We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location and Value excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10%
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Location and Value excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Mount Royal with my wife in December. We loved it and were very happy with our choice. Value was excellent as we booked using the third night free deal. We had a fantastic room that had a great view out over the street and up to the mountains. Parking was free behind the hotel and we easily got a park every time we needed to which was great during the very busy Christmas-New Years period. Location in Banff is excellent, close walking distance to the whole centre of town. Staff at reception were friendly and willing to assist as much as possible.
We would definitely stay at the Mount Royal again and will be recommending to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Labroy

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very glad to hear we were able to provide you with such a fantastic experience during the holiday season, we always strive to provide the best facilities and customer service possible and it’s always good to know we have met those expectations.

I have passed your comments on to our staff, who will be happy to know their efforts are appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal the next time you visit the area

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    349
    209
    99
    50
See reviews for
167
430
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We live in Calgary and often visit Banff as its such a short and lovely drive into the mountains. We often stay downtown at numerous hotels but thought we'd give the Mount Royal a try for a change. I'll start off by saying the hotel is lovely, as are all the staff and very polite. We did encounter a few issues though. Firstly was our room. We upgraded to a kingsize room, and although the room was lovely, we were at the back with a view and the noise of the air conditioner from our window. Not what we were expecting having upgraded!! Neither was the parking. When we booked we asked about parking and was told over the phone that there was parking, and it was Free.........Not the case. Upon arrival we were told that the parking was full and we'd have to park on the street. Again not something you'd expect for the price of an upgraded room. What was particularly annoying though was the parking. The hotel doesn't have the biggest parking lot, but we we're stunned to see how many cars were parked taking up two and even three spaces!!! We mentioned this to the receptionist but we're not sure what was done about it. They need to manage what little parking they do have a lot better. Upgraded rooms should have parking guaranteed and if these rooms aren't used, then their spaces should be used at a first come first serve basis. Like i said, we stay in Banff often and it's a shame because this one thing will probably deter us from staying at the Mount Royal again.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms don't come with guaranteed parking and some even have an A/C unit outside their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with parking during your stay with us.

Unfortunately due to land restrictions within National Park boundaries and particularly in downtown, parking is one of Banffs primary issues with visitors and while we are always happy to receive constructive criticism, it is simply not feasible to provide guaranteed parking to any of our guests, regardless of room type, but we will definitely look into ways to manage our parking space more effectively.

We also do thank you for your kind words about our room and our staff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel we can highly recommend it, our stay was excellent as was our room.
We found the staff, including the cleaners very welcoming, and polite, no request from us ignored, and the value for money was excellent.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEBURDIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

It is fantastic to hear you had such a great return visit with us and that our staff were able to provide you with the best experience possible as we always strive to do and I have passed your comments on to all of them, they’re always happy to know their efforts are appreciated.

We hope we can welcome you back many times again in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great hotel, perfect central location, relaxed friendly atmosphere. All staff we met were friendly efficient, helpful and gave excellent service. No complaints at all, would definitely recommend this hotel & would return there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Dgrantham,

Thank you for your most recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I will make sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our staff.

We are so pleased that that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Meaghan Young
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just returned from our annual 10 day ski holiday based in Banff. Have previously stayed at the Red Carpet (once), Inns of Banff (twice), and Caribou Lodge (3 times) on Banff Avenue, but thought we'd try the Mount Royal due to it's central location. (walking into town and back in the evenings when it's minus 20+ can be a challenge)

What a big mistake! We suffered 4 nights with virtually no sleep due to the noise from other guests until after 4am, with grown men riding luggage trolleys up and down the corridors. The noise only stopping after a security company (who must be on speed dial!) were called in to patrol the corridors.

The construction of the hotel doesn't help, the hollow floors and stairs amplifying every footstep, but the main problem is the target demographic of people out to get drunk at the weekends and returning noisily at all hours. We actually were disturbed from our first night on Wednesday right through to Sunday morning when we decided to move to another hotel for our remaining 5 days holiday

The staff, and Darren Hill the Desk Manager were very empathetic but in practice could do little to improve things, there was even a man passed out in reception at 3.40am Sunday morning whilst I was complaining about the noise! The policy of the company seems to be to attract both couples/families on 10 day skiing trips and weekend party goers, and it just doesn't work, for skiers anyway. The weekenders are too drunk to even care about anyone else.

Subsequent conversations with bar/waiting staff and taxi drivers around the town revealed that the disturbances at this hotel are well known, a ski company rep even said "noisy? people running up and down the corridors?" the moment the hotel's name was mentioned!

I feel for the frontline staff who end up having to deal with these drunken idiots, plus the sleep deprived and consequently irate guests complaining about them.

Aside from the above, I agree with some other reviews in that the hotel doesn't feel like it's been updated and beyond the foyer looks quite tired. When we checked in the radio/alarm couldn't be turned off, the electronic safe wasn't working and the bathroom door wouldn't close, so not a good first impression.

We were offered a degree of financial compensation, but we still lost out, as well as losing a day's skiing due to moving hotels, something we will never get back.

The location is great, but unless you plan to get drunk every night and sleep through the noise there are far better hotels for those on a skiing holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Mount Royal (Feb 2014) - I think I read somewhere that the hotel had recently undergone a refurb but it wasn't obvious. The rooms are dated and the carpets look old - the bathrooms certainly weren't new (except perhaps the sink??). If they have spent money recently then they didn't spend much.

The location of the hotel is definitely its best feature - Banff really isn't very big though so even the hotels which aren't so central aren't that far away from town. The breakfast (which we only had once as it was $30 for two) was average - the selection wasn't great and their was very little healthy options. You can get a much better (and cheaper) breakfast in town.

The worst thing for us was the noise in the hotel - especially at the weekends - its obviously one of the cheaper hotels in Banff and it shows in the crowds of lads it attracts. We had to ask to move rooms twice while we were there - once because we were put in the attached wing (4th floor) and felt too out of it, plus there was a constant 'hum' from a generator or something outside, and once because a group of particularly noisy lads checked in near us. The walls of the rooms really are paper thin - something I've read on here more than once.

To be fair to the staff both times when we asked to move they accommodated without question - which did make me think maybe we weren't the first people to ask?!

Other things to note - we really enjoyed the Tony Roma restaurant attached but I know not everyone thinks the same, we never used the sauna so cant comment, the ski storage is ok but the keys didn't work so we had to get the hotel to sort them out for us, the hotel is nice and warm - which was a god-send as it was -25 outside. Oh and the chap in reception who has a little desk set-up and will answer your questions was really, really helpful.

We had a lovely holiday but would definitely pay a bit more for a better hotel next time - a good nights sleep is priceless.

Room Tip: 4th floor is an attached wing with no direct lift access from reception. Room 455 has one double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30sHelpfulhints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

We take your comments very seriously and they provide us with fuel to step up our efforts to always improve our service and to provide the best possible service.

I apologize that certain features of your stay were not satisfactory, in particular the noise issues that you had to contend with. I have been working with our security patrols to provide a more pro-active approach to potential noise disturbances. While challenging in downtown Banff, we do and wlll ever aim for a restful environment in which the enjoyment of one guest is not allowed to infringe upon the rest of another guest.

We are grateful for your positive comments regarding Tony Roma's and our helpful concierge and have passed these along.

Thanks again for your honest feedback

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just spent 4 days skiing in Banff, what an awesome trip! This hotel was perfect for our needs. The location was fantastic, right in the heart of the "strip". The shuttle bus stop being right behind the hotel was great, after a long day of skiing who wants to have to walk far with equipment. We took advantage of their Snow Easy special which included skiing and a boxed lunch, this was a great deal! The only negative to this special is the shuttle bus is not included which I think should be. The room included in this package was a premium room located in the back of the hotel, which according to the other reviews was a good thing because it was quiet.
We had a issue with the deadbolt on our door not working but maintenance fixed it quite promptly. The wi-fi internet was not very good, we kept losing connection which was annoying because my daughter had an application to submit while away and she was getting quite frustrated with it.
There is a ski storage room for guests to use but the locks were very difficult to use so we just kept our equipment in our room.
The room itself was very spacious and clean. The view of Cascade Mountain was spectacular! The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Love the blackout curtains. There is a safe in the room, coffee maker and kettle. Unfortunately there is no fridge, we like to eat cereal for breakfast so we filled a garbage can with ice in order to keep the milk. A small fridge would have been nice.
Having a restaurant (Tony Roma's) right in the hotel was great, we had dinner one night and the breakfast buffet on the last morning. It's nice not to have to go outside when it's cold.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Roam bus stops were right outside the hotel which made travelling by bus very easy. Overall this was a great trip and this hotel was perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Witz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing