We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inns Of Banff
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Inn(Banff)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveler rating
143
352
382
237
184
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
352
382
237
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbears den puboutdoor hot tubbus passsuperior roomfree busmain partbanff avenuethe main streetcoffee makermountainsskiingpassesroamskiersrockiessnowkeg
Filter
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We didnt expect a 5 star hotel, but this place was pretty bad. If you end up in the swiss village you will have a BAD time. The least soundproof hotel we have stayed at , you could hear EVERYTHING ALL NIGHT LONG, even just people coming and going down the halls sound carried like crazy. Hotel room itself was dirty , doesn't seem like they vacuum or dust , pieces were missing out of flooring in bathroom, crumbs on the coffee tray etc. Beds were very hard and small. Dated/smelly / no elevator. Atleast the linens seemed clean .The rooftop hottub was the best part but they have a security gaurd sitting there , can't even bring a bottle of water in! They also had a security camera mounted as well as another security gaurd looking down from above occasionally, they must have had problems in the past. The indoor pool was cold and floor was gross / dirty. Staff were courteus. Parking is an issue if you dont fit underground. Wont be back. Spend the extra $20 and go elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A long standing hotel in very busy Banff. Great value, good service nice location. If you want a four star resort then spend the money and stay uptown, this place is moderately priced, and yes it is a very large older property with a great variety of rooms to suit everyone. The restaurants are great, the rooftop pool is a nice treat with the indoor pool for families. Great place...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife pick this on on Expedia and it turned out to be a bit of a dud...KABOOM..Yes the place is cheap but if all you are going to do is sleep then this is your place ..
Let me say if you stay in any of these rooms make sure your on the top floor away from any staircase or you book at the end of the hall way. Unfortunately we ended up staying on the first floor of the Swiss Village and right next to the thunderous staircase.. This hotel could really use a face lift .
We tried to get into the bear den restaurant on site but it was'nt quite open at the time so we mozzied down the street (Thank GOD) .. after dinner almost 10pm we decided to give the Bears den another go for a pint of beer before we retreated to our semi Luxurious room.. and low and behold the restaurant she was close..(nice touch for those who want a late night drink or to watch a game while there partners or thired friends sleep) CLOSED @ 10pm...
Any way the best thing this place has going for it is the roof top Hot pool with an amazing view of the mountains.. very worth while.... the beds are comfy and the rooms are warm so if your on a budget or just a place to leave your stuff then this is for you..
Not my cup of tea sorry, I work to hard to be disturbed when i want to sleep..

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors and away from staicases ..rooms not the quietest
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiumes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Swiss Village rooms are one of several accommodation options at the Inns of Banff. As this guest has pointed out, Swiss Village is the most affordable option but still provides guests with access to all the hotel amenities including the magnificent outdoor hot pool. The main building rooms offer a different experience, many with great views of Cascade Mountain. The hotel also features recently renovated 3 and 4 bedroom condos with full kitchens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited here for the first time. We arrived at our room, it had a musty smell and the ceiling had flaky paint . The next room we had was slightly better. We did have a nice view. Bathroom needs a revamp, needs new towels and the whole room needs a paint. Not sure if their hoover works properly and it didn't looked like they dusted either. We went down for breakfast. No milk and sugar on the table and when asked if everything was okay, I said the coffee tasted quite strong, the waitress took both mugs of coffee away and she didn't even ask my husband if everything was okay with his, and when he let her know that his was fine, she was very defensive and no apology and didn't offer an alternative. The buffet items were not hot and were over cooked. Service wasn't there. The receptionists were polite, however some of them don't know the times of when things open in the hotel. Our toilet was blocked and overflowed onto tiles and carpet, the handy man did come quickly to sort his out.
Instead of being in the way of the mess we decided to go to the hot tub outside, really needs a good clean, in the shower there was hair left lying and no water fountain to keep you hydrated. The changing room was small.
When we came back to the room, the towels that we put on the floor to soak up the water from the toilet were still there, the housemaid had given us new towels and toilet paper and cleaned our room, but didn't pick up the towels, so we phoned reception, the head housekeeper apologized and I commented it was inexcusable. Give them their due they did clean the floor and the carpet.
In my opinion they need to set some standards and keep them there, I can understand there are lots of people who work there temporarily, however we paid $120.00 for our room and breakfast was not included. The complimentary bus was great, so we didn't have to drive.
We have stayed in many hotels in the world and with Banff being a tourist place, I would have thought the standards would have been higher. When paying the bill the receptionist never asked us how our stay was. Won't be going there again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your detailed comments.
You are absolutely correct that the little things are integral in providing quality guest experiences. I will certainly use your review as a coaching guide to tweak some of the service shortfalls.
I am pleased that you did enjoy the wonderful views that our rooms offer and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary bus service that our company provides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here with a large group and with my family last summer. Front desk people were polite and check in was easy. We had a perfect view from our hotel room of cascade mountain. Rooms were older but clean. They are starting to renovate this hotel soon!! The cleaning staff at the hotel would always stop what they were doing and acknowledge us each time we met in the hallways. I thought that was very classy. The hotel pool in my opinion is the nicest view from a pool in Banff. There is a nice gift shop in this hotel as well that has items a lot less expensive than downtown banff. If you decide to take the banff transit, the bus stops right in front of the hotel and is less than a five minute ride to get downtown. Food was great at the Wildfire Grill at the hotel. I will stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saskratchurass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews