We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to stay on the hill!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great to stay on the hill!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We have stayed a couple of times now and this time stayed in a loft unit. They are bigger than the individual bedrooms but you need to stay with family - you can of course hear everything. It worked well to bring the little ones as they had a bit more room to play. Of course it is great to be able to ski out from there and/or watch your group ski down from the balcony view. The food in the restaurants is great. Crepes at coffee shop are the best!!!

Room Tip: The loft units are fun and obviously bigger - just remember you can hear everything so no secrets so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Brenda,

Thanks for choosing our hotel this ski season!

We’re so glad you and your family had a lovely stay in the loft suite and happy to hear that the little ones had lots of room to play.

We agree that the crepes in the Java Lift are delicious and paired with a hot chocolate or latte-- it’s a tough-to-beat après-ski snack.

On behalf of everyone at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    332
    138
    46
    14
See reviews for
412
319
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have stayed at the lodge numerous times, and this was by far our best experience. We arrived in the afternoon at the base, checking in was easy as ever. VIP lot was full so left keys and they parked our vehicle for us. Took gondola up to the hill and headed straight for the hotel to drop off our day pack, our room was ready so that was a nice suprise as it was only 1pm, and check in is usually 4pm. Front end staff was very helpful and extremely pleasant to deal with. After a few hours of skiing we headed back to our room, and there was a nice welcome back note from Ed (Thank you). We look forward to staying at the lodge again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Good afternoon from the Rockies,

We are elated that you have selected the Sunshine Mountain Lodge as a regular vacation spot and look forward to having you return again soon.

I will pass on your kind words to Ed and the rest of the team as I'm sure they’d be thrilled.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Living at the top of a mountain for 4 nights was one of the best experiences I've had. The views were incredible. I could wake up and be on the slopes as soon as i walk outside. Simply incredible. We had to check in at the bottom of the hill to get the Gondola and our bags taken up the hill for us. I felt this was great as we didn't have to try and carry it all up ourselves. We then checked into the hotel and felt at home straight away. It was such a warm welcome as we walked through the doors. Everyone wanted to help and make sure we were happy which i can tell you, so far we were. The staff were great and so friendly. The room was clean but small but with a view like we had who cares. The snow was falling at night and sun was shining during the day. I couldn't of asked for better conditions to ski. The food in the restaurants was great. We ate on the hill during the day and hotel at night. I had everything i needed and the staff at the Lodge made sure of this. Checking out, again the staff wanted to help rather than thats just their job. They all seem so happy and willing. The process was made so easy and they ensured i left with positive memories. I will 100% be back after the experience and service i received. First class from start to finish!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review of our resort, Christopher!

We are delighted that you were impressed with our team as we place an important emphasis on delivering an exceptional experience for all our guests.

Hopefully you were able to take advantage of our outdoor hot tub which is a perfect way to end the ski day.

We look forward to welcoming you back from Toronto again soon.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this amazing location over the Christmas break 2013. What an experience! As soon as we arrived at the base station we felt so cared for. The staff were wonderfully helpful, taking our bags up to the hotel for us and guiding us through the checking in process with a friendly smile. It's such a special place, our room was small but wonderfully cosy, the restaurants were relaxed with lovely staff, the hot tub was superb and the hotel being ski in/ski out just completed our dream holiday! Well done Sunshine Mountain Lodge - such a special place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HappyPip547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Wow—what a lovely review all the way from the UK!

We are so happy to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay in December 2013.

We are committed to having friendly, hard-working staff at Sunshine Village and it’s so nice to hear that they were able to make your stay more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, Pip and family.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

There was once a time when the guests on international packages were getting a far better deal than we locals. I think many locals haven't yet realized the value of a Sunshine Marmot ski card. Since this only works if you live nearby it is a welcome deal for the locals. Sunshine is providing a significant discount on their standard rooms to card holders. As a result ourselves and other retired folks often decide on a quick break and stay up after skiing for a night or two. We certainly feel welcome by the great staff. The standard rooms in the old part of the building may not be five star and sometimes after several days the menu needs more variety. However look where you are!! It is heaven!! Love soaking in the hot pool as the mountain tops turn pink and everyone heads home

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Barb,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are lucky to live in such a naturally beautiful place!

I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the great deals that the Sunshine Marmot card offers and take a quick “ski-break” and enjoy Banff’s largest outdoor hot tub.

We look forward to your next visit to the Sunshine Mountain Lodge.

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our family of four arrived on Friday after the slopes were closed, so it was quite in the village. After the gondola ride up and short the walk over to the lodge, I really felt like I was in a special place.

We were up early the next day to hit the runs as soon as we could. It's so convenient staying up at the lodge and being ahead of the morning rush.

The skiing was awesome, loved the great variety of terrain. I’m just a beginner and really enjoyed the green run off the Strawberry lift. My husband and kids explored many areas, but ran out of time to get to Goat’s Eye. We all downloaded the Alpine app. It was great fun comparing stats at the end of the day.

Staff were friendly and welcoming everywhere we went; front desk, rentals, coffee shop, lift operators, burger bar. Good quality burgers were a nice delight (in my experience it's rare to have such good eats at the day lodge).

Truly a unique Alberta winter experience, one that won’t be soon forgotten.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Marney,

Thank you for the lovely review of our resort.

We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a great stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge and that you all enjoyed the slopes as well!

We agree that our ski-in, ski-out hotel makes a unique winter get-away and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for 6 nights. We had never snowboarded or skied before so didn't have any expectations or even know how things worked.

You had to check in twice, once at the bottom of the mountain to get your bags sent up (This can take up to 4 hours so if there is anything you need put it in a day pack) and again when you reached the Lodge (after a stunning 25 minute gondola ride).

We were staying in a Deluxe mountain view room which was a decent size and clean- don't expect any flash furnishing. The view of the slopes was nice and if I came in for a break I could watch the family on the green run.

Food was delicious, although we did get a bit sick of the same thing by the end of the week. We found the food and drink very well priced considering the location (we are from Perth, one of Australia's most expensive cities so we may not be a good judge. I did hear some American's complaining about the price). Approx $7 for a beer, $13 for breakfast and $50 per person for dinner including drinks and multiple courses.

The hot tub was a blessing after a long days work out! It was a definitely a novelty sitting in the tub whilst it was snowing!

We all snowboarded and our equipment hire was fast, easy and looked in good condition. We had some clips break and they replaced them quickly. I'd recommend hiring a helmet as well- it saved us all from some nasty injuries.
(Also if you're a beginner look at buying some wrist guards in Banff!! They definitely helped me!)
We had 4 days of continuous snow, which meant it didn't hurt so much when you fell over!! Everyone was going nuts over the powder!

My Con's about the Lodge:
There seemed to be no one in charge, staff were friendly but most didn't go that extra mile. No one informed us upon check in that we needed lift passes and house keeping didn't come around until 3pm. Most of the staff were Australian and I'm sorry to say our hospitality skills aren't as good as Canada or America. They stuffed up our dinner order almost every night and even when the Lodge was quiet we ended up having to wait the longest for service. Having said that Lyndsey was fantastic, provided exceptional service and even came to see how our day was on her night off!

We booked a package through SkiMax and most of the staff didn't know what to do with the vouchers!

My biggest gripe would be with the ski school. On our first day we were meant to have a lesson and it was a COLD day -30C!. The lifts weren't open until midday and I called the ski school that morning to see if we should postpone our lessons to the next day. I was told we could do them that afternoon if we wanted so we said yes not realising that the conditions would make it harder to learn in- no one told us and never seeing snow before I didn't think to ask. We also had an instructor that didn't want to be there as it was too cold, all of his mates had their classes cancelled and got to home whilst still getting paid. Needless to say our first experience wasn't fun! When we complained to the director we were rudely shut down!
The next day we cancelled our lesson as it was still cold and were told to request a different trainer by another guest. Taran was AMAZING! Really made our trip and got my confidence back after the first horrible lesson.

Apart from that we had a great stay and LOVED snow boarding! Even though the Lodge had it's faults it was definitely worth staying there! Who wants to spend 45 minutes plus getting back to Banff with all your gear?!? Just stay at the Lodge- by the time the other boarders get home you've had a session in the hot tub and are sitting by the fire with a beer, watching the mountains get dark- bliss!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazzAdventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
11.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
12.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
927 reviews
19.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing