We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prices up ; service down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Prices up ; service down”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This has been our 8th trip to Banff, and the 3rd year to stay at Sunshine Mountain Lodge . It's the best location you could hope for but has reached the tipping point . In the past one could overlook the indifferent service (friendly but indifferent ) and the mediocre and limited food choices . This year though the room prices hit the stratosphere ; almost $400 a night for a premier room + lift tickets . Menu seems to be more limited this year . Not as many activities as in years past . That is important as hotel guests are stranded on the mountain after 5:30 except for Friday night . I think we will go back to the Rimrock .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    318
    134
    41
    14
See reviews for
395
308
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I don't think you stay here because the hotel is epic, you stay for the experience and convenience of staying up on the mountain. It is wonderful to be up there when the crowds clear out. We had a loft room that had a king bed upstairs with a small bathroom with a shower in it. Downstairs was a queen bed and a little Murphy bed. There was a bathroom on the main floor that was bigger and had a nice tub that had air jets on the bottom. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer,fireplace, and tvs on both the main floor and upstairs. I liked the wood and slate in the room and felt it had a lovely ambience. The beds had plenty of pillows and cushy bedding. I would say the room was nice for a mountain ski lodge. The only thing I didn't really like was the noise and headlights of the snow plough at 3:30am and again around 6am. My kids didn't wake up from It however. The restaurant isn't particularly well run as there was a mix up with our servers and a couple of people didn't receive their orders until everyone else was finished. They did offer 10% off our bill do that was ok but they are pretty much the only game in town once the day lodge is closed. I would stay again though because the room was good and it was nice to be up on the hill. Hot tub is also lovely after a day of snow and skiing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schneeballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arrived at check in time and had the option to take our bags with us on the gondola because we were told they could take up to three hours to arrive to our room so we did. The room was a superior room on the west side. It had a queen bed and a pull out murphy bed and a couple of chairs. The room was small to average and was nicely decorated. The hotel is really nice but not worth 490/night and that was a discounted rate because we are a season pass holder. The food at the hotel lounge and fine dining restaurant was mediocre at best and we were extremely disappointed with a bunch of the meals. It was more like pub food with no flavor. The staff were very friendly but someone in reservations mistakenly cancelled our late check out which we had requested and paid for and our last ski day was cut short because they needed the room. No offer to refund our money for the lift ticket we paid for a full day of skiing. Just a "sorry must have been the reservation agent". Over all the hotel is nice but with the food being not great and the rooms basically average why waste your money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Littlefeet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Never stayed in the hotel but always have breakfast when on the hill.
Excellent fresh cooked breakfast at a good price if you don't like the fast food options at the other outlets on the hill this is the only place to go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benniethesheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night the weekend after New Year. The room was small but functional and appeared clean enough, same comment for the bathroom. The TV was smaller than my computer monitor and even though some will say that "you should be outside so it doesn't matter", at well over $200 a night I expect some amenities even if I don't use them. Nicer rooms run well over $400 a night and I hope you get more for that money.

The restaurant is simply okay and because you can't easily leave the mountain at night that is really your only option.

Overall this hotel is okay and great if first tracks are your priority. But please do some research. For the same money you can stay in Banff, at the Banff Springs no less, and have a lot more options for after ski activities. For less money you can still stay in very nice accommodations in Banff and only be 11 kms from the hill. This hotel is worth $100 a night, that's it (without lift ticket). Any more than that please stay in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hopefullylost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We just returned from one night at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge. We stayed in the lowest category of rooms, a basic waterfall view room with one queen bed. The bed was very comfortable but the room was small. This was not a problem for us, but others might want more space. The price was high. This might be because we stayed between Christmas and New Years. You definitely pay for the location and the convenience of staying on the hill.

We ate at the restaurant at the hotel, not the fine dining restaurant but the more basic one. My meal (tenderloin) was very good but my husband ordered the buffalo burger which was mediocre and poorly presented. The service was poor too. Our waiter took our orders and then about 30 minutes later came back to say that what I ordered was not available. Therefore I had to order something else and we waited again for our meals to come. When my husband asked for the dip that was supposed to come with his sweet potato fries, the waiter did not bring it for another 20 minutes. If he had waited for it, his fries would have been cold.

Our wing (5th floor in the older section of the hotel) was nice and quiet so we had a good sleep.

There were lots of things for families with young children to do (sledding, movie night, campfire) but we did not do these things because we did not have our children with us.

We had a nice stay and would do it more often if the price was more reasonable (we paid about $400 including taxes for one night). I know that they are the only mountain accommodation on the hill but it is hard to justify the cost when you can stay in banff 20 minutes away for less than half the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed up here for 2 nights with my friends. I had never been skiing in Banff or even in Canada prior to this, so I have to say I was in for quite a treat!

First, you take the Gondola up to the village/base lifts and you stay up there. Going down isn't really an option as the gondola closes pretty early (4:30pm I think?). Friday and Saturday nights it goes until 11pm or so. You need to check as you don't want to get trapped on either side when it shuts down!

The ride up the gondola was amazing. I happened to be visiting during a snowy weekend and we got several feet each day. When we got up there, we walked over to the lodge and checkin was smooth! The room faced the lifts/village and was on the ground floor. It was literally WALK IN/WALK OUT skiing! So awesome. The rooms were nice and the murphy bed was perfect. The three of us slept fine each night and really enjoyed the beds.

At night/apres ski there isn't too much to do, but what there is to do is really good. 1) The little bar all the Aussies hang out in (everyone who works here is Australian, attractive, and in their 20's.. haha). This little bar gets going at night and is fun to spend time at getting to know people. Also, the hottub is huge, and amazing. Always full of people and very enjoyable. The restaurant on site is good. Not the most amazing, but still a very good meal.

The mountain itself is tons of fun, and being able to ski into your room basically is great. The rates seemed fair, and the service was totally acceptable. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Ground floor, village side and you can ski in/out of your ROOM!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corpkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
11.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
12.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
12.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.3 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#4 Spa Hotel in Banff
#9 Family Hotel in Banff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in the Canadian Rockies is located at 7,200 feet in Canada’s oldest and most famous National Park, Banff National Park. The Sunshine Mountain Lodge offers incredible comfort, luxury and convenience. Experience the anticipation of fresh tracks as you catch the first chairlift after waking just steps from the only ski-in, ski-out accommodations in Alberta. Sunshine Village’s professional and friendly staff take care of all the details allowing you to do what you do best; whether it’s skiing Sunshine’s world famous snow, relaxing in the hot pool and spa or dining at one of the Lodge’s casual or elegant venues. When you are done enjoying your “best day ever!” relax by immersing yourself in the peacefulness and tranquility of undisturbed nature of our village. Afterwards, delight in the accommodations of the enhanced West Wing suites that offer heated floors, jetted tubs, floor-to-ceiling windows and fireplaces offering cozy entertainment to send you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunshine Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Mountain Hotel Banff
Sunshine Mountain Resort
Sunshine Village Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing