We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

For $209 all in for 2 nights you cant beat the price. I understand not all the rooms are renovated but we stayed in a renovated room with no view and it had all we needed. The beds were nice and the rooms were clean. Its true that you can hear everything in the hallway but we had no noise issues. The roof top hot tub was great for an evening soak. Its about a 25 min walk to downtown and the front desk will give you free transit passes if you ask for them. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YukonSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    309
    311
    197
    146
See reviews for
309
401
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We initially were in a room in the swiss village. I would not recommend this part of the hotel at all. There were kids running around the hallway and almost had that "camp" feel. We asked for a different room and moved into the main building which had roomy clean rooms. The only complaint we had is that there is very little sound proofing between rooms or the hallway. We could hear every conversation clearly that was in the hallway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDS686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Good: Room was spacious, liked the Rocky Mt. Soap Company Soap, Roof Top Pool was awesome in the snowstorm the first night, parking was ample, room was in nice shape. bedding was good(not the pillows). We stayed in a $99/room/night two queen bed setup with a mountain view (which we paid an extra $15 for). They gave us free bus passes for the 2 mile ride downtown and back since this hotel is on the farthest end of banff you can be from downtown.

The Bad: Check in and Check out took almost 30 minutes each...ridiculous! Only other bad was on our second day we went to use the hot pool again at 10:00 a.m. and there was a chick#$%% sign on the locked door saying it would be open at 2:00 p.m. because of pool maintenance. No apologies from anyone for that, or coupons for something off for our next visit, makes me not sure I would come back. Also the pillows are like 12" thick.

The Essential: Pay the extra $15 and get the mt. view in B building...you will get a good view and be close to the Rooftop Hot Pool. I hope you are good at map reading as this hotel will test you.

Room Tip: choose b building and a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was in banff for new years eve with a group of friends. we all booked online, but at different times. i ended up in swiss village, which is outdated and party central. it was smokey, loud and our room was in terrible condition. we payed for an upgrade so we could be closer to our friends. it was only $20, so i thought that was great. we got to the room and it looked like a meeting room... we had a murphy bed, the kind that folds up into the wall. our 1X1 foot window was frosted and looked into our neighbors balcony.there was a tiny table and 2 chairs in the far corner of the room, but other than that, there was a huge space with no furniture. it was cold and had no decorations. iv never stayed in a hotel room that was so unwelcoming. all of my friends had nice rooms with normal queen sized beds and balconies. i didnt need a view, but anything would have been better than the 20-something-party kids that stayed next to us.over all, i was not happy with this hotel. banff is beautiful and my friends made it a great experience, but i wouldnt reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently took a trip to Banff and stayed overnight at Inns Of Banff. We are a young couple in our thirties who wanted to explore the village and the mountains (stunning!!! Would highly recommend the gondola ride on Sulphur Mountain), while keeping budget in mind. I researched a few hotels in advance and, though somewhat concerned by some of the TripAdvisor reviews, decided to book Inns Of Banff on Priceline.com. I'm glad I did, because it was just what we were looking for. If you're like us - low maintenance, not planning to spend too much time in your room, looking to spend around $85 on hotel with a comfy bed and a lodge-style, basic decor, Inns Of Banff is a great option. It's a little further away from the main strip, but the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus passes which worked out great for us (bus comes every 45 minutes) and stops right across the street from the hotel. Front desk staff was friendly and courteous. There was a slight delay as they couldn't find our Priceline reservation in their system (p.s. turns out the Priceline price was the same as the walk-up rate), but they quickly took care of the situation and upgraded us to a room with a Queen bed. A great option for a no-frills, comfortable overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryG231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANFF, ALBERTA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Took another trip to Banff, and was pleasantly surprised to see new carpet in the Hallways, and rooms Renovated.

I like the Inn's of Banff, because of the Outdoor Rooftop Pool, The Bears den Pub,which feature Live music on the weekends, and the staff who are amazing, and Occasionally The Miki's Japanese Restaurant featuring Sushi.

This Is a great place for Families, Friends or even Couples getaway

The Ski Shuttles pick up at hotel and take to hill, are great $15.00 return per person, someone else does the driving while you enjoy a beer after a great day of skiing.

Thank-you for a pleasant experience and hope to visit again after the new years.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade to A mountain view room is available, Preferably B Building as this is where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MR-COOL-BEANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure whether I should be disappointed with the Inns of Banff or with Hotwire. We booked this as one of Hotwire's Hot Rates so didn't know which hotel we were getting until after paying. The advertisement said we would be getting up to 78% off our room rate. But when we arrived we were stuck in the Inn's budget accommodation. We paid $120 on Hotwire for a room that normally costs $130 - certainly didn't save 78%. The room was freezing cold when we got in, the bathroom door wouldn't shut properly or lock. The shower curtain smelled like old, wet laundry, the pipes we're incredibly loud and the hallways smelled of stale cigarettes. We were traveling with our 3 and 5 year old and there was a lot of noise in the hallways, had to sleep with the fan on to drown it out. We had to walk outside to access the pool which wasn't ideal with young kids in -30 degrees. I wouldn't book with this hotel again and will be careful of Hotwire's deals.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkyShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You have not indicated if you brought your concerns to us during your stay as we can usually resolve these issues and as such avoid disappointments. Temperatures close to minus 40 present all kinds of problems but heating systems but our boilers were able to keep up although some minor adjustments were required in a few rooms. Swiss Village is our budget accommodation and the rates reflect this. We do offer fully renovated rooms in our Inns of Banff buildings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Property: Inns Of Banff
Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing