We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

A very busy hotel though tired a d showing signs of wear, some carpets worn and grubby.A shame as it would take little to rectify.Bedroom small,portable aircon unit, comfortable small double bed and tiny bathroom.Safe was useful.Staff were young helpful and enthusiastic from many nations.Dinner taken in lounge as restaurant was busy.Good food well cooked & presented.Breakfast your average hot buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaltraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Globaltraveller55

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to sincerely apologize for some of the issues you brought up in your review; we have currently embarked on a program through our maintenance department to clean every carpet in the hotel to address the concerns of our guests.

We are however happy that you found our staff so helpful and you are quite right, we are made up of many nations at the Front Desk including South Africa, Sweden, the UK, Australia, the Philippines, Canada and Germany.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts so we can know our strengths and address our weaknesses to provide the best guest experience possible going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    384
    233
    109
    53
See reviews for
187
480
58
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is in an amazing location with all the shops and restaurants right on your doorstop. However, the rooms themselves so very badly need some money spent on them! Although large rooms the carpets were badly stained and ripped and the furniture damaged. The front of house staff are very good and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Catherine H

Thank for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we apologize for the various issues you brought up in your review in regards to the state of the room, this is not consistent with our standards and your comments have been passed on to both our housekeeping and maintenance department to address.

We are however happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all the Bow Valley has to offer.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future to improve upon this experience.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Since we were not driving, we wanted a downtown location for walking to the regional sites. Mount Royal was a good choice. Aside from the noisy neighbors who were eventually quieted, the staff was very helpful all around. The breakfast buffet was gratis because of the overnight noise and it was busy because of a tour group. All in all it was OK and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sparky6843

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the issues you had with noise, I’m glad our staff could solve that situation for you.

We regret to hear that your stay was only satisfactory; our goal is to exceed guest expectations which we clearly have not done on this occasion.

However as you said it was a good choice, we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

It is an older hotel but can't beat being smack downtown of Banff. All the other hotels were way out on Timbuktu. So we did good. It wasn't noisy at all though we booked early and got a good room on the top floor.

If noise bothers u you should get some earplugs they work wonders. My mom and I have also figured on taking to small fans if your driving . the fans helped allot in the room.

The room was clean beds comfortable and the room nice and cool.

Has free WiFi and free parking its not hard to find once u get a map of the parking.

The staff is knowledgeable and always helpful and friendly and greet you with a smile.

Over all 100% satisfied if we ever get back this way the mount royal is the place to stay !!!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah Oakensh... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Rebekah Oakensh... H

We would like to thank you very much for your glowing review of the Mount Royal Hotel, our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and we are very pleased to hear that for yourself and your mother we were able to provide you with such a fantastic stay, complemented with a fantastic time in Banff.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Great location hotel however pretty expensive for what you get. It's right in the middle of Banff Ave which is great however the facilities need updating. Everynight the hot water wasn't really working to well and the TV reception wasn't to good either. Staff helpful but I just think the hotel needs work

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cashola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear cashola

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We regret to hear that you did not feel that you got value for money during your stay with us and we apologize for some of the issues you experienced which brought you to that conclusion, we are investigating what may have happened with our hot water and TV reception.

We are however happy to hear that you found our staff so helpful and that you enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We take our guests comments seriously and we believe good or bad, it all goes towards helping us to improve our guest experience going into the future and so we once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location. Lovely guy on desk when we checked in. Room has everything you need except fridge for perishables however they store your stuff in their fridge behind desk. We had two nice queen beds in room which was great. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank madashell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear madashell47

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

First of all I would like to apologize we were not able to provide you with a fridge on the occasion of your visit, due to the aging electrical infrastructure of the building we only have a handful of rooms with fridges but I am glad our staff could accommodate you with our front desk fridge.

We are very glad your stay was an overall positive experience and we are very happy to hear that you would stay with us again, when you do choose to do so, please request a fridge with your booking agent and we will do everything we can to ensure that you get one in your room for your next visit.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here with a couple of friends for one night when visiting Banff. This was a very reasonably priced hotel with a large room and two extremely comfortable beds. We didn't use the restaurant facilities, however I found the hotel to be clean wherever we went. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again?? Absolutely!! The location is right in the centre of Banff, literally walk out of the door and you're on the main road with access to restaurants, bars, shops and buses if needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear ErikaN

From all of us at the Mount Royal Hotel we sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of our property and our staff and we are very happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you wish to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing