We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$234
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$217
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
$152
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$305
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$340
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$256
$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$320
$263
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
267
406
253
119
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
406
253
119
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony romasgreat locationcentral locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuean older hotelthird floorhistoric hotelstandard roomhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnowgondola
Filter
Updating list...
663 - 668 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Second stay in recent months. Timely check in, better than last experience but didn't check in till 4pm this time. Requested room overlooking Banff Ave, much better than view of car park! Perfect location for shopping as very central. Great value for money, rooms clean comfortable despite their little quirks! This time bathroom a little tight for space!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overthepond2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear overthepond2000,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am pleased to read that we were able to show you the service that we are capable of providing. All of our guests are very important to us and we strive to meet the needs of each guest.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you again and we look forward to your return in the future.

Best Regards,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the heart of downtown Banff. Very easy walking to everything and it has a parking lot which is a must. Rooms on the backside could be a little noisier as tour busses pull in and out of the back, but the street side can be noisy as well. Room was clean and staff very helpful. Would stay again in a minute.

Room Tip: Watch for where room is located in back. Look in the rear to see where the busses are.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear jimmcma,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Our convenient downtown location allows our guests to be minutes away from restaurants, shopping, walking trails, museums, and nightlife.

Thank you again for your feedback .

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We wanted a convenient location as we were in Banff for a birthday celebration and we knew we would be drinking. Room was fairly clean (only one "short and curly' found in the bathroom and the mirror was slightly dirty). Bed was comfortable and the rest of the room seemed clean. Air conditioning fan was on the entire time which may have annoyed most but it created some good white noise so we slept fairly well. Only one drunk group came back at about midnight and lucky they only yelled and screamed for a few minutes (I don't know of one hotel on this planet that doesn't have paper thin walls). Seems the Alberta resident special puts all the Albertans at the back of the hotel with views of the air conditioning unit or ally (this is the third time I've stayed here and I've never been put in a room with a view - I guess Brewsters saves those rooms for the international tourists).

Pub was expensive for a Big Rock Beer ($6 for about a 12 oz "pint" during happy hour - go to the St. James Gate and pay that for a international brew in at least a 16 oz pint)

Anyway, as I've mentioned, it was decent enough (though price could be a bit better during the shoulder season - $150 + taxes for a king).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear 1_4_adventure,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and comfortable bed.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not receive a room with a view. We do not place our guests that book with the Alberta Resident's Special in rooms without views on purpose. Our hotel has many room types and the majority of our King rooms face away from Banff Avenue. Many of our Standard and Premium 2 Queen rooms face Banff Ave. Please feel free to request a 'Mountain View' room the next time you stay and our Front Desk Agents will their absolute best to accommodate you.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My first time in this hotel was at Christmas 1991 when I fisrt met my husband. I still feel the same relaxing athmosphere. Although the time is passed the hotel have spacious and comfortable rooms (some with astonishing view of the Rochies), friendly staff and the location is absolutly great (main road). I keep coming back here not only for my wonderful memories..........

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Marzia M,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am so pleased that the Mount Royal is your first choice hotel in Banff. It is so great when we are able to welcome our guests many years after their first visit.

Brewster Hospitality strives to exceed our guests' expectations by providing the right room, the right services and guest experiences to make each and every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with great memories. We strive to do the best job we can and feedback like yours make it worthwhile.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mount Royal for 2 nights in late Sept, 2013. The staff was great at check-in which always helps get off to a good start. The room was comfortable and very clean except for a few spots on the carpet (that happens with people tracking grime in on their boots). The beds and sheets were fantastic! The bathroom was very clean (yay!), although it was a bit small as is often the case in hotels. Not a problem for us at all, but don't be surprised. Overall a great value and would be my first choice if I ever get back to Banff.

Room Tip: Top floor is probably best as the wood floors allow some of the noise to travel down. We liked overlooking the shops and activity on the street. However, some might not like that at busy times of the year with lots of late night activity on the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Jim D,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad our front desk staff made a positive impression on you.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the condition of the carpets. Our staff are working diligently to deep clean each and every carpet.

As you mentioned, a room on the upper floor will prevent the sound of footsteps. For our guests who are light sleepers, requesting a room on the backside of the building will help keep the noise level down. For others, a view of main street is perfect.

Thank you for making us your first choice hotel in Banff! We are excited to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews