We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you want to be on the mountain then stay here . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you want to be on the mountain then stay here . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Sunshine Mountain Lodge mid-December. The transfer to the hotel was described in the booking materials - so plan for this. By the time we had a quick test of the snow and put the gear in the locker and had a beer at the saloon our bags were in the room. Due to the feedback on this site - we actually upgraded the room to the larger Deluxe ones in the West Wing. Do this if you can!! They are comfortable, great views and quiet. We are glad we did. The powder was great; the front staff attentive and helpful, the hot tube good. While some reviewers say the food choices are limited we didn't find this overly impactful: in room dining, plus the smarter one for our final night. Everything was great. We planned for the departure time-wise and everything worked just fine. I would return to Sunshine Lodge for sure!

Room Tip: A decision to pay for the larger West Wing rooms would not be a bad one . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Olivinglife1

We are so pleased to hear about your experience during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the new West Wing room and appreciate the positive feedback on our front desk staff.

We look forward to having you return to experience our slopeside accommodations again soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Bell, Hotel Manager, Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    193
    88
    29
    10
See reviews for
218
188
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

.....if you want to avoid the morning rush the ski area, or you want to be on the slopes before every one else. Otherwise stay in Banff. The bags took three hours to arrive in our rooms. The rooms are small and cramped. The bathtub had signs of black mold starting around the bottom edge of the shower surround.
The food was indifferent, and if you want a breakfast with food warmer than tepid dont use the buffet which was poor as well as cool, order from the menu to ensure heated food. The fruit tray was exhausted and not replenished for nearly 30 minutes.

Room Tip: As far from the bar lounge as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Au_NaturelAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff all at the hotel were excellent as well as the restaurants and on hill staff were great. The only problem was the fire drill at about 6 am. It was mass confusion as well as nobody seem to know what to do. My buddy was a volunteer fire fighter and was quite surprised.

Helpful?
1 Thank gerrycantow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Marvelous experience, from leaving your bags at the ski base (they take them up for you, while you ski), through being one of the few people up on the mountain at night, to sking back down the mountain (while they take your bags down for you). We were first on the lifts in the morning, and had great snow all day. Food in the resturant was average (avoid the fondue- terrible), but the location unbeatable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We are Aussies and chose to stay two nights in April to experience snowfields for the first time (on my behalf anyway). Our stay in a West Wing Premier room was very nice. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. My partner had his birthday whilst staying there and we had a very lovely dinner seated by a window with a gorgeous view of the snowfields - by ourselves - in their formal restaurant, as it was late in the season. We were lucky enough to catch a look by chance at the 'northern lights' making a spectacular show outside our bedroom window around midnight one night. Very unexpected and we felt very special when people were talking about it the next morning and many missed out on seeing it. Staff here were very nice (mostly Aussies of course), and just a great place to stay and have a go at snow skiing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuenDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge with another family in the new loft rooms. They were small, but worked well for two adults and four children. The beds are not large, especially the murphy bed. The room was nicely decorated with wood and slate accents, but the downstairs bathroom has shutters above the tub that open right into the main room. Everyone was uncomfortable using that bathroom since the shutters don't block the noise and there is always the worry someone will bump open the shutters, since they are right next to the bed. There is also not a shower in that bathroom, so we all had to shower upstairs in the tiny bathroom in the loft.

The convenience of the ski out location is hard to beat, and the scenery is just gorgeous. The staff at check in were very helpful. The restaurant was expensive, but the food was pretty good. The room itself was very expensive.

We took our luggage up on the gondola and sent the ski gear up separately. There was enough room on the gondola for all six of us and our suitcases. The gondola ride is an adventure in itself!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This has been our 8th trip to Banff, and the 3rd year to stay at Sunshine Mountain Lodge . It's the best location you could hope for but has reached the tipping point . In the past one could overlook the indifferent service (friendly but indifferent ) and the mediocre and limited food choices . This year though the room prices hit the stratosphere ; almost $400 a night for a premier room + lift tickets . Menu seems to be more limited this year . Not as many activities as in years past . That is important as hotel guests are stranded on the mountain after 5:30 except for Friday night . I think we will go back to the Rimrock .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
10.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
9.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#3 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
9.9 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
9.6 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing