We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room improvement at Sunshine Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Room improvement at Sunshine Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2006

A year ago I gave this hotel a poor review as the rooms were filthy and the service was less than stellar. We returned again this year and to our surprise the room we stayed in had been redecorated and the staff seemed pleased to be there.

The rooms really are gorgeous with new carpeting throughout, a flat screen TV, and a fresh paint job. The room set-up has been adjusted and the bathroom was completely renovated as well. A strong showerhead with new tiles, light fixtures etc is excellent after a long day on the slopes!

I know the hotel has no control over the noise issues but if you're a light sleeper I suggest you get a room on the third floor so you don't have noisy ski boots thumping overhead as early as 6 AM. Bring earplugs though, and sleep shouldn't be a problem.

Some of our colleagues stayed in the terrace rooms, which still haven't been redecorated. We heard from them that the rooms/noise/cleanliness issues haven't been resolved yet.

The skiing in early April was getting a bit slushy at the base and icy on some days at the top.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank volta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    279
    124
    39
    14
See reviews for
339
280
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon, London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

I stayed for a Friday night in January, and was very impressed by the whole set-up. The efficiency on arrival, with valet parking, and being able to go skiing straightaway while someone else dealt with my luggage was fabulous.

The evening offered sitting by log fires in the hotel, or an evening in the lively bar 30m across the piste.

Breakfast yielded some of the biggest pancakes ever seen - just right for a day's hard skiing.

I could not extend my stay over Saturday as the hotel was not surprisingly full, but the manager went out of his way to book another hotel for me in Banff. All the staff (many of them English) were polite and very helpful.

The hotel has two sections, and the older one where I stayed was looking a bit worn and did have thin walls - better for the partying crowd! However, the price I paid including 2 days lift pass was unbeatable, and the only choice for a serious skiier. Once fully modernised the price can only head upwards quickly - stay while you can afford to!

If you're looking for all mod cons, make sure you're in the more modern section, but expect to pay a bit more.

If you're a shopper / commuter not a skier, stay in Banff, spend your money on tacky souvenirs and get stuck in traffic jams on your way the resort.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DOS_sF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2005

Date: April 2005
Reviewer: A tripadvisor traveller

We stayed in the Inn at this resort for 4 nights in April 2005. We booked one family room with 2 Queen sized beds. This is a fantastic ski resort with wonderful skiing. We chose to stay at the Sunshine Village Inn which promised great ski in and ski out facilities.

Good points: It has a wonderful outside hot tub, the restaurant is reasonably priced and has a varied menu offering good value. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Thats all I can say thats good about it I'm afraid.

Bad points: The hotel was built and designed in the 1970's -has the worst decor I've seen anywhere. The carpets need to be seen to be believed!!!The rooms were small and cramped and the bed sheets on my bed were torn and the blanket on my daughters bed had holes in it.

The lobby area was used by families on day trips camping out who brought their own picnics and sat there eating them - as were all the landings by the lifts on all floors - carpets throuhout as a result were soggy wet and the lifts smelt of damp dog and cheesy feet. The supposed "guest only" sitting room was also wet and the sofas in it were broken. There seemed to be no policy of "no ski boots inside". For the cost of the rooms it was expensive and of very poor quality and I for one will not go back there and I would recommend that convenience for skiing access does not justify the price for staying in such a dingy, dark and unappealing hotel.

I regret that their exclusive position has made the owners complacent. The whole hotel needs some serious investment and modernisation. I wonder if they have researched repeat visits by guests. I would doubt that many come back!!!

Helpful?
11 Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2005

We only stayed one night at the inn and had two days skiing. The inn is great. Located at 7000 feet, you are in and on the Canadian Rockies. Nicely decorated. Service was great. The restaurant and bar , located on the ground level, were excellent and had a nice rustic atmosphere. The huge hot tub was great as well. The only downside is the gondola stops running 8-8:30 so if you want to have dinner in Banff you need to be back before the lift closes. That can also be a plus to some people. The skiing is good but a lot of flat spots.

Helpful?
2 Thank rtibbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2005

We stayed at the Sunshine Inn during the first week of January and took advantage of their Ski week. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wishes to improve their skiing as the teaching is intense (2 hours in the morning and 2 in the afternoon) and caters for all abilities. The hotel itself is functional but very convenient for the slopes. If you’re here to ski then this is the place for you but if you hanker after more subtle creature comforts then the luxury hotels of Banff and Lake Louise might better suit you. The plus points are the free lift passes, ski school, on piste location and friendly staff. The one word of warning is to avoid booking a room with an interconnecting door, it made for a very noise night.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2004

I stayed at the Sunshine Inn during their opening week and enjoyed every minute of it. The newly renovated hotel rooms are spacious and clean, with the most breathtaking view. The staff is accomadating, helpful, and friendly. I was told that the hotel was completly booked yet nothing in the service aspect was spared. I recieved prompt service from the front desk, to the delicious restaurants and rustic pub. I will happily stay here again considering the affordability of the resort. Your lift tickets for the day you arrive , the duration of your visit and the day you leave are all included, as well as ski packages including efficient ski/board instruction.

Helpful?
2 Thank BenMason77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2003

This is the best place to stay in banff you you want to hit the slopes. You don't need to catch the shuttle busses from town which take 30mins or the ride to the top, another 15minutes. I would suggest if you had a 2 week stay to live in resort for 1 week and move down to banff for the next.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
9.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
10.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
9.6 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing