We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation and improving breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Surrey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Needs renovation and improving breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Position excellent and looked o,.k. from outside. Room we had was large and rated "superior". Bathroom was dingy and dark and had signs of mold around bath and sink. Plumbing in bath was dire and water did not drain away quickly Did not complain as was only there for 2 days, any longer and I would have. Breakfast was disappointing for a full buffet and was not appetising. Also do not like the glass mugs, much prefer china, although, of course, that is a personal taste. Not sure, apart from position, would consider staying here again, as not very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I am sorry to see that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. I will personally pass on all of your concerns to our department heads. We do take comments like yours very seriously and we use it as a tool to improve our overall product. I will also take a look at the breakfast buffet for myself.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    350
    209
    99
    51
See reviews for
167
433
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The mount royal gave us a great rate on a double room, it was well proportioned and clean. One point only - there was not an opening window in the room which coupled with the air con made the air in the room rather dry!
Certainly didn't spoil our stay however, a great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadist_llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to see that you’ve enjoyed your visit with us. We do take great pride in our product and staff training, we always try to improve. It’s always nice to read such positive feedback.
I will pass on your comments to our staff.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is right on the main street of Banff, a very convenient location with free parking and free wifi, but that is where the good things finish. Room is average but clean. The rooms are stuffy and most with very small windows that cannot be opened. The noise from the water pipes is very loud, every time the shower or toilet is used in another room you know about it. When we stayed the air conditioning broke down at 3.30pm in the afternoon and was not fixed until 11am the next day, no note or message to guest from management explaining the fault and the estimated time it would be fixed. Mentioned to front desk and they were, yes we know about it, it's fixed now. Also the bed was made with the wrong sized sheet, it only just tucked in on either side but only one end of the bed could be tucked in so either a lose sheet at the head or toes. It wasn't pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms along the front street have larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Pepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for your comments in regards to your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

Our location is for sure unbeatable, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are one of only a handful of hotels in Banff that do not charge for parking, it’s complementary for all guests. I will pass on your concerns to the appropriate department head. We do have several room categories at the hotel. Some have windows that open, some don’t. We are always willing to try and help our guest with their concerns once you are on site. Providing occupancy permits, we can offer you a different room.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, it does help us improving.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have been visiting the Mount Royal Hotel for several years now (not by choice - I travel as part of a group) and this is by far the worst room I have had.

The king size bed was very saggy and neither my partner nor I slept well. We were at the end of the corridor (Room 247) and had almost no natural light as the room had a tiny window which looked out over what appeared to be the AC system. Added to this was what sounded like a clog dancer in the room above who was up and about by 5am, and a tiny, scruffy bathroom with thin, rough towels and you get the picture.

I appreciate that this is an old hotel - a fact that the owners are very proud of - but in this day and age a decent level of light, soundproofing and maintenance should be the least that a traveller can expect, even in the expensive location of Banff.

The staff are pleasant and helpful and the hotel is in a great location, but given the choice I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are protected from street noise, but not that of your neighbours stamping around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

You are correct in saying that we are very proud of the heritage of the hotel, also we do take great pride in providing outstanding customer service. It’s nice to read that you thought our staff was very pleasant. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your room. If possible we are always happy to provide guest with a room move. I will pass on your concerns to the appropriate departments regarding the bed and the A/C unit in the room.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great location, but doesn't matter much when you don't get much sleep. Because it's such an old building, there's no soundproofing, and there are big gaps under the doors. So you can hear everyone walking by, every elevator, every footstep above or below. The beds were too firm for me (unless you like firm beds). But the jacuzzi and sauna were very nice. There are tons of places on the same street - I'd look at those first.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room at the end of the hall where it might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheytull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are right in the middle of town and at times, depending on the location of your room it can get a little noisy. We are an historic hotel, having said that, we do try to improve our product every year. We have done so this year, new flat screen TV, new bed accent , etc.. I’m glad you took the time to go enjoy the Jacuzzi area.

Once again, thank-you for your comments.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

canada,calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in AUgust. We have stayed before, and came back mainly because of the location. It is right in the center of town. The hotel itself is interesting, because of its history, however needs an update. Our room had poor light, and non working electrical outlets. The bathrooms are small, and the showers are not good. The plus side, are the beds, they are super comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. I am not sur eif I would stay again, mainly because the rooms are small and need some work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ediejeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

You are correct in saying that we are a big part of Banff’s history, we are the second oldest hotel in town. We do try to improve our product yearly, for example, we now have flat screen TV in all of our rooms along with white bedding and red accent. I’m glad you like our beds, we do get a lot of positive feedback on them. You said that our staff were friendly, I’m glad to hear this because staff training is one of our primary goal at the hotel.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we sincerely hope to see you again.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The location is good, but if you prefer quiet nights, go 1 block over, as this place is a couple doors down from a night club full of teens...
The A/C did not work.
We had no view (looking over the center of building so you're looking into other rooms)
There was no fridge nor microwave which was dissapointing.
BUT, we enjoyed our stay in Banff very much, which made up for what was missing in the room.

Room Tip: ask for an updated room, and one with a view/fridge/microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealkristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to read that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. We do have some rooms with fridges in them, we do try to honor every requests that we received, but at times, it is challenging due to the limited amount of rooms with fridges. Unfortunately, we do not have microwave in our rooms. It is something that we are looking at. As for the A/C not working, I take this very seriously, our maintenance department is going to ensure that all of guest rooms A/C is working at peak efficiency.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we sincerely hope to see you again.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing