We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and very disapointed”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
australia
1 review
“overpriced and very disapointed”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

we stayed here for one night and were very disapointed, we paid over $300 aust . The room was tired, small and the furniture was not matching. The view out of our window was on all the hotel/shop roofs from the main street. We could'nt even watch tv from one of the beds because the cabinet had doors on it and would'nt open far enough. we requested a cot for our baby and it took about an hour to come- when it did arrive we got no linen to go with it. the bathroom is small and very average. no breakfast inc. in general we were very disppointed and felt we paid way too much.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with the Mount Royal Hotel.

As a Historic Hotel our hotel is one of the oldest buildings in Banff, which restricts us from being as modern as some of the newer hotels in the town. We do offer a variety of different packages for our guests to choose from one of which is a bed and breakfast package available at the time of booking. I appreciate the comment regarding the crib for your baby and will speak with my concierge desk regarding the speed at which your request was executed at. We strive to provide a high level of customer service each and every day. As we are one of the only hotels located right in the heart of Banff Avenue most guests choose our property due to our service and location.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    406
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canadian rockies
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This historic Hotel has a great location for shopping and dining in Banff. The staff was good and check in/out quick. We had two rooms. The first was a basic room, small but efficient. The second a suite with king bedroom. Separate living area was nice and spacious. Two TVs but a small bathroom. Older, historic property but maintained and clean. Convenient having a restaurant and lounge on site. quiet at night, but could be noisier in the summertime with street traffic. Individual heat controls was a bonus.
Reasonable prices considering it is Banff. Does have hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharealoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Good day to you,

Thank-you for taking the time to wright a review we do appreciate it. I'm happy to see that you had a godd experience at the hotel, I do agree with you, we do have a great location, close to shops and all restaurants it is an asset of ours.
You are correct in saying that our property is historic, it's the second oldest hotel in Banff, 101 years old. It is part of the charm of the hotel I beleive.
Individual heat control in all of our rooms makes it a more confortable stay, I do agree iwth you.
So once again, thank-you for taking the time to wright a review, it does help us.
Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Some of the complaints here are a little harsh I think. Yes, this 3 1/2-star hotel has some worn, puckered carpeting in the rooms, internet has problems working at times and a smallish, narrow bathroom but the value is good, the beds most comfortable and all the amenities one would need are here. The rooms were simple with coffee and tea preparation items but no refrigerator that would have been helpful. An unusual note though was that they charged a service fee for all phones calls made whether local or whatever. One of the best features of this 1908 hotel is its great downtown location on Banff Ave. right in the middle of the small Banff business district. Great restaurants, good (but expensive) shopping, etc. are all around the hotel within a few blocks at most. The hotel has a good (Tony Roma's) in-house restaurant, a nice size jacuzzi, nice comfortable bar and comfortable rooms that we found very quiet even though our room faced the main Banff Ave. street on the third floor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The room fixtures are a bit dated and a bit worn, but still serviceable. It's not a big deal with us.

Con's? Some minors one. The mattresses needed to be flipped over for more all-around even wear.
We found the room was stuffy all night. The A/C came from an overhead vent outside the bathroom which didn't reach the beds.
We noticed the bathroom floor was warm. Probably not a problem in the winter time, but we didn’t need any more heat.

Our room, 210, was overtop of the overhang at the rear of the hotel. You'll hear tour buses pulling in early in the morning followed by the odd crash of loading luggage. This wasn’t a problem for us because we were already mobile, but it could be a problem if you wanted to sleep in.
Try to avoid a room over the bar; which was busy on a weeknight even during off season. Our end of the hotel was pretty quite.

Our room seemed clean enough, no complains there.
The Wireless Internet signal was strong, but the speed is a bit slow.

We had no problems checking in or out. Otherwise no interaction with the staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbsask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

If you can get this for under $90 a night, I think it is good value. The rooms are perfect for those who are out and about all day and want a good sleep. It is right in the heart of Banff, stumbling distance from all pubs and a short walk to the picturescue river. The free parking and WIFI were great. The pub adjoining the hotel didn't have the best food, but would recommend it for a quick beer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The location of this hotel is the best, in the center of Banff downtown, bus stop just outside the hotel. Many restaurants and shops around the hotel, Worry free for dining. Just all the restaurants are quite expensive.

The staffs there is OK, but not too friendly.

The hotel room is OK, but it's true that the wall of the room is thin, and hear the noise of people from another room close the door, or talking. Not good for sleeping.

That hotel has free Wifi, but it needs a access code, you need to call from your hotel room to get the access code, not in the front desk. strange. the internet connection is bad at night because many people using it at the same time I think.

So if I have choice again, maybe I will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

we have stayed here and at the Spruce inn. The plus of this hotel is the location (middle of Banff ave.) It is more upperclass and has a small fridge. The beds were nice. The bathroom was dated and small. The wifi was terrible, but we stayed at the outskirts of the hotel, this may be the cause. The parking is outside behind the hotel and limited. The room was big and nice. the tv was in an akward position (could not see from bed). If you don;t value parking and wifi so much, take this hotel. If location is of lesser concern and you value wifi and space: take the spruce inn (and skip breakfast).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crowbarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing