We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We had been booked in at the Mount Royal as part of our Rockies tour and I'm so pleased we were there as it is right in the centre of Banff. Check-in was swift. We were allocated a lovely room on the third floor in a corner location overlooking the central crossroads in the town. We weren't disturbed by any noise though.
The room was clean and spacious with a nice bathroom.
We ate at night in Tony Roma's restaurant attached to the hotel and found the food good and plentiful. We ate breakfast there the next morning too but there were very few people in there. Breakfast very nice.
We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checkout while we had a stroll around Banff, which is a lovely town. We wished we had had longer there.
Sulphur Mountain is definitely worth a visit. But we missed the views from the top after the gondola ride as the snow was coming down very thickly!
We would stay at the Mount Royal again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Elaine M,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location, room, and Tony Roma's.

We wish you could have stayed with us longer as well. Hopefully next time the weather will be clear enough for you to see the incredible views from the gondola. That being said, it is quite a treat to experience snow in September!

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
209
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited Banff in mid October with my husband. We stayed one night at the Banff Mount Royal and it was a very nice stay. The hotel is very convenient, amongst everything the town has to offer and there is free parking right in back. The only hiccup was that our keys did not work in the door and they had to have a technician fix the lock but no big deal we just went out and explored and came back later and picked up our new keys.
If you visit definitely try the Grizzly House restaurant and cook your food on the hot stones. Also make sure to do the Banff Gondola for amazing views of the mountains and lakes.

Room Tip: Rooms right on the main street can be noisy at times but they give you complimentary ear plugs to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uraqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear uraqc,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so pleased to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience the door lock may have caused. As our doors are battery operated they sometimes die on us at the most inconvenient of times. I am glad our staff were able to sort the issue out right away and have the keys waiting for you when you returned.

The Grizzly House is a great food choice in Banff. They serve fondue and exotic animal platters for the adventurous. From Nov 14 - 24, 2013 Banff has a Bon Appetit program whereby 30 participating restaurants offer 3 course meals for either $25, $35, or $45. It's a great way to experience the different flavours of Banff!

Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Mount Royal is easy to find, right in the heart of town, and there is complimentary parking to the rear which is a bonus. Our room was a HUGE, very contemporary and it had a double aspect which overlooked the junction of Banff Ave and Caribou. We expected some noise from the traffic but there wasn't any disruption.

A few steps in either direction of the front doors there are cafes, diners and restaurants with good food and great hospitality. Couldn't wish to stay in a better location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear stumblebee,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location and spacious rooms.

We would be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

So I know that this hotel is considered historic but that’s no excuse for it to be dirty! Our room had the most disgusting carpet and furniture I have ever seen in a hotel! Upon check in we looked for our room only to be placed in the back corner of the hotel without elevator access to our floor so we had to carry our luggage down and up stairs. The room was hideous. Our AC didn’t work and this hotel didn’t have windows that opened. It was smelly and stuffy. When we asked for a new room we were told they were full so we were “stuck” with it. The maintenance guy spent upwards of 4 hours in and out of our room as my girlfriend and I tried to get ready while having some cocktails and while catching up. It was intrusive and uncomfortable. That night arriving back we noticed that our door didn’t lock so we had to pile furniture up against the door until maintenance could once again come back. Not much safety for 2 young women travelling alone.
The restaurant attached was a rib franchise and it was horrible. Had lunch there one day and couldn’t eat the over salted, greasy food. Never went back.
The “management” offered no apologizes for this horrendous stay. Wouldn’t go back if it was free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larissadotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear FortMacPrincess,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

We take all feedback very seriously and sincerely apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay.

Our summer months are our busiest and often we find the hotel is sold out. In these cases we do not have the opportunity to move our guests to another room, something we would definitely do if we had the space.

If you experience any issues with a door not locking, please contact our 24 hour Front Desk and an agent will have someone repair it right away. We do not want any of guests feeling unsafe in our hotel. We take our guest's safety and security very seriously and wish there was a way for us to redeem the situation.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies. I hope you trust that we will use your comments to help ensure that they are not repeated in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Great location, right in the middle of town. Room big but spoilt by stains on the carpet. No fridge in room which would have been handy. Bathroom ok but small and narrow. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear halina g,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed our downtown location and friendly staff.

Please accept our apologies for the stains on the carpet. I assure you we have been shampooing our carpets on a daily basis and making an effort to lift the stains before we are able to make a permanent change.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Second stay in recent months. Timely check in, better than last experience but didn't check in till 4pm this time. Requested room overlooking Banff Ave, much better than view of car park! Perfect location for shopping as very central. Great value for money, rooms clean comfortable despite their little quirks! This time bathroom a little tight for space!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overthepond2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear overthepond2000,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am pleased to read that we were able to show you the service that we are capable of providing. All of our guests are very important to us and we strive to meet the needs of each guest.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you again and we look forward to your return in the future.

Best Regards,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the heart of downtown Banff. Very easy walking to everything and it has a parking lot which is a must. Rooms on the backside could be a little noisier as tour busses pull in and out of the back, but the street side can be noisy as well. Room was clean and staff very helpful. Would stay again in a minute.

Room Tip: Watch for where room is located in back. Look in the rear to see where the busses are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear jimmcma,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Our convenient downtown location allows our guests to be minutes away from restaurants, shopping, walking trails, museums, and nightlife.

Thank you again for your feedback .

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 33 in Banff
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing