We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UGH!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“UGH!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

If you like stained, worn carpet, thin bed linens, and dingy comforters you'll be right at home here. This place is a rip-off and certainly not a 3+/4 star establishment. We paid over $250.00/night for a room I didn't want to walk barefoot in. Unbelievably overpriced and over-rated! We requested a new room and got one of similar filth. Finally we were upgraded and the room was satisfactory; however, the windows didn't open and there was no air conditioning! Oh well, we at least had a clean bed. (I hope).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Worn out.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    407
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

After reading the reviews on here I was dreading our 3 nights in this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised.

There is free parking with direct access to reception from the carpark, and there is plenty of space too.

On check in the staff were pleasant, if not overly enthusiastic. We had a great room (superior), it was on the 2nd floor overlooking the main street and with good mountain views. We were worried about noise but it was very quiet. It was clean and well maintained and had enough storage for all our luggage.

We had 2 big comfy beds and a decent sized bathroom.

We stuck our heads into the bar and resturant but decided to give them a miss as it was like the night of the living dead, as a tour bus had just arrived full of very tired looking people! Due to the location of the hotel you have all the restaurants and bars just a stones throw from the front door and an excellent wine shop just on the side street.

One night we tried to order room service, it was like they had never heard of such a thing. They took our order sounding rather confused, then rang back about 5 minutes later saying they didnt have what we wanted, and asked what menu were we looking at?! (it ws the room service menu from the room!). We told them just to forget about it, as it all sounded a bit dodgy! The person on the phone was very polite however.

Independant travellers should note that this hotel is FULL of the tour bus crowd, who shuffle in for one night and out again. This usually makes for bad service and low standards, however we didn't encounter anything dreadful on our stay.

I would gladly stay in this hotel again as apart from the room service incident it all went exceedingly well, the room was great and the location was the best in town.

  • Liked — location and great room
  • Disliked — room service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

Read reviews after asking travel consolidater to change our Banff hotel for a more central one, & this was run by large well known company.
Thought reviewers may just be picky travellers.
Well our visit to the area was wonderful ,but the hotel although in a great position was poor,we are far from moaners& have travelled loads so understand some hotels may not be as expected.On arriving we were early 1pm, rooms not ready till 3to4pm,ok its a busy time, was able to leave luggage with bell boy who was very helpful with maps for the area & directions to gondolas.
On arriving back at 4pm rooms were ready,keys issued for 3 rooms on 3rd floor,thank god we had the bell boy to carry cases down long corridor down steps up stairs then into a very small dark room, the bed was comfy the bathroom old & small we saked to move but hotel full.
The other rooms allocated to our group of 6 were larger not much brighter,we had booked for them so were glad they had slightly better rooms although they were dissapointed with standard.
For such a prominant well known hotel group & paying more than a five star rates you would expect better.
We did not eat at hotel as had been warned service could be very slow at busy times,with so many places to eat its nice to get out .
2nd night on arriving back after a long day visiting wonderful sites & looking forward to a hot shower yes you guessed NO hot water, we had cold water we waited as maybe everone using together, NO 1hr later no change
We rang for help, the person on the desk said they would send someone,they did, with due respect he did not have a clue, we had seen him earlier hoovering halls,I have no problem with hotels employing slightly slow thinking people but don't make fools out of them,he turned taps & repeated no hot water we thanked him kindly, he left we again rang desk who then said no one was on duty to fix problems till morning.
This is a large hotel right in the middle of Banff supposed to be run as a first class company.
We were offered another room this was now 8pm we had not showered or eaten & were meeting friend at 8.15pm & leaving next morning, my husband looked at the room offered & it was of a much higher standard, Why we we not given these rooms on arrival.
I had given up by then as my night had already been ruined,told the girl on the desk politly we would decline to move & why,she just shrugged & said up to you.We left next morning after showering in friends room.
We loved Banff but not this hotel, will go back & stay in Banff park lodge just down street.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor rooms, lack of help
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

When we arrived the first thing we noticed was the smell in the room and the pee stains corroding the metal leg to the sink. We also had to move the nightstand and discovered that had probably never been cleaned behind, ever!

Well we thought, as an upside our room comes with champagne and chocolates! When we checked in they told us it came with the room. How nice. Well, we come to find out when we check out that our $189/night room is now $279/night because we partook of their 375ml bottle of champagne and 8 lindor truffles. No sign about additional fees. Nothing.

Also, under the heading of creepy... The hotel posted articles from a fire they had a while back where people DIED in the hotel. Hmm...anyone else have a little problem with that?

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms, rude staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mount Royal for one night in June.
Thank goodness it was only one night!!
When we checked in, we were given our room key with room 453 marked on the tag. We get into the elevator, but the hotel only has 3 floors. Ok, so we get off on floor 3 thinking possibly the "4"'s are somewhere on the 3rd floor.....but nope none to be found. So we returned to the front desk. The girl looked at us blankly, and had to ask another worker where our room was!! And, well, the hotel doesn't actually have a fourth floor as such, its just an area above the third floor with 3 rooms on it, and to get to it you have to travel down to the end of the 3rd floor hallway, carry your bags up a 1/2 flight of stairs, take another elevator that is somewhat hidden around a few corners, and finally access your room, which by the way would make any Super 8 look like a five star resort. Old and tired doesn't even begin to describe this room. Ancient, worn out, fly infested and like something out of the Twilight Zone would be a better fit. And for $250.00-VERY POOR

  • Liked — Located in the center of Main Street Banff-good location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Stayed at the Mount Royal Hotel for two nights as part of a tour of the Canadian and American Rockies. Overall this is a good hotel - lovely large, clean room - only thing lacking perhaps was a fridge in the room to keep water/drinks cold as it was over 90 degrees outside.

We had a street front room on the third floor and never heard any noise although the town was very busy.

Didn't eat at the hotel on an evening as there are so many places to eat in Banff but did have the buffet breakfast each day which was just adequate.

Found the reception desk very unhelpful - I had left my camera on the coach and asked if they had a telephone number for Brewster Coaches (which is also owned by the same company as the hotel and also based in Banff) - was told they didn't have any numbers but the bell boy might have if I wanted to come back in 30/40 minutes as there was no one available.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinoGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stayed for three nights at the start of June, on our trip across the Rockies. The hotel was easy to find as it is on the main street, and has ample parking to te rear. It was clear that Banff has undergone some major street renovations, and the main street is now quite attractive.

The room was at the front of the building, but in contrast to other reviewers, noise was not an issue for us, as the roads appreared to be quite each night (Sunday thru Tuesday).

Room was darkish due to styling, but clean and well maintained. Beds were comfortable and facilities ample, with plenty of room.

Location is in the heart of Banff with easy access to all shopping areas, and walks by the river.

Found the Restaurant good, but a bit costly, and choose to eat there on one evening only. There is a great choice of restaurants close by and we really enjoyed Malissa's a short walk away.

Staff were very helpfull and welcoming, and the fact that we arrived a couple of hours ahead of check-in time was not an issue.

Overall I found this hotel very good value for money, as a full breakfast was included in the price, and no additional charge for car parking was levied as we experienced elsewhere later on our trip.

Older guests might want to be wary of the fact there was a single lift, and some rooms are at the end of long corridors.

  • Liked — Locxation and value for money
  • Disliked — Dark decorating scheme
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#16 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing