We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent for the price but need more cleaning”
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“decent for the price but need more cleaning”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

we stayed for two nights and felt the hotel overall was in good shape and clean our room wasnt. The room really needed to be wiped down better around the sink and floor tile part needed to be cleaned as I could see shoe prints. It was worn a bit but over all not bad. Like I said the rest of the hotel was clean and the the outdoor heated pool area was great after boarding to relax in and yo dont have to go outdoors to get to it. Price was good and service seemed good the little time we were there.

Room Tip: get a room near the outdoor pool so you can walk to the pool indoors on your floor down a hall buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    319
    328
    205
    155
See reviews for
324
414
47
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of 10 with ages ranging from 4 to 65 came for our first Xmas. I must admit we were a bit concerned after reading so many negative revues about the Executive Lodge prior to our arrival. Suffice to say our stay could not have been better. Sure the lodge is old and a bit tired,but for a large family group you couldn't wish for anything better. It is separate from the main building so the kids could make as much noise as they wanted without disturbing anyone. Finally the staff, a big thank you,there seemed to be nothing you couldn't do for us,if we asked,it was done then and there. Thank you for a memorable visit. Regards The Fussell and Lynes lot.

Room Tip: For large family groups the lodge isThe place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boofhead48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel was our last option since we booked last minute, therefore we had no choice but to book it and hope for the best. We were in the Swiss Village section, the rooms are very small and outdated, also the cleaning staff could have done better, there were streaks all over the counter in the washroom. That being said - it wasn't like it was dirty or anything- just done without care it seems. The bed was very comfortable and the front desk were very nice and allowed us to check in early , those are the only positive things I can say. I would not recommend nor stay here again as long as there were other options available.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Never have we ever been treated with such disrespect. The majority of the staff at the front desk were less than helpful, completely rude and degrading.
The parking is non existent and for the amount of money you pay to stay, it's horrible.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, and that's about the only positive experience of our stay.
There are much better hotels closer to down town, pass this one over and keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel and overall enjoyed our stay there. The rooms are simple yet comfortable. There is nothing fancy about the hotel but is clean, quiet and safe. The view from our room window was excellent with Cascade Mountain in the background. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, I believe is called Wildfire, and the food was good. The breakfast buffet is a good idea if you eat lots like me. It was only $14 and included eggs, potatoes, sausages and bacon, pancakes, etc. Overall a nice place to stay even with children. Pricewise, a good value hotel whenever you visit Banff. We paid $92 per night during Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask if possible for a room facing West. The view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'd like to start off by saying we travelled off-season, and paid $74/night (this was on the high end of our budget), so this might have been why we were thrilled.
The rooftop pool is equilivant to the "hot springs" in the rest of the town (aka - not actually hot springs, but just heated water in the pool). What a lovely surprise, and what a lovely view!! It was April, but we put on our swimsuits, and hopped in.
Our room was huge, the view was nice, and the staff was great. We didn't want to check out! However, if you're paying $300 for a king bed room with a view, consider bargin hunting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster Park, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at Inns of Banff for anniversary.

This is not a brand new shiny hotel. If that is what you are after then pay 300.00 a night and go to an expensive hotel, don't complain about a decently priced older hotel.

Our room was clean and spacious. It had 2 queen beds which we moved together, a large flat screen tv (husband only complained no PVR lol), balcony view was lovely and the deepest bathtub ever! Even beat my clawfoot at home. If I could come up with a complaint about the room it would be that the bathroom door would have been better swinging out than in (tight space in there) and the bedspreads were ugly (but who cares). We had a bottle of wine waiting for us so they looked better later ;)

Husband loooooved the bed...kept telling me it was nicer than the new mattress we bought 2 weeks ago....

The staff was friendly and we weren`t picky so we only really needed them to direct us to Tim`s or schedule a wakeup call.

In our case, the price was truly fantastic as we had a groupon. We paid 175.00 CDN for 2 nights and used our green coupons (if you don`t require maid service you put a sign on your door and get green coupons for restaurant - we used toward the room as it was mid week and restaurant wasn`t open as they were not busy enough) for 10.00 off the final bill - $165.00 for 2 nights!

We did not use the regular pool so I can`t comment on that but I will say that we spent as much time as possible in the outdoor hot pool. If we were at the hotel and awake, we were in it and it was awesome!

Would recommend to friends!

Room Tip: Upgrade to mountain view - it`s worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habsgirl102174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for the great review and comments on the beds. We have recently converted all of our mattresses to plush pillow tops. As you suggest the hotel hot pool with panoramic views is a wonderful way to finish the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.0 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 32 in Banff
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 32 in Banff
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Property: Inns Of Banff
Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing