We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because I was only in Banff for 2 nights visiting friends and I didn't want to spend my days walking miles to get to town. This hotel is literally in the middle of town.
I got in fairly late (48 hours after leave home!) and was able to check in quite easily. By the time I had settled in though the room service was shut at only 10pm. Luckily Subway is 24hr and I knew where the supermarket was so I was fine.
The room itself, although far from the elevator, and had a few stairs to navigate (with a 23kg suitcase which was not easy!), was big and just what I needed. The bed was comfortable, like a cloud. The bathroom was fairly small given the size of the room but it was big enough for what I needed (a toilet and a shower) and it was clean.
The staff are friendly whether checking in, checking out, or asking for something. After not so attentive air hosts/hostesses and a surly customs officer it was so nice to be greeted by someone friendly.

If I ever need a hotel in Banff again, it will be th Mount Royal for sure! Maybe next time I will have time to use the pool or check out the restaurant and bar...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for your kind review of the Mount Royal Hotel. It was a pleasure to host you and we are pleased that our staff were able to provide you with the kind of service you should have received on your flight!

We do apologize that our food and beverage were not open late enough to suit your needs. Our front desk staff are knowledgeable about all the restaurants and fast food locations in town that are open late should you require any alternatives to Subway (though a late night Subway always hits the spot).

Thank you for staying at the Mount Royal Hotel and for your loyalty. We would love to host you again should you find yourself back in Banff.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - right in the centre of Banff. Stores, cafes and restaurants are within walking distance. The room we stayed in was modern, clean and comfortable - it also faced onto the main street and there was some noise in the early hours, but not enough to disrupt your sleep too much.
The parking is behind the hotel and very convenient - no issues with security for the two nights we stayed here.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baglady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Baglady13,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience when you stayed with us. We are very proud of our downtown location and its convenience to restaurants, shopping, and attractions. We are glad that you enjoyed the renovations in the rooms that give them a more modern look.

Banff is a very safe town and we are happy that you did not experience any issues. We do employ a third party security company to perform security checks throughout the night as an added security in the rare chance that something should happen.

We are very happy to read that you will be visiting us again in the future as we would love to host you again.

Thank you for your business and loyalty,

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived around 12.00, knew we couldn't check in but it was wonderful that we were able to get a parking pass. We were told we could check back later but guarenteed check in is 4pm. We left to have lunch and explore. We returned at 3.20pm, I explained that I had a sick family member with me who was in need of lying down as she tires easy due to chemotherapy. They still didn't rush and so we felt they lacked a little compassion. I had to go back and check, they didn't call us in lounge area once room was ready. Rooms are very nice, updated but carpets need a clean. I would stay again but would request a room at the front. The view at the back is of the parking lot, and partly a brick wall in our case.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overthepond2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear overthepond2000,

Thank you for your feedback of the Mount Royal Hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that we were not able to accommodate you and your party with an early check in. Our front desk agents do their best to check in guests as early as they can but some days there are too many factors that make this impossible. It was not acceptable for our agents to not come and retrieve you as soon as your room was ready and I do apologize for that as well. Management in charge will be made aware of this complaint for further review.

We are pleased to hear that, aside from check in, you enjoyed your stay. Our carpets are undergoing routine deep cleaning to brighten them up.

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was expensive, but then again on par with the Banff price range. Location was central, parking was free, room was comfortable. No breakfast, which was a small minus. Nothing to complain about, but nothing overly special either. Rooms are old, but the hotel is historical and they are clean and have modern decor. Worked fine for our one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Cattis26,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the convenient location.

Our rooms are definitely old. The hotel is over a hundred years old with strong historical roots for the town of Banff. We have tried to maintain the historical integrity of the building while updating the rooms for a modern and more comfortable feel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again should you find yourself back in Banff National Park.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great hotel in Banff for a reasonable price. My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights and were quite comfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time in our room so we were just looking for a quiet, clean, place close to the centre of town and we found it at this hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank kellycribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Kelly C,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and quiet in our hotel located in the heart of the downtown area. We appreciate hearing that our hotel met the needs of you and your sister.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your business. We hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for one night while visiting Banff. Reserved it through Expedia and it could be cancelled up to 6 pm the night before. Great location, right on Banff Avenue. Very friendly staff. I would definitely return...

Room Tip: We had one room overlooking Banff Avenue and the noise late at night from the street was quite loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherV13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Hotel Sales Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear HeatherV13,

Thank you for your review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

Brewster Hospitality strives to exceed our guest's expectations by providing the right services and guest experiences to make each and every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with great memories. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours make it worthwhile.

Thank you for your "Room Tip" alerting guests to the noise level on the Banff Ave side of the hotel. As our hotel is located on Banff's main street, it can get fairly noisy on Saturday nights. Should noise be a concern for you, please request a room on the backside of the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your business. We hope you welcome you again when you need a little break from Edmonton!

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#23 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $396 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing