We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$488
$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
$304
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
$353
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$548
$526
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$353
$342
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$397
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$390
$376
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$413
$396
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
116
251
79
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
251
79
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground parkingclose to downtownsmall balconycontinental breakfastpool and hot tubbanff avenuestreet noisegood sizewould stay againqueen roomshort walkstayed here for nightsthird floorrecommend staying hereconvenient locationthe main streetshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 477 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

First off, if you want to stay in Banff, you're going to have to pay for it. I think a lot less people would be upset review-wise if they realized Banff is a spendy tourist locale. Anyways, the High Country Inn is an older but very well maintained Hotel. The rooms were modernized and nice, new air conditioner that we ran constantly, and a cute little balcony for people watching and late night drinks/morning coffee. The deluxe continental breakfast was very good- waffles, french toast, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit--- and included. I love places with free breakfast. The location is right on Banff Ave... Banff's 'Strip' to downtown, everywhere is walkable, which is great, because driving (or parking, rather) in Banff is terrible.
Although we only stayed the one night, I would for sure give the High Country Inn another go. Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Hi Ashley

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay over the summer. We love taking care of our repeat guests so if you are coming to Banff over the winter please ask to speak to the Front Office Manager when making your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although it is rather pricy, staff is helpfull, good continental breakfast included, location is an easy walk to downtown. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Not much else you can ask for a hotel room in a resort town.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charles Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Location is convenient. Air conditioners were filthy and plugged. Ended up leaving @ 4am because both my child and I were so stuffed up do to the horrible dirt, dust, and circulation in both the room and "hotel" not to mention the broken Murphy bed , they should be embarrassed they took our $239 for the night. After the 2 hour drive home we could breathe again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Hi Jeff

I'm sorry to hear of the problems you had whilst staying with us. I can imagine it would be a very difficult decision to move you and your child at 4 AM in the morning. I would like the chance to provide you with a more enjoyable experience at our hotel. Please contact the front office manager directly and a good value stay can be arranged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

While the Inn is older, it is walkable to most everything in town. The staff was exceptional and the included breakfast had more than enough choices to make even the pickiest eater full and satisfied! The room was clean, with the exception of a couple items left under the bed, so obviously housekeeping doesn't check there often.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamacita97008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We go to Banff one to two times a year and we always stay at the High Country Inn. The staff are great, the rooms are clean, the pool is nice and we get free breakfast. We can park our car underground when we arrive and then walk everywhere we need to go. Of course it is not a luxury hotel but we know that and we love it there.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Leann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews