We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mount Royal. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Banff Ave so a great location! Our room was very clean & the staff were friendly & helpful. Our safe did not work so I called the front desk & a maintenance guy arrived to fix it within 5 minutes of my call. Overall we were very impressed & we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Louise

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
209
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Decided to stay at the Mount Royal because of great downtown location. Our Hotel room was recently renovated but done on the cheap. It definately is a 2 or 3 star hotel but you cannot beat the location. We enjoy a day on the slopes, quick shower and then a night on the town.....so for that reason....It is an economical place to sleep. We will surely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Banff have a great view of the mountains. Fun to watch the people on the street. Hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twogoodtrends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Twogoodtrends

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed. We found it a joy to have hosted you.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Pinnicle suite . When sat on the couch had amazing views from all 3 sides .The room was huge . It is very old and dated but goes with the setting of Banff . Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location is second to none being right on the main street , pubs , clubs ,shopping ,restaurants and museums all on your door step !!
BUT if your into swanky over priced hotels this is not for you ... look for those and stay there so not to complain about this little piece of Banffs history ... I will definatly be coming back here ...LOVED IT !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocowarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Cocowarnes

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us.

We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we truly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you want a central place in Banff Mount Royal hotel is for you. It is an older hotel but it still has great character. The ceiling are so nice and tall it gives the rooms a nice open feel. If your looking for a place within walking distances of all the great banff nightlife this spot couldn’t get any better. It was great to go for dinner and drinks and not have to worry about getting home cause the hotel is so central and easy to walk to.
The bed was very comfortable. We stayed for 2 night and got upgraded to a suite it was really nice to have an extra room as we had friends come up and meet up and it was great to have a sitting room to have pre drinks in.
If your looking for a quite place this hotel may not be for your. It can get a little loud if your room is right over looking banff ave cause all the pubs and restaurants are below the hotel. However if you got a room on the other side im sure you would not hear the noise.
This is no 5 star hotel like banff springs however if you want to spend your money on other things to do around banff that can add up pick the mount royal. Its a good price, great location, great staff and the money you save can be used to do lots of other fun things around banff. I would 100% stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dana

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants.

We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked about 3 weeks in advance, booked a King bed. Upon arrival, we were told they didnt have any left, they would give us 2 queens. I was not happy as we booked so far ahead. When we got to the room, it had to small double beds, very uncomfortable for 2 people to sleep in one. The whirlpool from hotel was broken, the sheets on the bed had big brown stains on there, they thermostat was broken or not functioning so it was very hot in the room all day and night, even with windows open in -10 degrees. Beds were hard, bar right beside the hotel with very noisy patrons at 2:30AM, staff wasnt helpful or sorry for anything, seemed like they couldnt care less. No fridge or microwave so couldnt take anything along, and they charge $3 for a small bottle of water. Very disappointed with this hotel, will not stay there again.

Room Tip: we chose a room, they didnt give it to us, if possible get one away from side of hotel with the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrietta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Henrietta

We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take great pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal standards.

Thank you for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share your specific comments with the appropriate managers of departments. We do use these as tools to help us improve and maintain our standards.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights over the holidays. They had ample parking and the check in process was very fast and efficient. We chose to store our skis in our room which wasn't a problem, but there were also complimentary ski lockers on site. Our room had a king bed and a mountain view. It was very quiet and comfortable. We ate at the lounge in the bar which didn't have a wait, and had full access to the Tony Roma's restaurant. You can call the restaurant for takeout and bring it up to your room as well :) I would definitely go back. Only a 15 minute drive door to door at Sunshine Village Ski Resort!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicav85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Jessica

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have served you in house.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 nights spent here. The room was quite large, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom amenities were good. We did, however find the room too warm for our liking and were unable to alter temperature using the control on the wall so we turned it off and opened the window! This worked for us. What we didn't like was the frustratingly slow or non existent wifi Internet hence me writing this review on the Brewster bus to Calgary! Apart from that, staff were friendly, dinner at Tony Roma's was delicious..some of the best ribs I've eaten. The buffet breakfast could have had a larger selection but on the whole was good. Service at breakfast was a little slow. The location is perfect with shops, restaurants and bars nearby. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_and_Marnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Paul & Marnie

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

We were pleased to hear of the pleasant experience you received during your recent stay. We found it a joy to have hosted you.

We always strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. We thank you for your
Constructive comments which will help us to improve our standards. I have taken the liberty of sharing them with the appropriate departments.

Thank you again for sharing with us. We truly look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing