I do not understand anyone who didn't like the hotel (although I never saw the older wing). We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.

We had two rooms in the new wing - one a 4-person suite and the other a 6-person loft suite, with one queen upstairs, a queen downstairs and a double murphy bed. The rooms were absolutely beautiful. The loft had a bathroom with a shower (and a really nice shower head) and the lower level had a wonderful jacuzzi tub with windows that opened up so you could take in the beautiful view from the floor to ceiling windows while you soaked. There were fantastic maple candies in the room every day and a wonderful fireplace to warm your boots. My only complaint would be that you can hear absolutely everything through the bathroom walls, which was kind of awkward, as we were staying with friends.

It was great to be able to ski right from the hotel and do a run before anyone else was there. We enjoyed the dining rooms, the buffet breakfast, and the bar, Trappers. We did not feel like we were trapped on the hill at night, as there were activities every night (movies, bingo, games) and you could check out games with the front desk. The prices for food and drinks are what you would expect from a hotel in Banff. We brought some food and drinks with us, and left it on our 2nd floor balcony to stay cool.

The outdoor hot tub is very big and you can bring in your drinks in plastic cups which we liked very much. We spent a lot of apres-ski time in the hot tub.

The staff were so helpful and great. I cannot say enough about this place. I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank suburbandiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

This year marks our 6th trip to Banff for skiing since 2000 . We stayed at the Lodge in Kananaskis 3 seasons and the Rimrock the last 2 seasons . We love Banff and Lake Louise but as our boys (11 and 18) have grown they want to ski all the time and don't need the downtime any more . We had considered staying on Sunshine before but until the Hotel wasn't very nice . The new wing was great . We stayed in a loft which has a king upstairs , a queen downstairs and a queen murphy bed . The lofts are a pretty tight fit but work o.k. The upstairs is especially tight . You have to reach the hotel via the gondola which takes around 25 minutes . That is the only drawback : the gondola stops at 5 p.m.except for friday night which prevents you from going into Banff for the evening . Once you are there you are there .. The staff is friendly , most from Australia which is what you find everywhere in Banff and they as a rule are always upbeat .. the 2 restauraunts (1 casual , 1 fine dining ) are both o.k with a very limited menu . after about 3 nights you are tired of the food . The prices are hotel food prices. there are no mini fridges in the room . that is a big deal for our kids who are major cereal eaters and snackers ..Had one issue with the room ,: the lower floor toilet smelled and they had to move us to another room , the hotel manager bought our dinner in the fine dining restaurant and seemed like a reasonable gesture . got a deal buy 3 nights get 2 free (includes lift tickets for all )so worked out to be a fair enough deal for one of the most beatiful places on earth .Will be back

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

This could be a great place, especially with young children, The management is trying to improve the service, but they insist on paying low wages so the staff consists of young Australian ski-bunnies.
Also they have a contract with Aramarck, the food conflomerate, who supply food for airplanes, college dorms, the Canadian Army. The food is expensive, the service is appalling at times. They pool the tips, one person takes the order, another person serves you so there is little incentive. Also since Aramarck took over they make up silly rules and are not willing to accomodate any kind of special diet. The sandwiches are pre-made and you can't even get a ham sandwich without the cheese.

The skiing however is superb, and very ski in ski out. Also they only lessons I've ever had that did anything for me were there. One instructor, James Ordway, revolutionized my skiing in a very short time. I can now ski mogels and double black diamonds. I'm 58.

The atmosphere at the hotel was totally different in 2000 when I first went there, friendly, funky with good food, I would have rated the food in 2000 as B+, now I rate it as a D. The service was better. A few years later when Aramarck took over the service and the food deteriorated. The restaurant folks are "working for Aramarck" and the customers get involved in turf wars.

However, the new hotel manager and the general manager, are very concerned. I accidently met the general manager in the bar on my day off, and he sat with me for a half an hour and took action immediately. After that I was treated like royalty.

The outdoor hote tub is fantastic, as is the isolation and friendly atmosphere.

I think that Parks Canada should take over the management of the hotel and try to serve the people of Canada, not the Mamon, the mascot of the Scurfield family.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

After reading all of the reviews on the lodge, we were concerned. We had booked a two night stay (Saturday/Sunday) at the lodge on the Family Day weekend and decided to hope for the best. How bad could it really be?

Honestly? We had a great time! We arrived at 10:30pm on Saturday night and had no issue. 'Sunshine Suzy' (an SUV with tracks) picked us up at the base after only a 5 minute wait - we had called when we reached the Banff exits on the highway. The gentleman (from Australia - they are ALL from Australia) was courteous and helpful. We arrived at the Village and proceeded to check in. Again - very helpful and friendly - Kalinda from Australia. They were having a couple of 'medical issues' - one appeared alcohol induced - in the lobby but security had things completely under control.

Our room was small but very nice. A king bed with a fireplace and leather couch with pull out. Flat screen tv and a balcony overlooking the gondola. The shower/jacuzzi was small but very relaxing after a day of skiing. Room was clean, except for a used coffee filter in the machine. Certainly not the 'horror' we had read about. There was a bit of noise from the room next door but they quieted down before midnight.

What a location! It was so nice to be able to ski directly from the hotel. Our skis and poles stayed in the equipment valet and we didn't have any issues. Everyone (from Australia!) was very courteous and prompt despite the fact that they were extremely busy. We got our passes at the front desk and didn't have to stand in any lines!

The food was certainly satisfactory especially for 'ski lodge' food. It wasn't gourmet but really, it was miles ahead of any other 'ski lodge' food we've had before.

My daughter and I took a half day lesson on the first day with Yumiko (not from Australia!) and it was so fabulous that we took another with her on the second day. The weather was warm yet cloudy and we had a fabulous time skiing!

Overall, we simply had a great time. None of the stress usually accompanied by figuring out parking/standing in the ticket line/gondola line etc at Sunshine. We would stay there in a heartbeat again. Our expectations were pretty low and we were more than pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Where to start. As a gift I bought a 2 night stay at the Lodge for myself and my brothers. The checkin at the base was alright, but slow. Once we were done a day of skiing, We went to our room with expectations of a nice room. Let me just say I have seen closets bigger than the entire room.

The shower had no water pressure, and the front desk was less than helpful stating only that "thats the way it always is." We went down to eat in the restaurant, only to find half of it was booked for a special event. The steaks were severely undercooked, still frozen in the center, and the manager offered no appology, nor compnsation for improperly making three meals.

Once we decided to sleep for the evening around 10:30, we noticed that you could here everything around you. At 11:30 we had enough of the noise from the adjoining room and called the front desk to ask them to quiet down the next room. They basically told us they could do nothing.

By 1:30 in the morning and after 4 calls to the front desk, wich resulted in the next room only getting louder, we went down to the front desk, bags in tow and asked to be taken off the mountain.

Only at this point did the "manager" arive to yell at us. Finally after informing him of the experience of the past 3 hours and the lack of help from his desk, they refunded the cost of the stay and took us down the mountain.

Not once during this were any appologies offered, or the option to move to another room.

I will NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

We ended up driving to Calgary and stayed at another hotel for 1/4 the price and had the best service ever.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jekylnhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
10.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
9.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
9.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
9.6 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
9.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing