We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 31, 2014

At check in we were early and the room was not ready, but the staff was very helpful, they gave me a parking pass so I could leave my car there and they gave us suggestions on what to do while we were waiting. when we got to our room it was very nice, great beds, but as mentioned by others the carpet in the hall needs to be replaced. We were way at the end in the older part of the hotel and the elevator at that end did not go to the lobby, a little confusing but no big deal, we were only on the second floor. The big thing about the hotel is the location, it is right on the main drag where all the bars are located. This makes it convenient and inconvenient, everything in town is within walking distance, which is great. However, Baniff is a party town and the bars are open till 2am. We had people sitting on a bench till 3am talking and laughing quite loud one night and the next night we heard bands playing after 12am. Being on vacation we just slept in, but if you need a quite night, this is probably not for you, try a hotel away from the main drag.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the back that does not face Mian Street for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Kevin T

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any issues you may have had with noise, as you mentioned to a certain extent Banff does feature many bars and clubs in the downtown core which can occasionally lead to issues with noise from late night revellers.

We are glad to hear however that you enjoyed your room and that our staff could be so helpful to you during your visit and that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Banff, which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

I was traveling with a group of 40, so I didn't experience the usual check in. However, there was only one elevator in the lobby area, and we were all trying to get to our rooms at once. Mine was on the third floor, and after a long walk, I encountered several stairs. This was a problem for me. FINALLY, I got to my room --- and there was a small elevator down that hallway! (So THAT helped the rest of my stay.) The hotel is located downtown, in the first block next to the Bow River. So, it's an excellent location!

The room was good-sized, but all the walls had a dark wood paneling and the furniture was dark wood. I couldn't open the curtains (large, triple-sized bow window) because it was one of those hot, hot days, and the sun was brutal! (I peaked out in the morning and the view was beautiful!)

As others have mentioned, the carpeting is years past needing replacement.

What you're really laying for is location, location, location!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blush48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear blush48

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for some of the difficulties you experienced during your stay, all our guest comments are taken seriously in an effort to improve our hotel to provide the best possible experience.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location however as it does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve upon this experience and we hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal should your journeys return you to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is very old. There have been a few attempts to keep it "livable" but it's really on its last leg.
The carpets in the hallway were so filthy I almost checked out before seeing my room which was a long hike to the back end of the building. The room was simple, bare bones basic nothing at all special, a place to sleep. However, I need only a few key things; quiet, good bed, great shower. I got a decent bed but the people across the hall went in and out of their room allowing the door to slam about twenty times until 2 AM so sleep was difficult. This hotel has a bad rep with locals as being noisy because of the bars on the main level but the location is really great if you don't want to walk too far. The shower was great. There is a sound all night which was either water running through pipes or AC, I couldn't figure out which. The staff were all very nice.

Room Tip: Don't have one that faces Banff Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Donna M

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay, our goal is always to provide a good night’s sleep and we are very sorry we were not able to do so on this occasion.

We are however happy to hear that you found our staff nice and enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve upon this experience and we would look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel on your next visit to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel right in the middle of town, convenient for shops, restaurants etc. We did not get a lot of sleep due to the noise from the nightclubs, music till 3am. Not the cleanest hotel I have stayed in. The room was on the top floor, the carpet was very dirty and sticky, our shoes stuck on the floor. We could not walk around in our socks or bare feet. Beds too soft. Otherwise room was fairly clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Caron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Caron T

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very concerned about your comments regarding your room, we assure you this is not consistent with our standards and please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with us.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve upon this experience, we do once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts so that we can rectify our shortcomings and provide a greater guest experience going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Convenient to everything, large comfortable, well-appointed rooms, great scenery and shopping right down the street. The hotel is actually on the main drag of the town, which is in the National Park. Fabulous restaurants in and outside the building. Don't forget to take a gondola up the mountain. The views are amazing, but, beware, the restaurant at the top has dismal food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogagal313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear yogagal313

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind words about our property and that you found our location so convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We thank you once again for your five star review of our property and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel when your travels return you to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at the Mount Royal in July, found the Staff very friendly unfortunately the Room we were allocated was past its sell by date. Tried to tune in the radio and the bedside shelf fell on my foot.Not a good start.The plus side of the Hotel is the location right in the centre of Town.

Room Tip: Avoid end of corridor rooms, ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Arthur S

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff, which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy the room assigned to you during your stay, some of our rooms do feature slightly older decor and we are very sorry that we were not able to offer you a different room.

We are also very concerned about your comments regarding the bedside shelf, please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto our maintenance department in order to avoid these kinds of issues in the future.

Many of our rooms do feature an updated decor and feel and we hope you will give us another chance to improve upon this experience and we’d be happy to accommodate you in one of the aforementioned room types should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location, freindly staff, especially the guy on the tours/info , he was ver good, Dan I think they called him.
Beds are so comfy, could have slept in them for hours, but too much to do !
Slap bang in the middle of the town, can't get any more central, didn't go for the breakfast option, as it was a little on the expensive side, but there are plenty of other options, and McDonalds 50m away is a fail safe option if all else fails!

The Hotel is obviously old, but it is has pretty tidy rooms, that look ike they have had half a make over, the Beds/Bathroom ect have all new decor, but the carpets leave a lot to be desired, ours was full of stains, that hadnt been cleaned very well, one obviously looked like someone had been sick over the side of the bed, which is not a nice sight, and let the hotel down for me, when the receptionist asked if my stay was good, I said everything was great but you need new carpets in the room, she agreed, so the hotel know about the problem.

Apart from that its a great base, at the end of the day, you only sleep there most of the time , and its central location and free parking are its main plus points. It does have free wifi , albeit a little slow at times .
If you are in one of the end rooms like we were, be aware of the ice making machine at the end , this is noisy for the rooms are the very end I would think, also you an use the lift at that side of the hotel which takes you straight down to the main street, so you dont have to walk all the way down the hallway to get out of the hotel, something a lot of people who stayed didn't know about

Room Tip: Dont get one near the end of the corridors near the ice making machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Paul C

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, this is not at all consistent with our standards and your troubling comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department in order to ensure these kinds of shortfalls are avoided in the future.

But we do thank you for your kind words about our staff and we are very happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed our beds and our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope you will choose to stay at the Mount Royal Hotel again when your travels bring you back to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,471 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $405 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing