We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the money we spent”
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our first night in Banff and have to say the place was okay for the money we spent. It works very well , if you are arriving late at night and leaving early next day . The room is large and clean and they have hot water .Washroom is clean and works well . Very Basic but perfect if you are only spending the night .

You can stay in canmore for the same price at the better hotel !

Room Tip: get a room close to elevator with Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starbucksnhighheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Location of this property is on the edge of Banff, and parking is a little difficult to find if you show up late on a weekend. My friend did the check-in and said the front desk clerk wasn't really friendly or explained what the Inn had to offer. Security of the property is lacking as all the doors from the parking lot into the building didn't have any locks or seem to require any keys. The halls of the Inn are very outdated, smelled like pot. Definitely a party vibe, lots of younger people (and we're in our mid 20's). The room itself was gorgeous and spacious. No A/C option which is strange (we stayed in winter). The outdoor pool I'm sure is a great feature however Saturday night it was a gong show and I can't deal with loud people after a full day of skiing. Comfort level in the room was really high - can't say enough about the room. We didn't have the mountain view, we had the view of the wing next to us.

The Inn is a big place, very confusing to navigate. I think the signs in the halls could be updated, make it easier. A bonus was the ski rental shop in the Inn. Fast, friendly, easy. Hit this place up before you head to the slopes. I paid $45 for skis, boots, poles and was the only one in there at the time on Saturday morning.

Word of advice. Bring ear plugs. You'll need it because people like to have fun when you're trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

For $209 all in for 2 nights you cant beat the price. I understand not all the rooms are renovated but we stayed in a renovated room with no view and it had all we needed. The beds were nice and the rooms were clean. Its true that you can hear everything in the hallway but we had no noise issues. The roof top hot tub was great for an evening soak. Its about a 25 min walk to downtown and the front desk will give you free transit passes if you ask for them. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YukonSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We initially were in a room in the swiss village. I would not recommend this part of the hotel at all. There were kids running around the hallway and almost had that "camp" feel. We asked for a different room and moved into the main building which had roomy clean rooms. The only complaint we had is that there is very little sound proofing between rooms or the hallway. We could hear every conversation clearly that was in the hallway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDS686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Good: Room was spacious, liked the Rocky Mt. Soap Company Soap, Roof Top Pool was awesome in the snowstorm the first night, parking was ample, room was in nice shape. bedding was good(not the pillows). We stayed in a $99/room/night two queen bed setup with a mountain view (which we paid an extra $15 for). They gave us free bus passes for the 2 mile ride downtown and back since this hotel is on the farthest end of banff you can be from downtown.

The Bad: Check in and Check out took almost 30 minutes each...ridiculous! Only other bad was on our second day we went to use the hot pool again at 10:00 a.m. and there was a chick#$%% sign on the locked door saying it would be open at 2:00 p.m. because of pool maintenance. No apologies from anyone for that, or coupons for something off for our next visit, makes me not sure I would come back. Also the pillows are like 12" thick.

The Essential: Pay the extra $15 and get the mt. view in B building...you will get a good view and be close to the Rooftop Hot Pool. I hope you are good at map reading as this hotel will test you.

Room Tip: choose b building and a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainMan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was in banff for new years eve with a group of friends. we all booked online, but at different times. i ended up in swiss village, which is outdated and party central. it was smokey, loud and our room was in terrible condition. we payed for an upgrade so we could be closer to our friends. it was only $20, so i thought that was great. we got to the room and it looked like a meeting room... we had a murphy bed, the kind that folds up into the wall. our 1X1 foot window was frosted and looked into our neighbors balcony.there was a tiny table and 2 chairs in the far corner of the room, but other than that, there was a huge space with no furniture. it was cold and had no decorations. iv never stayed in a hotel room that was so unwelcoming. all of my friends had nice rooms with normal queen sized beds and balconies. i didnt need a view, but anything would have been better than the 20-something-party kids that stayed next to us.over all, i was not happy with this hotel. banff is beautiful and my friends made it a great experience, but i wouldnt reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently took a trip to Banff and stayed overnight at Inns Of Banff. We are a young couple in our thirties who wanted to explore the village and the mountains (stunning!!! Would highly recommend the gondola ride on Sulphur Mountain), while keeping budget in mind. I researched a few hotels in advance and, though somewhat concerned by some of the TripAdvisor reviews, decided to book Inns Of Banff on Priceline.com. I'm glad I did, because it was just what we were looking for. If you're like us - low maintenance, not planning to spend too much time in your room, looking to spend around $85 on hotel with a comfy bed and a lodge-style, basic decor, Inns Of Banff is a great option. It's a little further away from the main strip, but the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus passes which worked out great for us (bus comes every 45 minutes) and stops right across the street from the hotel. Front desk staff was friendly and courteous. There was a slight delay as they couldn't find our Priceline reservation in their system (p.s. turns out the Priceline price was the same as the walk-up rate), but they quickly took care of the situation and upgraded us to a room with a Queen bed. A great option for a no-frills, comfortable overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryG231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
811 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 34 in Banff
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $71 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing