We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always clean and comfortable - great location.”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years. Our first visit was actually complete coincidence and now it is the only place we stay in Banff. Our first visit and everyone after has always been great. Our first visit happened because we went to our old usual hotel the Banff Springs and the power happened to be out in Banff. They couldn't help us because they didn't know if they had rooms or not but the Mount Royal Hotel had lights on, a generator powering them and a room for us. We haven't looked back. This most recent visit was with our two grand daughters (8 and 4), they had a room when we walked in, it was clean, freshly renovated and as always very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Ample parking at the back and we always ask for a room on the back - away from the main drag. The hotel is well located right in town so in walking distance to everything. It might be 3 star but it is definitely more than that in our books.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of the Mount Royal can't really be topped! Right on Banff Avenue, and as one of the stops for the ski bus it means that you don't have to walk anywhere with your skis! Room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Didn't have a chance to use the whirlpool, which was down in the basement - but looked ok. There is a Tony Roma's within the hotel and a separate bar/lounge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the weekend. The reviews that mention the thin walls are right, but having said that we didn't hear anyone at night or in the morning so we weren't bothered. Very clean and modern room, lovely design. Comfortable beds and the people at the desk were very pleasant and helpful. Free parking and wifi is a bonus. Amazing location, will absolutely stay here next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has perhaps the best location in all of Banff, being right on Banff Avenue in the very middle of the action. Restaurants, pubs, bars and shops are located just outside the hotel and you can easily walk anywhere in town from here. The hotel itself is nice, though a little dated when compared with some other hotels in town. That said, we got a great price for a night's stay and would happily stay here again. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Mount Royal Hotel is right in the heart of Banff. You step out off the hotel and you're steps away from stores like The North Face, Lululemon, and the smallest Hudson Bay Company that I've ever seen.
The hotel's central location and large rear parking lot made it a pick up location for bus transport to the three major ski resorts in the area: Sunshine, Lake Louise, and Norquay. Fantastically convenient for catching the 8am bus.
The rooms were recently redecorated, but the carpet in our room looked stained. The upside of the dirty carpet was an easy going attitude towards guests bringing their skis and snowboards into their rooms. However, the rest of the room looked clean and well maintained.
Finally, bedside lighting prompted mixed feelings; the electric outlet allowed easy charging of electronic devices, but the fluorescent lighting was dim and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ding88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. It was perfect! The location, the room, the friendliness of the staff were all wonderful. The shuttles to the ski areas was very convenient, as was the first floor ski storage area. Many good restaurants nearby, and other attractions for the evenings or for a non-skiing day. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had no problem with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rblacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It is often difficult to give a 3-star hotel a faultless review - because they are after all only 3-star. You expect something to be not up to scratch. Wrong - when it comes to the Mount Royal Hotel in Banff. Location is perfect if you want to be in the middle of everything. Service was 5-star. Cleanliness - good. Room with 2 x Queen beds was very adequate. For under $100 per night this is good value. We stayed in spring time ( felt more like winter ) for 2 nights. Easy walk from the bus and train depot. Public bus stop right outside. All the usual eating establishments surround you - Starbucks, McDonalds, Food Court etc. Tony Roma's at the hotel lobby is a good option if you dont want to go outside to eat. I suppose if you were adverse to having any sort of noise problem, you might think that this rave is a bit over the top. You can hear talk in hallways and because it is in the centre of town it is not a very quiet hotel. We were at the back of the hotel so we didnt get too much outside noise. It was St Patricks Day and the streets were filled with revellers. If you want quiet I would suggest their sister hotel Banff International Hotel just off the main drag. But if you want to be in the middle of the action this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Choose back of hotel - still with good views over Sulphur Mtn and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Louise

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had such a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us your comments. We truly do look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 34 in Banff
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 34 in Banff
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#19 of 34 in Banff
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $395 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing