We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable hotel”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Great location, right in the middle of town. Room big but spoilt by stains on the carpet. No fridge in room which would have been handy. Bathroom ok but small and narrow. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear halina g,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed our downtown location and friendly staff.

Please accept our apologies for the stains on the carpet. I assure you we have been shampooing our carpets on a daily basis and making an effort to lift the stains before we are able to make a permanent change.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Second stay in recent months. Timely check in, better than last experience but didn't check in till 4pm this time. Requested room overlooking Banff Ave, much better than view of car park! Perfect location for shopping as very central. Great value for money, rooms clean comfortable despite their little quirks! This time bathroom a little tight for space!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overthepond2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear overthepond2000,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am pleased to read that we were able to show you the service that we are capable of providing. All of our guests are very important to us and we strive to meet the needs of each guest.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you again and we look forward to your return in the future.

Best Regards,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is situated right in the heart of downtown Banff. Very easy walking to everything and it has a parking lot which is a must. Rooms on the backside could be a little noisier as tour busses pull in and out of the back, but the street side can be noisy as well. Room was clean and staff very helpful. Would stay again in a minute.

Room Tip: Watch for where room is located in back. Look in the rear to see where the busses are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear jimmcma,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Our convenient downtown location allows our guests to be minutes away from restaurants, shopping, walking trails, museums, and nightlife.

Thank you again for your feedback .

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We wanted a convenient location as we were in Banff for a birthday celebration and we knew we would be drinking. Room was fairly clean (only one "short and curly' found in the bathroom and the mirror was slightly dirty). Bed was comfortable and the rest of the room seemed clean. Air conditioning fan was on the entire time which may have annoyed most but it created some good white noise so we slept fairly well. Only one drunk group came back at about midnight and lucky they only yelled and screamed for a few minutes (I don't know of one hotel on this planet that doesn't have paper thin walls). Seems the Alberta resident special puts all the Albertans at the back of the hotel with views of the air conditioning unit or ally (this is the third time I've stayed here and I've never been put in a room with a view - I guess Brewsters saves those rooms for the international tourists).

Pub was expensive for a Big Rock Beer ($6 for about a 12 oz "pint" during happy hour - go to the St. James Gate and pay that for a international brew in at least a 16 oz pint)

Anyway, as I've mentioned, it was decent enough (though price could be a bit better during the shoulder season - $150 + taxes for a king).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear 1_4_adventure,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and comfortable bed.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not receive a room with a view. We do not place our guests that book with the Alberta Resident's Special in rooms without views on purpose. Our hotel has many room types and the majority of our King rooms face away from Banff Avenue. Many of our Standard and Premium 2 Queen rooms face Banff Ave. Please feel free to request a 'Mountain View' room the next time you stay and our Front Desk Agents will their absolute best to accommodate you.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My first time in this hotel was at Christmas 1991 when I fisrt met my husband. I still feel the same relaxing athmosphere. Although the time is passed the hotel have spacious and comfortable rooms (some with astonishing view of the Rochies), friendly staff and the location is absolutly great (main road). I keep coming back here not only for my wonderful memories..........

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Marzia M,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am so pleased that the Mount Royal is your first choice hotel in Banff. It is so great when we are able to welcome our guests many years after their first visit.

Brewster Hospitality strives to exceed our guests' expectations by providing the right room, the right services and guest experiences to make each and every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with great memories. We strive to do the best job we can and feedback like yours make it worthwhile.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mount Royal for 2 nights in late Sept, 2013. The staff was great at check-in which always helps get off to a good start. The room was comfortable and very clean except for a few spots on the carpet (that happens with people tracking grime in on their boots). The beds and sheets were fantastic! The bathroom was very clean (yay!), although it was a bit small as is often the case in hotels. Not a problem for us at all, but don't be surprised. Overall a great value and would be my first choice if I ever get back to Banff.

Room Tip: Top floor is probably best as the wood floors allow some of the noise to travel down. We liked overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Jim D,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad our front desk staff made a positive impression on you.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the condition of the carpets. Our staff are working diligently to deep clean each and every carpet.

As you mentioned, a room on the upper floor will prevent the sound of footsteps. For our guests who are light sleepers, requesting a room on the backside of the building will help keep the noise level down. For others, a view of main street is perfect.

Thank you for making us your first choice hotel in Banff! We are excited to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very busy hotel for the national park area --Tony Romas restaurant in the hotel was good and wholesome with good breakfast choices and prompt service .The town of Banff is really just a huge souvenier shop with little else to offer . The cable car up sulpher mountain is spectacular and should not be missed .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colintimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Colintimms,

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay as well as our on site restaurant Tony Roma's.

Banff does have a lot of souvenir shops, there is no denying that. However, our small town does also offer many hiking and biking trails, horseback riding, scenic drives, museums, Bow Falls, restaurants, etc. Should you return, our front desk agents would be more than happy to help you plan your activities.

It is great that you took the gondola up Sulphur Mountain and were able to experience the Rockies from above.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,468 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $405 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing