We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“return of diary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“return of diary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent 4 days there in June and left my diary behind in my room.

They returned it to me in Australia
promptly by FedX express. The Manager was very courteous when I worriedly rang him about the missing diary.

The hotel is centrally located in beautiful Banff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    405
    251
    117
    57
See reviews for
206
511
64
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is right on Banff Ave in the centre of town. Our room was at the front of the building and had lovely views but we had to take our bags along a lengthy hallway and set of stairs. Room was a bit shabby but bed was comfortable and staff pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This old hotel is right on Banff Avenue which is great but don't expect much. For being so far north it is very hot here right now (Jul 9 2012) and it's stifling in here even with the "air conditioning" on. Rugs are stained, rooms are small but location is smack dab in the middle of Banff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Mount Royal over the Easter long weekend. The location of the hotel was the main selling feature for us. It's close to stores, restaurants, bars and trails. The rooms are a little shabby; some updating is definetely in order. Our first night, they booked us into a room on the second floor. It was very small and very cramped. We also asked for a Queen sized bed when I made the reservation and they gave us a double. The second floor was also quite noisy - lots of people stumbling in from the bar at 2 am and you could hear everything in the hallway. The next morning, I asked for a different room and they gave us another on the fourth floor, with a queen bed, no problem. They even had our bags moved for us, so we could head out during the day. It was a lot quiter and much more spacious. The staff is very friendly and are happy to offer suggestions. A good value, overall.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cordie_Cat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Downtown Banff, reasonably priced. Clean and friendly.. Lots to do and see closeby.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rxplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic stay at the Mount Royal Hotel in June 2012. The room was huge (we had two double beds) and clean and had a bathroom with a great shower. We didn't use the restaurants or the sauna/jacuzzi. Staff were very pleasant. The hotel is on Banff Avenue so couldn't be more central. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Loved our 2 night stay here in June. The hotel is so convenient to everything in Banff (including a bus stop right in front of the hotel). Easy to walk to shops and restaurants. We had a room with 2 queens and it was sized right. The beds are so comfy - with very nice feeling linens. SO nice after a rough day in the Rockies! Our room overlooked the streeet which I enjoyed - not too noisy - and able to people watch a bit. I also liked the fact that we could open the windows for some fresh Rockies air. The bath area had a nifty pull-out clothes line, which allowed us to hand wash a few items. The Mt Roral may not be as luxe as the big named 5 star hotels but right in the middle of what you want in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#19 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#15 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing