We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat location”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Loved our 2 night stay here in June. The hotel is so convenient to everything in Banff (including a bus stop right in front of the hotel). Easy to walk to shops and restaurants. We had a room with 2 queens and it was sized right. The beds are so comfy - with very nice feeling linens. SO nice after a rough day in the Rockies! Our room overlooked the streeet which I enjoyed - not too noisy - and able to people watch a bit. I also liked the fact that we could open the windows for some fresh Rockies air. The bath area had a nifty pull-out clothes line, which allowed us to hand wash a few items. The Mt Roral may not be as luxe as the big named 5 star hotels but right in the middle of what you want in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is one of the original hotels in Banff and you can tell. It is dated, but clean, and there are no fridges in the room. The location is great as it is right on Banff Avenue where there is shopping, restaurants, and nightclubs. the river trail is only a short walk away. If you are just looking for a place to stay then this is your spot, if you are looking for something more modern and upscale it is not.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is very well situated - you can park in the hotel lot and then walk along the shops and restaurants without having to drive. The restaurant attached to this hotel - we had breakfast the first morning, wasnt worth it and very expensive. The room the first night was great, had a fridge etc ( we left for Jasper for 2 nights) but the room we were given on the 2nd night stay was way inferior, no fridge, the kleenex wasnt stocked and the bathroom was tiny. Having had such a nice room the first night, this was a disappointment. The beds were very, very soft and not terribly comfortable because of this. The staff however were pleasant

Room Tip: we were placed on the 2nd floor both times and there was an ac unit outside the window that was on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamelaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A great Hotel in the middle of Banff. Our room was spacious, recently renovated and comfortable. I did request a room in the new section (after reading a review on tripadvisor before I booked), and we got our request. The room had a coffee machine as well as a kettle, we were happy to have a kettle as we only drink tea. Alot of Hotels in Canada and the USA only have coffee machines so we were very happy to have a kettle. The room also had a small fridge, flat screen TV and aircond. The windows also opened in the room for fresh air if needed. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was nice and hot. Because the Hotel is in the middle of town it was a bit noisy at night, but I knew this before I booked but to me it was worth having a little noise at night to have a Hotel in the middle of town. The Hotel offers free parking which is wonderful. The staff were helpful and the Hotel offers free fast wifi in the rooms and also in the lobby. There is a Safeway grocery shop within 7 minutes walk of the Hotel and there are lots of restaurant choices in the area. This Hotel is a great place to stay and was fully booked the 2 nights we were there.. so that says something.. Would happily stay there again..

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldCoastJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The hotel is centrally located near shops and dining (no need to drive). There is a large parking lot available which was really handy since the public lots fill up fast and there is a time limit. The room was good sized, though the bathroom was really tiny. The room was clean, which is really important to me. The walls are a bit thin but that is pretty common with hotels, especially older ones. The room was equipped with a flat screen and a fridge. The hotel has some character to it being as it is the 3rd oldest hotel in Banff. Lots of old photos to look at and walking down the hallways take you back in time. Overall, it was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nuts4TravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Loved this hotel because you could walk to everything in Banff. Very convenient and comfortable. Breakfast in Tony Roma's was very good. The staff was very helpful in the restaurant and hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The location is great, located on the main street of downtown Banff. Grocery store, shops, restaurants and the river are all within easy walking distance. The room furnishings were worn but the room was clean. Electrical outlets were hard to access to charge electronics. Oddly, the toilet was so close to the wall, you had to tilt your shoulders to use it. The location and the beautiful view out our window more than made up for any room concerns.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $396 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing