We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$407
$324
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$360
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$316
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$376
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $483/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$336
$314
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$361
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$226
$219
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $337/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$342
$276
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
267
406
253
119
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
406
253
119
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuethird floorhistoric hotelhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnow
Filter
Updating list...
633 - 638 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Perfect venue as in the centre of town, the room was great, though the bathroom a little snug. They advertise as the only hotel with ski bus pick up which isnt true.But that aside, the down side s the rooms arnt very insulated against noise, so if you want a lie in forget it, all that would be needed to fix this is for the hotel to supply lockers for the guests to keep the ski boots in as they do for skis and snow boards. This would then reduce the noise in the mornings when guests get upp to catch the early ski bus. Only other down side is no fridge in the rooms, which would again be a real easy fix.
Staff great and friendly and really helpful, overall a great place

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is excellent/affordable and is in a perfect location on Banff Ave. The hotel is extremely clean and the staff are always smiling and ready to help you. Meghan at the front desk is wonderful and very attentive.

Room Tip: If you stay facing Banff Ave it can get a little noisy however the view is spectacular. The back of the hotel has no view but it is totally quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Marie E,

Thank you for your amazing review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so happy you liked our incredible downtown location.

We highly appreciate your kind comment regarding our front desk staff - I will pass it on to the staff member and their management.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Stephanie Quaiser
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was the final stop of our Canada ski holiday. Somehow we got our dates wrong and arrived a day early. We had booked a Junior suite but it was unavailable ( understandably)!
We were happy to have any room for the night but the receptionist was concerned that we should not have to move. She found an executive suite was available for the whole time and upgraded us to that! So the problem we created was turned into an enhanced experience... Well done Mount Royal.
It is an older hotel but the suite had a graciousness to it that made you feel totally comfortable!
( new isn't always best!). It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.... The in room jacuzzi was a boon for tired ski legs!
It was the icing on the cake for our best ever Canadian ski experience ( our 14th )!

Room Tip: In an older hotel there is real value in choosing superior rooms... They often leave newer hotels for dead in term of comfort and spaciousness!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Kevin S,

Wow - what an incredible review! Thank you so much, we truly appreciate hearing from our all our guests (especially when we have done something right!).

Our staff are dedicated to providing our guests with an unforgettable experience. We recognize how stressful it can be when reservations gets mixed up so we do our best turn those situations into a positive experience (provided we have the availability of course).

To hear that we were a major factor in being your 'best ever Canadian ski experience' is incredible, and please know that we enjoyed hosting you.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again next year.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place is nothing too fancy but a very affordable and comfy place to stay. Great place if your just looking to crash for the night after a few drinks on banff Ave. It's in a prime spot and close to everything! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of building have a beautiful view of mountain
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear travelbug1187,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We pride ourselves on offering our guests an incredible location at an affordable price without sacrificing excellent service.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the mountain view from your room. For our future guests it is important to note that not all of our rooms or room types guarantee a mountain view. Please request a mountain view when making your reservation and our front desk staff will do their best to provide you with a good view.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a tour of Canada so we have stayed in many hotels. This hotel was the worst in the way of sleep. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and found the corridors in the hotel very loud during the night with people screaming and running up and down. To make it worse the hotel has wooden floors so you can hear the people above you walking around all the time. This made it very hard to sleep.

The positives is the location. Right in the middle of town and joined to Tony Roma's restaurant which is nice for dinner. Free wifi in the rooms is plus too but there is no fridge in the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor so you don't have to listen people walking around on top of you all night.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear KellyBond,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

As you mentioned, our hallways can get a bit loud on Saturday nights. If you are being disrupted by any guests, please call our 24 hour front desk and an agent will be more than happy to resolve the situation for you.

Our location is right in the heart of Banff and just a minute's walk to most of the restaurants, shops, and nightlife.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews