We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$330
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$487
$376
Hidden Ridge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$402
$342
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$525
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$345
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$413
$401
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$253
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveler rating
267
406
253
119
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
406
253
119
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuethird floorhistoric hotelhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnow
Filter
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were in Banff for the weekend and stayed in this hotel. Being in downtown Banff is the greatest advantages as all attractions are pretty close by and shopping on Banff Ave. is easy. Also, it is close to most of the good restaurants in Banff. The room was nicely furnished and spacious. The beds are awesomely comfortable. This is important for a good night's sleep after some serious hiking around Banff. Being operated by Brewster has its advantages, so that you can book many of Brewster's tours and packages at the hotel itself (if you don't do it online). The check-in was speedy and same goes with the check-out. One precaution to be taken. Avoid the rooms on facing the road, as noise from the pub and streets below might disturb your sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the Banff Ave.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a small hotel located in the heart of downtown Banff. We were given a room on the 4th floor, which required us to walk from one elevator to another, a long walk up and down a short flight of stairs: difficult with luggage. The room itself was clean, but small. It is very basic and could use a facelift.

Room Tip: Refuse a room on the 4th floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBRich117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the fall (no snow yet) and have to say it was the WORST hotel I have stayed at in a long time. I imagine the location is great for the slopes in ski season but in fall, man it is sad. They have no air in the rooms whether it is warm and you need a/c or cold and you need heat. Internet didn'twork for two days. And they decided to pave the parking lot, so they closed it for construction, leaving us tob have to fight for street parking on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent at the Mount-Royal hotel,

I was very sorry to see that your stay did not match your expectations. We are always happy to send one of our staff to help guest who have difficulty operating the thermostat. There is both A/C and heat in all of our guest rooms. As for the internet, I do apologize, we have had technical issues last week but it is now resolve and working perfectly. The paving of the parking lot is now completed. Unfortunately, there is never a good time to do this, we try our hardest to minimize guest impact.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location is perfect; in the middle of town. Just make sure you don't have a room on the main street side. Also, make sure they aren't getting the carpets cleaned if you are on the main street side. The main street view is nice but getting no sleep for two days was not good.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side facing the main street. People get out of the bars and stand on the street to talk. They are very loud and sometimes yelling. This noise went on until about 3am. This happened both nights at the hotel. The hotel was full and I couldn't be moved.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodlandHillsLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Woodland

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.
We were glad to hear that you had the opportunity take advantage of our excellent location close to many of Banff’s shops and activities.

We are grateful for your constructive comments and I have taken the liberty to pass them on to the Management staff, which will help us to improve and maintain our standards.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel right in the centre of town with nice rooms and good level of service near good brewpubs and bars and shops. The Banff chair lift is close by also walks by the river. Try the badger and stump for an excellent Mexican meal with beer from jam jars

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, MT Royal Hotel at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Paxton

I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay.

Thank you for sharing with us, and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Sarah Lofts
Manager on Duty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews