We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A few faults, but great effort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
The Pas, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A few faults, but great effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The staff is amazing, very cheerful and helpful. There seemed to be a lot of luggage lost, etc (I carried mine), so I assume they have a lot of communication problems to work out. I didn't find the restaurants overpriced, considering when on the hill they're the only option. The hot tub is awesome, and you can get booze at the cafe off the lobby, or room service.
I guess if it's really expensive I would stay in Banff. I got a good deal online, and considering lift tickets for two are around $160, it was actually very cheap.

Room Tip: If you'll spend any time in the room, get one with a view, not the "waterfall deluxe".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Smith8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
M Smith

Thank-you so much for the complimentary review following your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear about the exceptional customer service you received, and I have personally passed along your feedback to our team. We hope to see you in the lodge and on the slopes again soon.

Best wishes,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    205
    96
    31
    12
See reviews for
231
212
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been staying at this property for 44 years and this visit was definitely the worst.
Our family had 3 rooms, 2 were the top category "suites" ( a king bed with a couch, the size of a standard room in any other hotel) and one was a "deluxe" waterfall room ( nothing deluxe about it). These rooms were vastly overpriced for the standard of accommodation and service we received. One day one suite had no housekeeping and the another day we only got our rooms made up after we called following lunch. Clean towels had to be routinely requested. To be fair, one morning our suite was done properly in the morning after I found the housekeepers and begged them as I was staying in the room.They did replace our dirty glasses but not in the other rooms. In our bathroom 2 out of 4 lights were burnt out, when we called maintenance they were replaced but the bathtub was left dirty following their work ( our job to clean it up?)
All meals were substandard particularly in the Eagle dining room.
Service everywhere is inefficient, the staff are friendly but untrained. One exception was Stuart at the front desk
As hotel guests we had to wait more than 1/2 hour in line for lunch. Service at breakfast was appalling.
On the coldest day there was no hot water for showers in any of our rooms, we were told they had run out at our end.

Room Tip: The tiny rooms in the back are probably the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baltzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Baltzan

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We are sad to hear about your experience and we would like to apologize for not providing the service we are usually known for and you expected. We hope you will be giving us another chance and return to Sunshine Mountain Lodge, as we would love to have you back as a guest.

All the best,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Sunshine Mountain Lodge mid-December. The transfer to the hotel was described in the booking materials - so plan for this. By the time we had a quick test of the snow and put the gear in the locker and had a beer at the saloon our bags were in the room. Due to the feedback on this site - we actually upgraded the room to the larger Deluxe ones in the West Wing. Do this if you can!! They are comfortable, great views and quiet. We are glad we did. The powder was great; the front staff attentive and helpful, the hot tube good. While some reviewers say the food choices are limited we didn't find this overly impactful: in room dining, plus the smarter one for our final night. Everything was great. We planned for the departure time-wise and everything worked just fine. I would return to Sunshine Lodge for sure!

Room Tip: A decision to pay for the larger West Wing rooms would not be a bad one . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Olivinglife1

We are so pleased to hear about your experience during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the new West Wing room and appreciate the positive feedback on our front desk staff.

We look forward to having you return to experience our slopeside accommodations again soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

.....if you want to avoid the morning rush the ski area, or you want to be on the slopes before every one else. Otherwise stay in Banff. The bags took three hours to arrive in our rooms. The rooms are small and cramped. The bathtub had signs of black mold starting around the bottom edge of the shower surround.
The food was indifferent, and if you want a breakfast with food warmer than tepid dont use the buffet which was poor as well as cool, order from the menu to ensure heated food. The fruit tray was exhausted and not replenished for nearly 30 minutes.

Room Tip: As far from the bar lounge as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Au_NaturelAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff all at the hotel were excellent as well as the restaurants and on hill staff were great. The only problem was the fire drill at about 6 am. It was mass confusion as well as nobody seem to know what to do. My buddy was a volunteer fire fighter and was quite surprised.

Helpful?
1 Thank gerrycantow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Marvelous experience, from leaving your bags at the ski base (they take them up for you, while you ski), through being one of the few people up on the mountain at night, to sking back down the mountain (while they take your bags down for you). We were first on the lifts in the morning, and had great snow all day. Food in the resturant was average (avoid the fondue- terrible), but the location unbeatable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We are Aussies and chose to stay two nights in April to experience snowfields for the first time (on my behalf anyway). Our stay in a West Wing Premier room was very nice. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. My partner had his birthday whilst staying there and we had a very lovely dinner seated by a window with a gorgeous view of the snowfields - by ourselves - in their formal restaurant, as it was late in the season. We were lucky enough to catch a look by chance at the 'northern lights' making a spectacular show outside our bedroom window around midnight one night. Very unexpected and we felt very special when people were talking about it the next morning and many missed out on seeing it. Staff here were very nice (mostly Aussies of course), and just a great place to stay and have a go at snow skiing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuenDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
9.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
10.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
9.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
9.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
10.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing