We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quiet Private Piece of Powder Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Private Piece of Powder Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel mid-April! Such a special experience to stay on the mountain and wake up to a morning full of fresh powder. We were showing friends pics of our trip and recounting the feeling of calm -drifting off to sleep watching the snow falling and the lone light of a groomer climbing into the sky! And the still of a private mountain morning before the rest of the world ascends to take over the village. Logging some serious hot tub time is a must while there as well - panoramic views, snowflakes and a sweet dry sauna after is awesome! It's nice to stay somewhere with an emphasis on the environment as well - reclaimed lumber + rock as well as use of grey water and other details is nice to see in the renovations. It's definitely unique and clear that care has been put into all of the details of one's stay at the lodge

Room Tip: We got a tour- Eagle's Nest has an AMAZING view, our Balcony room had a beautiful view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    193
    88
    29
    10
See reviews for
218
188
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We stayed here with our 11month old toddler, and everyone was so understanding and accommodating of our desire to coveniently ski and yet still be able to still care for our little man well. Could not recommend this option enough for parents of very young children!! Room service was great and most portions were very reasonable. There is an added 18% gratuity on any order, just FYI. Service is outstanding in all departments. Thank you again SO MUCH for the room upgrade, it was VERY appreciated, and we were pleased to impress some friends (that met us on the mountain) with a quick peek at our perfect accommodations, and glowing review of the goodwill shown towards us. I'm sure we will be back soon!

Room Tip: Standish suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiney_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I planned to stay at the lodge 4 nights, but I loved it so much that I extended my stay twice. I was there 10 days and I still didn't want to leave!

The mountains are the big attraction. The lodge is so high that we got snow when the rest of Banff was getting rain. A staff member said that spring is usually a good time for snow at Sunshine. There is plenty of terrain. I snowboarded every day and never got tired of the riding or the views.

The friendly, helpful staff made my stay pleasant and worry-free. I lost my phone and they tracked it down and had it sent up from the base village. They don't normally do laundry, but I was in a bind and they happily helped me out. I can't say enough good things about the staff.

There are only two restaurants at the lodge, but they are both good. They are expensive, but I expect that at a ski resort.

The large outdoor hot tub is a good way to heal sore muscles and meet other guests. You can jump into the snow nearby if you get too hot. You can also order drinks from a phone next to the pool. How civilized!

I'm seriously tempted to go back before they close on May 20th.

Room Tip: The West Wing is new and the rooms are attractive and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Even if Sunshine Mountain Lodge was not the only ski-in ski-out lodging (and it is) in all of Banff National Park it would still be an absolute unique and wonderful experience. Imagine a) not having to go home after a great day of skiing, b) staying high on the mountain overnight, and c) getting first dibs a good half hour ahead of everyone else ... because you're already there!!! Oh, and then there's an outrageously oversized outdoor hot tub, great food and drinks, great service, pool table, library, fun and games, spa services and fantastic rooms. Can'y enough of the SML experience - or the predictably phenomenal Sunshine Village snow. Seriously, if you haven't been yet, you simply must. This time we took our nephew from Seattle, great for families, romantic getaways, or a pack of friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinderSchroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had the best experience at Sunshine Mountain Lodge from the minute we arrived. You must stay here if you want a carefree, fun ski vacation getaway. We had a suite with comfortable bed, luxurious bath, great amenities and million dollar view. The staff and management were wonderful, super friendly, welcoming and helpful. The skiing/snowboarding was powder perfect! Great for families, groups and couples! Will be going back! Sunshine Mountain Lodge is absolute perfection. I can't recommend this hotel enough! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivanac1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night after coming across a travelzoo voucher which made the value unbeatable really; I'm not sure what the rooms go for without vouchers though. The experience of staying on the mountain was really incredible. Basically the only place you can get the slope side hot tub experience and it is everything you could hope for: huge (no crowding), perfect temperture, overlooking the lifts and slopes and no rules about alcoholic beverages (except glass). We did not try the Eagle's nest but the casual dining restaurant was good value. Being at the top of the gondola, you can be the first people up the lifts in the morning. The room was small, but very nice, including a balcony also overlooking the slopes. The staff were very helpful but did not have our bags ready for us either after our first day of skiing when we got to the room or after our second day of skiing when we were at the base of the moutnain. I would recommend you specify precicely when you need your bags to avoid this. My only major complaint would be how dry the room was. There was a basic hot steam humidifier supplied to the room that was not effective and the dryness in the air was very noticable which made for poor sleeping conditions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 88TanyaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family stayed in room 206, in the newer west wing part of lodge. The room was excellent design, modern, clean, great for the 4 of us with the queen bed and then the Murphy double. The staff were friendly and efficient. The only trouble we had was on the last night of our stay - it was after 11, everyone was tired from long day of fun and while arranging furniture and pulling down the bed my son burned his hand on the fireplace front. Lots of crying. So maybe watch that if you have kids, very hot and no protective barrier or screen. We thought our skiing was done, but he patched up with bandaids the next morning from first aid and skied anyway. Obviously there is hallway noise in a ski resort with boots etc., but we use a white noise machine at hotels so not an issue. Ski lockers were great, VIP parking nice for check in and check out. Great skiiing. Loved the hotel and would stay there again, maybe with a loft room so we wouldn't have to worry about pulling down the Murphy. Overall excellent.

Room Tip: New west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
10.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
9.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
9.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
9.6 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing