We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$407
$324
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$360
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$316
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$376
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $483/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$336
$314
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$361
$350
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$226
$219
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $337/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$378
$276
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
267
406
253
119
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
406
253
119
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuethird floorhistoric hotelhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnow
Filter
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we first checked in it started off badly. The clerk was not very helpful at all. The hotel promised free parking on site, it was full so she instructed us to park on the street. When i asked her where it was ok to park she advised me to see the signs and use common sense. The room was ok, nothing special. It all started to get really bad at 11:00 pm when we found out we were surrounded by a big party of kids. They went on until midnight and than left the hotel. Guess what, 3:00 am they all came back and partied all night. We called the front desk numerous times and they said there was nothing they could do. We asked to be moved and they said no. Wow I was upset. In the morning I complained again to the front counter and was told there was nothing they could do for me. I mentioned we would not stay there again and they said OK. Wow. Problems happen, but it is how they are handled that makes the difference. Don't stay here. Worst hotel stay for us ever.

Room Tip: One not in this hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tedandjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest:

Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience staying at The Mount Royal Hotel. We take great pride in our staff being helpful and accommodating and want to assure you that your experience is not common with our hotel standards. We take your complaints very seriously and appropriate action will be taken.

Thank you for providing us with this knowledge, it is much appreciated.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my fifth visit to Canada and my forth to Banff. We had never stayed in The Mount Royal before, but I am glad we did! We had a room which had 2 double beds in and all the other 'usual' stuff. The storage for skis was good and a lock was provided free of charge from reception. After a long day skiing, sometimes we just wanted to relax and there was no better place than Tony Roma's Lounge which was downstairs and located within the hotel's lobby, so we didn't even have to brave the cold! I am hoping to visit Banff again and I will definitely be approaching this hotel for vacancies first. The location is fantastic as it is right in the middle of Banff Avenue. Thanks to The Mount Royal staff too who were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Samantha E:

We are very flattered that you enjoyed your stay at The Mount Royal Hotel so much. We completely agree that the onsite facilities including free ski storage and Tony Roma’s are extremely convenient, especially after a long day on the hill! Our central location is indeed fantastic and we are pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Banff.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the MRH and we enjoyed our stay tremendously. We found the charm of the old (and rebuilt) landmark hotel has been well preserved in the details and interior design on the guest room floors.
Brewster did a great job of providing all the modern amenities in our very comfortable room.
The hotel location is the best in town since all of downtown is quickly accessible from here.
We look forward to experiencing another equally enjoyable stay at the MRH in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Normand L:

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mount Royal Hotel so much that you will be coming back to stay with us again. We absolutely agree that our establishment is charming yet modern and that it is superbly located right in the heart of downtown Banff.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you again when you next come to visit.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is actually a very nice little hotel situated on the main street in Banff. The location is good as it has a car park but also the buses stop just across the street and can get you to all corners of Banff, other coaches pick up from the hotel to go to Calgary, and the ski centres. A comfortable leisure hotel rather than a business hotel. Service at reception was good as was the concierge for local information. The room was spotless, quiet, comfortable had fast free wifi and everything else you could need. The bar is a cosy place to come out of the cold and on the evening I was there had a complete mix of ages and a good atmosphere. I would certainly stay here again, actually much nicer than some of the larger more impersonal hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Traveler:

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at The Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad that you were impressed by our ultra convenient location, front desk staff, housekeeping service and food and beverage offerings. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Mount Royal for two nights. Great location, the beds were comfy the staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean. Not sure how I feel about the other reviews complaining about the "thin walls" but to each their own. Definatley stay here, its affordable, clean, friendly and in a unbelievable location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the actual avenue will be noiser of course, request differently if that will cause an issue!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews