We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have stayed overnight at this Lodge 3 times in the last three weeks as we are staying in Calgary for a number of weeks and have season passes.

The reception staff both at the base and at the top of the mountain are excellent. We have loved the 'early check-in service' so that we have been able to use the room on our first day.

The service in the Java Lift is usually good and we have used this facility for a quick lunch time snack. However the service in the Chimney Corner for both dinner and breakfast has been terrible. Each time we go we are hoping for an improvement but have had meals brought at different times for each of us, we have had to go and get our own cutlery, we have had to call over a waitperson more interested in clearing a table rather than giving us menus after 5 minutes of sitting down. There seems to be enough staff working but they are not providing a reasonable level of service. On the whole the staff are pleasant and friendly but appear to lack customer service training and supervision.

The food quality has also been mixed with tired rocket for salads and a fruit bowl served at breakfast that was off. One of our cooked breakfast's had sausages and bacon that seemed to have been reheated and not cooked freshly. The coffee at breakfast has not been hot and we have had to request water.

We hope to have at least one more overnight stay so maybe by our fourth time things will have improved.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello krobbo1,

Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I'm so glad the staff at the hotel check-in both at the base and at the hotel were helpful. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Java Life Cafe as well.

As for your experiences at the Chimney Corner-- I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Your comments have been forwarded to our Food and Beverage Manager for review as this is not consistent with our service standards.

We will be reviewing this closely to ensure our best practices are being upheld.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    302
    131
    41
    14
See reviews for
373
301
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Other than the convenience of staying on the mountain and being able to get out skiing early each morning, I do not recommend this hotel. It is over priced for what you get, the service is shocking and the food is boring. How important is the convenience factor for you versus the cost of staying there. For me it was overrated and I will not be doing that again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Erica J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed. As you can imagine, it is our intention for every guest to have a positive experience at our hotel.

I hope you will allow me to discuss your experience in more detail, by emailing me directly at mark.bell@skibanff.com.

Customer service is of the utmost importance to us, so thank you for providing your comments.

Best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

You are right at the Village and the ski lift is 20 steps away. Very good buffet breakfast they have on the weekends or when the hotel is busy enough. Recommend you come up the friday night to ski saturday / sunday. They will take all your luggage back to base and will be waiting there end of the day. Rentals are both at the base and top of hill. Rooms where nicely completed and had that chalet atmosphere. Front of lodge rooms faced ski hill which was extra bonus and back rooms faced mountain. Dining area had a well stocked liquor, nice fireplaces with some large couches to make your time comfortable. Hot tub was large and relaxing and they had a family room where you could watch movies, play board games or just relax. Staff service levels where excellent and would exceeded my expectations from the front desk to the breakfast service staff. Will be going back sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for ski facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dexxa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello dexxa11,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We take pride in offering a stress-free vacation for all of our guests and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm so glad you could take advantage of our closeness to the ski lifts. We think it's pretty great to wake up as well.

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the couch seating in front of the fireplace-- it's a perfect spot to enjoy an apres-ski cocktail, or grab some dinner.

On behalf of the staff and myself, let me say that we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunshine Mountain Lodge again very soon.

Best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Sunshine Mountain Lodge is a modern, luxurious property just steps away from the Mount Standish chairlift for ski-in, ski-out access. The rooms are large with a fireplace and large bathroom with shower and bath and a balcony. The lodge's large hot tub is a great place to soak away sore ski muscles and there is a choice of restaurants for dinner. Staff are friendly and helpful and there is a daily evening activity although my husband and I were happy to just soak, dine and relax. We stayed one night and would happily have spent longer, a few nights in Banff for shopping and nightlife followed by a few nights at Sunshine for easy access to the slopes is a great combo. The hotel is great value too with a next day lift pass per person included in the rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skichickcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Skichickcharlie,

Thanks so much for writing a review on your recent stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hot tub-- it's one of our favourite things about staying up at the resort as well.

We're also happy to hear that you took advantage of our on-mountain restaurants. Did you have a chance to try the great desserts? If not, make sure to next time.

Thanks again for the review and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Cheers,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had an excellent stay here. It was fantastic to be able to ski in and out, and the property itself is very comfortable. The different food options were good and reasonably priced and there are different events organised like movies, bingo etc. The hot tub was great as well - although the size means that there might be large, rowdy groups of people there, detracting somewhat from the idyllic setting. The service was generally excellent - the front desk staff and concierge were super, we had a bunch of different luggage issues that were handled very well.

The "could be better" bits:
The website is not up to date - some "policies" appeared to have changed. Good: The wireless is free. Bad: there is no ski "valet" service.

As others have mentioned, the rooms are small (we had a "deluxe" room but it felt pretty standard) and the internet is very slow. There is not much storage space so if you are staying there for more than two or three days I think it would feel very cramped. Also, there seems to be minimal sound proofing, so you can hear everything happening in the hallway from your room - in our case, this included a group with five small children who enjoyed racing up and down the hall.

On the other hand, you are staying on a mountain in the middle of a beautiful national park, so this setting is hard to beat.

Breakfast in Chimney Lounge: All the staff from the check-in at the gondola base through to staff in the sports bar were really friendly and helpful with one notable exception. On our last morning, we checked out around 8.15 am, and were looking forward to a big breakfast before hitting the slopes for one last, full day. We went to the Lounge, where we had had an enjoyable dinner the previous evening. It was quite quiet, and we were waved in to sit wherever we wanted. We then waited about 10 minutes with no service - I even got up to grab menus for us. A number of servers went past our table and made eye contact without bothering to actually stop. Instead, they seemed more interested in joining the other 3/4 servers chatting behind the bar. I was really surprised, it was real contrast to the excellent service over dinner. After being studiously ignored, we went downstairs to the Java cafe where it is much busier, and the servers still manage to be more professional and friendly. This was our last (attempted) meal at the lodge so it unfortunately left a sour note on our stay.

Games room: We liked the amenities in the games room but it seemed like an afterthought and could definitely be made more welcoming and comfortable. There's a pool table, table hockey and a Wii (I think - we didn't try it), which are great - but they've been placed arbitrarily in a soul-less room with office lighting and mismatched bits of orphaned furniture and, when we were there, a random microwave sitting in the middle of the floor. The room seemed poorly thought out given the attention that has been paid to other parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello Bearcare,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The hot tub is definitely a favourite of ours as well.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. We appreciate the feedback about the Chimney Corner and we will be sure to pass this feedback on to our food & beverage team.

Thanks again for sharing all of your views about the hotel and we look forward to inviting you back again soon!

All the best,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I've been skiing for 40 years and coming to this area for the same number. I've skied around the globe but this year we tried New Years Eve on the hill. It was a bit uneven at times, but overall an excellent experience.
First, one must remember this Lodge operates in a National Park, which creates unique challenges for its owner/operators/managers. The Lodge is under continuous scrutiny for its business model and its ecological impact must be managed with this in mind.This is not Verbier, Tahoe or even Whistler for that matter. It's a bit austere - don't expect a long hot shower! However, the rooms are comfortable, warm, and clean. Ski storage in the provided lockers and a boot drying area are well conceived. Logistics are very well managed and all the staff are well trained, informed and empowered to be helpful.
The mountain atmosphere in the main lodge is anchored by a huge stone wall with two gorgeous fireplaces. Ample seating, a varied menu of top quality food at good prices provides couples, singles and families alike with plenty of choices.
For our special evening, apres ski was fireside and we thoroughly enjoyed the live musician, Shane Phillip who is tremendously vesatile and talented. For dinner we took a late sitting for the fixed price offering in The Eagle's Nest dining room. It was heavily subscribed and perhaps slightly understaffed but the food was worth waiting for. Overall, we were very pleased - especially as one of our party didn't eat meat/fish and our waitress accomodated a menu selection from the a la carte menu from the adjacent restaurant. This is the kind of gracious flexibility that wins!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsandandstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Good morning windsandandstars,

Thanks for sharing your experience at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the closeness to the slopes and your New Year's Eve dinner at the Eagle's Nest Restaurant.

I'm glad you felt the staff was helpful as this is something we consistently strive towards.

Thanks again for choosing our resort to ring in the new year and all the best in 2014!

Cheers,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro-Brazil
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I believe we were some of the first to book for the holidays period, back in August. We were very excited and had high expectations about everything - they were all far exceed!
We had an amazing suite (I mean, amazing - it took us some good 20 minutes to believe we had that room and that view!). Room was very big, with a super king-size bed and small living room+gas fireplace. We had a nice size balcony and two sets of windows almost floor to ceilling - you couldn't believe the views!
The bathroom was also large, not huge, and had a nice jacuzzi, good pressure shower, good amenities, heated floor and good hairdryer. The bath robes were of excellent quality and you could take them to the EXCELLENT, big outdoor heated pool they have for all guests.
Food - we had the continantal breakfast every day (CAD14/Person) which had pretty much all you can imagine. We always had lunch at the coffee near front desk, serving very nice crepes and sandwiches (around CAD 7 each). At night we had dinner at their finest restaurant on Christmas eve (The Eagle's Nest) and food/service was very good - we paid CAD 120 for a 3 course meal+bottle of wine+tips. The rest of the days we had dinner at Chimney Corner, also nice food at very reasonable prices (pizzas at around CAD 15). Service was always good with very polite and friendly people from around the world.
Skiing - they have a locker room and each room is given a locker key - enough to store all gear of a small family. From there is not more than 20 steps to the snow. Leaving the lodge you are some 15 meters (50 feet) from the first lift! Skiing in Sunshine is amazing and will be review of=n a different post.
Check-in and check-out were very effective - when arriving you leave your heavy stuff on the base and it will be taken to your room within 3-4 hours. Your skiing gear will be stored directly to your locker.
The atmosphere around the lodge was always friendly and family - we don't have kids, but loved to watch them having the time of their lives there. The hotel has some night activities like snowshoe and tobogganing (Thank you Kristin for the wonderful time we had!) - all managed by very lively people!
My especial thanks for all staff who provided us with such an unforgatable experience, everyone: the check-in ladies, the spot-on house-keeping, all mountain staff and guys at the restaurants - thank you! I hope to see you all again in the future!

Room Tip: If you can, go for the suites - I saw the deluxe rooms and they are also quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Chris,

Thanks so much for your review. It's so great to have visitors like you from around the world visiting our resort.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay-- we can't get over the views either and we live here!

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and beverage facilities, your dinner at the Eagle's Nest restaurant on Christmas Eve sounds great!

The ski-in, ski-out option is something we hold near and dear to our heart's and we're so glad you had the opportunity to take advantage of our handy ski lockers and our closeness to the chairlifts.

Thanks again for your feedback and maybe we'll see you back this way again soon!

Take care,

Mark Bell, Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
11.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
12.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,070 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
864 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
1,085 reviews
12.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing