We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst customer service in Banff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst customer service in Banff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel was average it was out dated unfortunately and very confusing trying to find pools and parking etc. However the customer service was the worst I've ever experienced. The one ice machine in the whole hotel was broken and when I went down to the lobby to get ice they seemed very annoyed and sent me to the restaurant to get ice it seemed like they didnt want to help me. Aswell when we ate in the restaurant the food was mediocre but our server again was lazy when i asked for a refill of water she pointed me to the buffet so i could go fill it myself. It was quite annoying. Also one of my friends got to the hotel later then us and the front desk wouldnt let her upstairs without a key, he wouldnt even take her up to the room to prove she knew us he just asked her to leave and luckily she knew people staying at a different resort. It was an okay experience they just need new staff.

Room Tip: try and get a view facing the front of the hotel, the best part is the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
One of the five ice machines in the hotel required servicing. It has been repaired.
Non registered guests are welcome in the hotel until 11pm. If your guests arrived before this time, we would not prevent them from going to your room but for security reasons we would never give out a room number or let not registered guests into your room without approval.
I agree completely, that the front desk should have furbished you with ice and the server should have refilled your water. I will follow up on these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    300
    295
    189
    138
See reviews for
293
389
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, and our stay overall was very enjoyable. The only negative was that the screen door to our patio was broken, making it a bit difficult to get out. We had a great mountain view, and a nice, clean room - nothing fancy, but certainly pleasant and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hot pool was very nice - fabulous view - I'm sure will be even nicer when it is colder out. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

After a long 12 hour drive, we spent 20 minutes at the hotel trying to find a parking spot. Not fun and the desk clerk was not sympathetic. We had to park near the street and hike our bags up a hill. Clean but depressing rooms. Weird, rubbery sheets. Won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of your room.
The September long weekend brought lots of regional traffic to the hotel and regional traffic tends to put more pressure on the parking facilities then tours who come in buses. As you suggest, we do not have unlimited space but I am confident this occurrence is isolated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
348 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hi we were here july 2013, we only stayed one night as we were passing through. the hotel its self was pretty good, though we did not eat here. The pool was small but adequate and the rooftop pool( big hot tub) would be great in winter.

The hotel is a bit out from the town center (20-30min walk) it has a liquor store across the street.
The rooms were very good (view was not to great).

I recon It would be quite good here in winter for skiing especially with the pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: the first block next to the road has the views the third block at the back is close to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_Toulose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Yes, the roof top pool is great in the winter. Door to door ski bus pickup, an on site ski rental shop, free Wi-Fi, and live entertainment in our cozy Bears Den Pub are just a few of the amenities that make the Inns of Banff a great winter choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean and had an amazing view from the balcony! It is the first hotel on the main road (furthest away from everything) had to drive alot of places due to distance.. This hotel is very large with multiple buildings. This hotel was good and I would recommend it to others, personally if I find myself back on banff I will try and get a hotel closer to downtown

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are a 15 minute walk to the downtown area but guests of the Inns of Banff are welcome to use our complimentary bus service. Passes are available 24 hours at our front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good hotel where the ski bus stops first so no waiting if busy.. 15 min walk to town is enjoyable and not too cold if you wrap up. Never eaten here as the keg was our favourite. Bumpers over road also good. Can keep skis in room as they don't seem too fussed also nice toiletries. Bit dated but your here for the snow right.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouzoherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are looking forward to another exciting ski season. Ski buses for all the hills pick up and drop off right at the front door of the hotel. The hotel also has a ski rental shop right in our lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is very easy to find as it is one of the first you encounter when arriving in Banff. It is about a 15 minute walk from downtown, which doesn't seem like much until you've been out hiking all day.

It is an acceptable hotel and not super expensive. I had two main complaints about the hotel. The first is that I have never stayed in a hotel with such thin floors/ceilings. My ceiling creaked every single time the person in the room above me took a step. It made it very difficult to sleep; I ended up going out and buying ear plugs. The other difficulty for me was that the room was extremely dry. The heating is base board heating and there is no ac. Each night I would have to get up 4-5 times to drink a glass of water as my throat would be painfully dry.

If I were going to Banff again I'd probably rather spend an extra $20 a night and get something a little closer to downtown with nicer rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
The Swiss Village complex where your room was located is our lowest price point. The rooms in the Inns of Banff building are slightly more expensive but are also an upgraded product. We also offer completely renovated condo units some with spectacular views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Property: Inns Of Banff
Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub along with an outdoor hot pool, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing