We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I'm not sure what the other reviewers are complaining about. This was a well maintained, clean establishment with really comfy beds. Obviously the other reviewers must have just had bad luck with the room or maybe haven't ever stumbled upon a true "dive".

We were driving back from BC and simply looking for an affordable place to spend the night. After viewing the pictures on the hotel website, I reluctantly booked us in. However, when we arrived, the actual rooms looked nothing like the dingy pictures on the web.

Our room was huge! (perfect when you are packing along 3 kids-like us! Lol) Everything was clean and well-maintained.; The tv was a decent sized flat screen;The beds were super comfy and the kids loved the pools.

Only thing to keep in mind, this is not withing walking distance of the shops. And there is no A/C.

We loved it and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms near the back of the property. There is nothing but forest behind the hote...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillybean238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. Yes our rooms in the Inns of Banff complex are huge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
There are newer reviews for Inns Of Banff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked last minute and what we thought was a decent property was not. The property is very old and has not been kept up. The room while it looked clean was not - the sheets were clean, but both beds had hair in them. If it wasn't for it being tough to find a property in town, we would not have stayed.

The service was poor as well. When we asked for some towels at the pool they said some would be delivered right away, we were in the pool for about an hour and no towels were delivered nor did they explain why. On checking out - you got the feeling that they are used to complaints, all they said was "here the managers card - you can call him"

Find another property to stay at - this place is a waste of money

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GF37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was awfull, they really need to start renovating over there. The lobby smelled like the swimmingpool, which is located behind the lobby. Our room was next to the stairs and very noisy! The bathroom was done, again here the shower came as high as our shoulder.
It's in the mainstreet but completely at the end. We did some laundry there, but the machines were full and there was nobody there. We needed change for the machines, but the building is right at the topend, so it was a long walk to the reception and than back up the hill again. Who came up with that!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marylou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent one night there. had a pet friendly room. Pet pillow was filthy. Carpet in hall way looked like they have not been vacuumed for quite some time. Fire doors are missing. outside security doors do not lock. Restaurant staff was very friendly and food was good. How ever when we went to look at the Japanese restaurant we notice the man cutting fish for sushi cut his finger, he kept right on cutting. The place is in dire need of an upgrade. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dissapointed147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Needed a pet friendly hotel for our visit, and this was one of few available. Had to call the front desk when we checked in as our pet supplies we paid an extra $25/night weren't there (dog dishes & a bed).

There is no air-conditioning in these rooms, you are in the mountains so it does get cool at night, and there are patio doors to open. But be prepaired to listen to the magpies at 5am and come back to a warm room after a day in the sun.

Stayed in C building farthest from the desk, so a trip to the pool left you feeling a bit like a mouse in a maze, lots of stairs, hallways and hidden corridors, walk outside it's easier and faster...

Room wasn't the cleanest, and the hotel does get a lot of use so it is a little warn. Had to call maintenance to fix a plugged toilet they did respond right away.

Downtown is a bit of a walk as this hotel is pretty much at the outskirts of downtown, so if you have had a long day of hiking it does leave you wishing you were a little closer to downtown.

Oh and for the adults the lounge is closes weekdays during the off season (summer) so you will be walking downtown if you want a drink to relax after supper....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alberta-Hotrodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. There was a leak in the roof that dripped onto the carpet. The shower curtain was dirty and needed to be replaced. Had to ask for clean sheets after a few days. The gift shop catered to a very specific clintele and only opened when the tour busses arrived

The Keg resturant down the street was great Great steak.

Hotel is dirty and needs upgrades. At least wash the windows and the glass doors same stains after 5 days

Room Tip: Make sure the shower curtain is clean. Pick a place with AC it was hot.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryandDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
As you recall I did speak to you personally after your first night's stay and offered to move you to another room. The housekeeping history of your stay also indicates that you chose to take advantage of our "Go Green" program. This is a conservation program that offers guests a certificate for discounts in our restaurants if they decline housekeeping services. As such the reduction in housekeeping services that you indentified was at your request.
I also see that you chose to extend your stay to include a fifth night.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Keg restaurant which is at our sister hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My cousin, his wife, my wife and myself came here to stay one night. The rooms were clean and had everything you would expect at a hotel. The location is great. There is a pool but we never used it. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#28 of 33 in Banff
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $77 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing