We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Juniper Hotel(Banff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveler rating
443
368
159
58
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
368
159
58
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschimney cornereagles nestwest winghot tubfirst trackschair liftski weekspring skiingski schoolearly seasonlift ticketsyour luggageski hillmurphy bedski arealoft roomsmountain lodge
Filter
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We decided to book Sunshine Mountain Lodge based on a recommendation by a coworker and the fact that we were going to go skiing for 2 days. The location of the hotel was definitely worth experiencing and quite convenient if you just want to get to your room quickly, but there were a few quirks with it.

We decided to get the ski and stay package, but only for Sunday evening as it was not offered on Saturday. Lift tickets aren't cheap, came up to about $170, so we figure the remainer of the room for $130 wasn't so bad. The quirk with staying here is you have to check in before 5pm as the gondola closes, meaning you would be stranded up there till the next day. The staff helped us bring our luggage up the gondola, but there was a 3 hour delay. Fair enough, as we didn't need our luggage immediately.

Deluxe room was on the small side, and therefore only had one bad. Toilet had urine stains all down the front and the vent had tons of dust/mold; we left a note for the housekeeping and it was dealt with the next day. Housekeeping was a little on the slow side; we noted things were finally done late in the afternoon. Only one ice machine in the lower level. One elevator only, and was slow, so more often than not we took the stairs.

As we were limited to food, especially in the night, you were either going to eat at Chimney Corner, or Eagle's Nest (we skipped this one because we found food to be overpriced). The food at Chimney corner was generally pretty good (surprisingly); the burgers were juicy and food delicious, except for the one time I had the chicken and waffles and the waffles were rock hard so skipped eating those altogether. On speaking to the girls when booking, they stated no large amounts of alcohol were allowed, with the exception of one bottle of wine; their alcohol was expensive, and they even had the audacity to charge for 3 cans of beer for $20; but they did have a pitcher of beer for $20 deal that wasn't bad. We noted the service during breakfast and dinner to be extremely show, possibly due to understaffing, possibly due to lack of motivation/care, possibly because the staff knew we had to eat there anyway. But during lunch it was quite busy with other skiiers and service was quite speedy.

Hot tub was a nice touch and was clean. Same with the gym. We also utilitized the common room and games room, but do note there are families with screaming children and teens that will beat you to using the facilities. Lockers were convenient in that we had a place to store our wet equipment; inconvenient that it was at the other end of the hotel, but what can you do.

Our package included a ski lesson on the 2nd day; we had talked to the desk and they had said on 2 occasions the lesson is booked and to show up at the ski school. We showed up; it wasn't booked. They had to call an instructor to come down the hill to give us the lesson. Found the desk to be under average with communication, but at least we got all our luggage back.

For the purposes of the location on the ski hill, I'd probably stay here again, and may suggest it to friends, but I would personally do more research; I think if staying in Banff, it would be nice to enjoy the local sights at nighttime and at least have some variety to choose from.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is relatively small and only has one queen bed; consider larger rooms if going as a family/have lots of luggage
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugahbabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Joanie T

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We certainly appreciate your business and apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. We can assure you that your feedback is extremely important and will be used to improve our level of service.

Sincerely,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an amazing way to experience Sunshine if you are an avid skiier. So cool to be right on the mountain. Dining options are excellent too. I would recommend this to anyone who worries that the trip from Banff into Sunshine Village is slightly prohibitive to a really full ski day - what could be better than staying right there, with access to great food, massages, and a piping hottub at the end of the day?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Karen K

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again visit us and make a few powder turns soon.

Best wishes,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent the weekend here for my birthday. I have always wanted to stay on the hill for skiing so I bought a Travelzoo coupon with a 2 night 2 days lift tickets deal. Must say the view and room were amazing! Comfortable beds and amenities and service. The food was great and reasonably priced ! Only a couple things need improving. Just they forgot to clean our room our first day.
On checkout they added an extra nights charge but promptly adjusted this. The staff are quite inexperienced in the hospitality area as far as greeting and informing on the surroundings and details to make your stay more predictable and comfortable. More orientation training for them would be beneficial.
Otherwise a great place and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonC_ot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Sharon C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad we were able to make your birthday weekend an enjoyable one. I have personally passed along your feedback to our hotel staff which is incredibly helpful, as we strive to continually elevate the guest experience.
Thanks again for your valuable input and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The staff is amazing, very cheerful and helpful. There seemed to be a lot of luggage lost, etc (I carried mine), so I assume they have a lot of communication problems to work out. I didn't find the restaurants overpriced, considering when on the hill they're the only option. The hot tub is awesome, and you can get booze at the cafe off the lobby, or room service.
I guess if it's really expensive I would stay in Banff. I got a good deal online, and considering lift tickets for two are around $160, it was actually very cheap.

Room Tip: If you'll spend any time in the room, get one with a view, not the "waterfall deluxe".
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_Smith8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

M Smith

Thank-you so much for the complimentary review following your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear about the exceptional customer service you received, and I have personally passed along your feedback to our team. We hope to see you in the lodge and on the slopes again soon.

Best wishes,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been staying at this property for 44 years and this visit was definitely the worst.
Our family had 3 rooms, 2 were the top category "suites" ( a king bed with a couch, the size of a standard room in any other hotel) and one was a "deluxe" waterfall room ( nothing deluxe about it). These rooms were vastly overpriced for the standard of accommodation and service we received. One day one suite had no housekeeping and the another day we only got our rooms made up after we called following lunch. Clean towels had to be routinely requested. To be fair, one morning our suite was done properly in the morning after I found the housekeepers and begged them as I was staying in the room.They did replace our dirty glasses but not in the other rooms. In our bathroom 2 out of 4 lights were burnt out, when we called maintenance they were replaced but the bathtub was left dirty following their work ( our job to clean it up?)
All meals were substandard particularly in the Eagle dining room.
Service everywhere is inefficient, the staff are friendly but untrained. One exception was Stuart at the front desk
As hotel guests we had to wait more than 1/2 hour in line for lunch. Service at breakfast was appalling.
On the coldest day there was no hot water for showers in any of our rooms, we were told they had run out at our end.

Room Tip: The tiny rooms in the back are probably the quietest
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Baltzan

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are sad to hear about your experience and we would like to apologize for not providing the service we are usually known for and you expected. We hope you will be giving us another chance and return to Sunshine Mountain Lodge, as we would love to have you back as a guest.

All the best,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews