We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Over priced for what you get.
Rooms were dirty and in need of repair.
We asked to be moved to cleaner room when we first arrived which they accommodated but the second room assigned to us was not any better.
My son and his wife also had a room which was in same condition.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kashkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    292
    289
    186
    130
See reviews for
284
377
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary,Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

They charge me twice for my room and made me call back a few times supposely because of technical problems and also made me wait on the line for a long period. The room was freshly paint and had a nasty odor. the bathroom was also not too clean with paint all over the floor.

Room Tip: mountain view near outside hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valetben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went up for one night and stayed in a standard room. The staff were friendly but the room was much to be desired. The fact that we were charged $130 to stay in the room we were in was ridiculous. The carpet had stains all over. The bed was like sleeping on a pile of cardboard and newspapers. The bathrooms were completely outdated. There was no fridge in the room. The worst part of all was the paper thin walls. We were awoken numerous times throughout the night. You can hear every single person walking in the hallway and people talking in the rooms surrounding you. Sleeping in the car would be an upgrade. To top it all off, there is no complimentary breakfast. We won't be back. We've stayed in a couple of the other Banff hotels and they were great.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvl-isgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about the friendly staff. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our Swiss Village units. Swiss Village provides standard rooms and offers budget minded guests great pricing options. The main buildings at the Inns of Banff have just been renovated. The upgrades include new carpet, mattresses, soft seating, bed coverings, and 40 inch flat screen televisions. Our large outdoor hot pool is also in the Inns of Banff side of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel suits for those who want a decent, clean place to stay. The outdoor hot tub on the rooftop with a beautiful view of the mountains makes this hotel worth it.
The walk to town takes about 15 minutes, but there is a free shuttle if preferred.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sceneryseeker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a hockey tournament. Prior to arrival my expectations were quite low due to the age and reviews on the property. I was pleasantly surprised.

This is an older, basic, simple type motel, but it is really unique in a good way and the rooms are very large and clean. Our room with 2 queen beds was fairly outdated, but they are starting to renovate the rooms. It was larger than newer hotels and certainly served its purpose. We had the superior room with mountain view and there was a great view from the outdoor balcony. We were planning to bring our dog so upon reservation I was told I had to upgrade to this higher room category as only certain rooms allow pets. I found this a bit silly that in order to have a dog in my room I had to book a 'nicer' room, maybe would make more sense to only allow pets in the basic room category? As well, on top of paying extra for the mountain view there is also a $25/night pet charge. This is pretty steep, they are pet friendly, but it costs you approx. $40 extra per night after the mandatory upgrade and pet fee. In their favor I will say that the 'Pet Pack' waiting in your room on arrival was a nice touch.

The Hotel is laid out in 3 buildings, A, B and C and they are connected by interior ped-ways. It is built into a hill so there is a lot of up and down stairs making your way between buildings, this added to the unique charm of the place. It was pretty confusing trying to find the swimming pools and lobby area from C building, but we found it quite fun. There is a very small indoor pool and hot tub and then an oversize hot tub outside on the top of B building. This outdoor pool is not to be missed, fantastic mountain views and kept nice and hot, very neat!

We ate once in the café and also downstairs in the Pub, both were excellent. They had live music on Sat Night that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The prices here make it a good choice in Banff on a budget (as long as you don't bring a pet!). It is located far down the main street from the shops, but still walkable if you are mobile. I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue phone hotel directly to book as there are a lot of stairs and walking at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momtravelswith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent two nights here as part of our ten day tour of the Canadian Rockies.

we arrived after dark and were initially a bit overcome by the sprawling nature of the place. It seemed to be endless soulless corridors and ugly concrete buildings. However, once we got into our room any doubts vanished. It was clean, very large and equipped with everything we needed including a fridge and microwave.

All the staff were, without exception friendly and helpful.

The location is about ten minutes walk away from the main shopping area in Banff which meant that it is quiet. We had no complaints about it at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room was OK - amenities were also OK - Restaurant was excellant. We tried for a room with 2 queens were told ther was none available but they could upgrade us to a King with a pullout at an extra cost of $20.00 a night and this would include a microwave. To me this was not an upgade and microwaves should be a standard feature in every room!!. Also the TV is substandard very poor picture quality. Did not mind staying here but these minor inconviences did not sit well with me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have recently upgraded our televisions to 40 inch Samsung flat screens so I am confident this was not an actual TV issue. We are in the final stages of converting our cable packages to digital. This combination should provide quality viewing experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Property: Inns Of Banff
Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing