We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$304
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
$246
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
$235
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$343
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$196
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
$405
$388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$322
$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$306
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$257
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
267
406
253
119
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
406
253
119
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony romasgreat locationcentral locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuean older hotelthird floorhistoric hotelstandard roomhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnowgondola
Filter
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - right in the centre of Banff. Stores, cafes and restaurants are within walking distance. The room we stayed in was modern, clean and comfortable - it also faced onto the main street and there was some noise in the early hours, but not enough to disrupt your sleep too much.
The parking is behind the hotel and very convenient - no issues with security for the two nights we stayed here.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baglady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Baglady13,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience when you stayed with us. We are very proud of our downtown location and its convenience to restaurants, shopping, and attractions. We are glad that you enjoyed the renovations in the rooms that give them a more modern look.

Banff is a very safe town and we are happy that you did not experience any issues. We do employ a third party security company to perform security checks throughout the night as an added security in the rare chance that something should happen.

We are very happy to read that you will be visiting us again in the future as we would love to host you again.

Thank you for your business and loyalty,

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived around 12.00, knew we couldn't check in but it was wonderful that we were able to get a parking pass. We were told we could check back later but guarenteed check in is 4pm. We left to have lunch and explore. We returned at 3.20pm, I explained that I had a sick family member with me who was in need of lying down as she tires easy due to chemotherapy. They still didn't rush and so we felt they lacked a little compassion. I had to go back and check, they didn't call us in lounge area once room was ready. Rooms are very nice, updated but carpets need a clean. I would stay again but would request a room at the front. The view at the back is of the parking lot, and partly a brick wall in our case.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overthepond2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear overthepond2000,

Thank you for your feedback of the Mount Royal Hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that we were not able to accommodate you and your party with an early check in. Our front desk agents do their best to check in guests as early as they can but some days there are too many factors that make this impossible. It was not acceptable for our agents to not come and retrieve you as soon as your room was ready and I do apologize for that as well. Management in charge will be made aware of this complaint for further review.

We are pleased to hear that, aside from check in, you enjoyed your stay. Our carpets are undergoing routine deep cleaning to brighten them up.

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was expensive, but then again on par with the Banff price range. Location was central, parking was free, room was comfortable. No breakfast, which was a small minus. Nothing to complain about, but nothing overly special either. Rooms are old, but the hotel is historical and they are clean and have modern decor. Worked fine for our one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Cattis26,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the convenient location.

Our rooms are definitely old. The hotel is over a hundred years old with strong historical roots for the town of Banff. We have tried to maintain the historical integrity of the building while updating the rooms for a modern and more comfortable feel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again should you find yourself back in Banff National Park.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great hotel in Banff for a reasonable price. My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights and were quite comfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room so we were just looking for a quiet, clean, place close to the centre of town and we found it at this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank kellycribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and quiet in our hotel located in the heart of the downtown area. We appreciate hearing that our hotel met the needs of you and your sister.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your business. We hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews