We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Conveniently located on central part of Banff Avenue which makes it extremely noisy at night when the bars shut down. Tired hotel..with chipped paint , stained carpets and plugs that don't have three prongs. There was a power bar in our room that we had to move around in order to accommodate our cell phone chargers et al.
The hotel description offered room service - which they did not. Also - the Tony Romas menu in the room booklet was out of date as we tried to order a particular item for pick up and it was no longer served.
The water pressure in the the shower was fantastic, but will not make for a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisalooCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel.

You would be happy to know that we are in the process of upgrading our room, we now have white beds in all of our guest rooms and as of next week we will now have flat screen TV in all of our rooms as well. I’m sorry about the noise from the street, we are always happy to give you a different room if our occupancy permits. We do have room service in the hotel from the Paddock pub, Tony Romas does not do room service, we will try to makes this clearer in the future.

Once again, thank-you for your comments

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
209
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Was nice and central to everything.. Food was a little average in the pub style location

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendonhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I’m please to see that you’ve enjoy your stay while you were here, our location is for sure perfect for shopping and eating out, very convenient indeed. Next time you are at the hotel, please make sure to try both restaurants, the Paddock and Tony Romas

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again,

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, UK
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This was the second hotel in our tour of Canada and you can't beat it for it's location. Right in the heart of Banff! There was nothing wrong with our room, it had free wireless, a comfortable bed, fixtures and fittings all seemed fine and we were at the back of the hotel overlooking the mountains.

We didn't eat in the hotel but the bar was comfortable and friendly - if you want somewhere comfortable with a fantastic location then this is for you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoF-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank-you for sending us your feedback regarding your recent at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I’m truly happy to see that you had such a good experience here at the hotel. Our location is for sure one of our biggest asset, walking distance from pretty much all shops and restaurants. I’m glad you’ve enjoy the fantastic views that our hotel as to offer. We take great pride in maintaining an up to date product, we always try to improve our rooms and services as well.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you in a near future

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, N Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed here as final hotel in a tour of vancouver and rockies. Room was a pokey space at the back of the hotel. Looked out of net curtains to se the view!!!! which turned out to be two brick walls and a window opposite. After staying in 5 lovely hotels en route from Vancouver this was a big let down. There was alot of noise on our last night at the back and the police were called after a number of complaints from guests. People were running around the corridors at 2.30am and we were hoping for a good nights sleep prior to a 9hour flight back to london. Guests in the front of the hotel also endured noise at the front -ok I know it isnt the hotels fault that the holiday weekend yobs were out in force. Front office staff extremely unfriendly. BEST MEMBER OF STAFF the lovely guy in charge of the breakfasts - he was friendly and chatty. I'm recommending tha our tour company Titan move to another hotel, even if you have a 5 minute walk to the centre of shops.

Room Tip: What best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to right a revue regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel. We truly appreciate it and we do use comments like yours as a tool to improve.

I was very disappointed to see that your visit was not fully to your liking. We are right down town, minutes away from all the shops and restaurants but unfortunately, at time, it can get a little noisy outside the hotel at night. We are always happy to provide our guests with a different room providing that our occupancy permits us to do so. We do understand the need for a good night sleep, especially the day before flying home. I will personally pass on your nice comments to your breakfast server.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and I truly hope to see next year.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Seriously... Dont do it....
It is terrible and the staff are rude!
We were given a TINY room with a view of the roof. We had to switch rooms.
It is old and dirty and just not plesant at all.
The location is amazing. you are right in the middle of all of the night life and shops.
If it was only $80.00 a night to stay there it would be worth it. But $150.00 is way to much to pay for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmtrees94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to read that you did not have a pleasant stay. We do take great pride in insuring that all of our guest needs are met at all times. We have different room category, some rooms are smaller than others just like most hotels in Banff and price do vary depending on how a guest makes his or her booking.

Once again, we do apologize if your stay did not meet your expectation and hope that you will try the hotel one more time

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

On the front desk is a electronic brochure with very attractive refurbished looking rooms. It seems that many of the rooms are in need of refurbishment and small by Canadian standards. There is a charge for local and free 0800 numbers. This is in the centre of town and therefore in a noisy location and does attract noisy guests. The outlook of some rooms is poor but they are quiet as not facing the main street.

Room Tip: you will have to pay extrafor superior and up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theairtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Good morning and thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit here at the hotel,

I was sorry to see that your experience was not to your liking. In regards to the phone charge, we do charge for all outgoing calls, this practice is quite common in most of Banff hotels. We try to upgrade our room décor as often as possible. For example, we now have white bedding in all of our rooms now, and we will have flat screen TV in all of our rooms in the next couple of months. Like most hotels in Banff, some rooms are quieter then others. We are quite happy to room move you if the room is not to your liking.

Once again thank-you for your feedback

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our room was hot and stuffy with no way to cool it down. Were told by staff that air conditioning had not been turned on yet. Since we were unable to open a window we asked to be moved to a room that had windows we could open. We were relocated to a room above the back entrance and even though we could open a window to cool the room down, we had to endure the noise of diesel buses idling bellow us and noise of people coming and going. Didn't sleep very well because of all that. On the upside the hotel is conveniently located on Banff ave, and is reasonably priced. Would not stay there again however due to not being able to control the temperature of the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Good morning and thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay her at the hotel. In regards to the heating issue you’ve experience, we are in the process of rectifying the problem. We are an historic hotel and we do face challenges like this one from time to time. We are always doing everything possible to make sure that our guest are comfortable at all times.
I would hope that you would consider giving us another chance in the future.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 33 in Banff
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing