We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony Roma's Wedding!”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had our wedding reception in the mount royal hotel with Tony Roma's catering and they done an amazing job! Very well priced and they took very good care of us! Jason (Tony Roma's manager) was very good to deal with and helped us tremendously!! The food was perfect and more than we could eat! There was always staff ready to do anything we could possibly need done!
If you are having a wedding of 50-60 people in Banff then you gotta go with them!!! You will not regret your decision!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banffbride_615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent 4 days there in June and left my diary behind in my room.

They returned it to me in Australia
promptly by FedX express. The Manager was very courteous when I worriedly rang him about the missing diary.

The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is right on Banff Ave in the centre of town. Our room was at the front of the building and had lovely views but we had to take our bags along a lengthy hallway and set of stairs. Room was a bit shabby but bed was comfortable and staff pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This old hotel is right on Banff Avenue which is great but don't expect much. For being so far north it is very hot here right now (Jul 9 2012) and it's stifling in here even with the "air conditioning" on. Rugs are stained, rooms are small but location is smack dab in the middle of Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Mount Royal over the Easter long weekend. The location of the hotel was the main selling feature for us. It's close to stores, restaurants, bars and trails. The rooms are a little shabby; some updating is definetely in order. Our first night, they booked us into a room on the second floor. It was very small and very cramped. We also asked for a Queen sized bed when I made the reservation and they gave us a double. The second floor was also quite noisy - lots of people stumbling in from the bar at 2 am and you could hear everything in the hallway. The next morning, I asked for a different room and they gave us another on the fourth floor, with a queen bed, no problem. They even had our bags moved for us, so we could head out during the day. It was a lot quiter and much more spacious. The staff is very friendly and are happy to offer suggestions. A good value, overall.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cordie_Cat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Downtown Banff, reasonably priced. Clean and friendly.. Lots to do and see closeby.

Stayed: June 2012
Thank rxplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic stay at the Mount Royal Hotel in June 2012. The room was huge (we had two double beds) and clean and had a bathroom with a great shower. We didn't use the restaurants or the sauna/jacuzzi. Staff were very pleasant. The hotel is on Banff Avenue so couldn't be more central. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Carole_BoldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $396 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing