We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Banff is a beautiful quaint town, and Mount Royal Hotel, is a lovely 'old' hotel that mirrors the lovely town. We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is located bang in the centre of town, walk able distance from all the sights (First Indians Museum) as well as the eateries and 'mall' (Safeways). It has restaurants and a gym. We were part of a Brewster vacation, and their buses come right to the door. Helpful and courteous staff

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esnivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you had such a great experience while you were staying with us. You are not the first person to comment on our fantastic location, its it unbeatable. Having the Brewster bus pick-up right at the back of the hotel is for sure very convenient. Staff training throughout Brewster is one of the company primary goal, I’m glad you had some positive interaction with different members of the company.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    407
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed at Mount Royal for 2 nights. I was on a Caravan Tours bus trip. This hotel is centrally located. Within walking distance to/from shops, restaurants and breathtaking scenery! The room was very clean, had a great view of the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seashell0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was thrilled to see that you had such a good stay with us. Our location is one of our biggest asset, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. It is perfect when you don’t have a vehicle. The view is breathtaking I do agree with you. Almost all of our rooms have a mountain view. I will pass on your nice comments to our staff.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you next year.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is one of the older hotels in Banff, located right smack in the middle of town at the corner of Banff Ave and Caribou St. Step outside the front doors and you're amongst bars, restaurants, cafe, shops and all things touristy.

As expected the room and bathroom was not very big but comfortable enough. Floorboards in the corridors were a bit squeaky and we could hear anyone speaking there. Our sleep was disrupted by guests running to their rooms, talking loudly & slamming doors into the wee hours of the morning. Better sound proofing is required especially for those rooms near the lifts.

Service at the front desk and the restaurant was pleasant but not outstanding.

Room Tip: Get away from the lifts and high traffic areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I’m glad to see that you’ve enjoy your stay with us, our location is for sure very practical, right in the heart of town. We are indeed an historic hotel, the second oldest hotel in Banff, having said that, we are doing upgrades to our rooms on a yearly basis. There will be some improvements to our guest rooms in the near future. We do take comments like yours to heart, it helps us improving.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

This place is owned by Brewster, which seems to own nearly all the hotels in Banff and run all the coach tours, so it's used mainly by coach parties.

We stayed here four nights. We were kept awake on the first night, firstly by a noisy group next door (walls seemed to be very thin), then by someone getting ready to leave early the next morning, probably because they were leaving on a coach tour. We got moved to an upstairs room without any problem, but were woken early on another night by people from another coach party leaving early.

The place is in need of modernisation, though our first room was better than the second.

Oh, and a black mark for service - I stupidly left my adaptor for UK plugs in a previous hotel, and managed to borrow one from a previous hotel without any problem, but the receptionist here just directed me to the nearest department store. Cheers.

At least the location was good - right in the centre and near plenty of good restaurants. We didn't have breakfast or dinner in the hotel.

Room Tip: go for the top floor - no creaking floorboards above
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aquarius895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very sorry to read that your most recent stay with us did not fully meet your expectation. You are correct in saying that the hotel is own by Brewster, but we are the only hotel that Brewster own in Banff. We do have a sister hotel at the Glacier ice field near Jasper. Like most hotel in Banff, we are extremely busy with tours and individuals during the summer season witch unfortunately means that at time those individuals tends to wake up early. I’m glad to see that our front-desk staff was able to provide you with a different room after your first night.

Once again thank-you for your comments, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Position excellent and looked o,.k. from outside. Room we had was large and rated "superior". Bathroom was dingy and dark and had signs of mold around bath and sink. Plumbing in bath was dire and water did not drain away quickly Did not complain as was only there for 2 days, any longer and I would have. Breakfast was disappointing for a full buffet and was not appetising. Also do not like the glass mugs, much prefer china, although, of course, that is a personal taste. Not sure, apart from position, would consider staying here again, as not very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I am sorry to see that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. I will personally pass on all of your concerns to our department heads. We do take comments like yours very seriously and we use it as a tool to improve our overall product. I will also take a look at the breakfast buffet for myself.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The mount royal gave us a great rate on a double room, it was well proportioned and clean. One point only - there was not an opening window in the room which coupled with the air con made the air in the room rather dry!
Certainly didn't spoil our stay however, a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadist_llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to see that you’ve enjoyed your visit with us. We do take great pride in our product and staff training, we always try to improve. It’s always nice to read such positive feedback.
I will pass on your comments to our staff.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is right on the main street of Banff, a very convenient location with free parking and free wifi, but that is where the good things finish. Room is average but clean. The rooms are stuffy and most with very small windows that cannot be opened. The noise from the water pipes is very loud, every time the shower or toilet is used in another room you know about it. When we stayed the air conditioning broke down at 3.30pm in the afternoon and was not fixed until 11am the next day, no note or message to guest from management explaining the fault and the estimated time it would be fixed. Mentioned to front desk and they were, yes we know about it, it's fixed now. Also the bed was made with the wrong sized sheet, it only just tucked in on either side but only one end of the bed could be tucked in so either a lose sheet at the head or toes. It wasn't pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms along the front street have larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Pepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for your comments in regards to your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

Our location is for sure unbeatable, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are one of only a handful of hotels in Banff that do not charge for parking, it’s complementary for all guests. I will pass on your concerns to the appropriate department head. We do have several room categories at the hotel. Some have windows that open, some don’t. We are always willing to try and help our guest with their concerns once you are on site. Providing occupancy permits, we can offer you a different room.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, it does help us improving.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#15 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing