We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I Stayed here for our Third annivesary we liked it, it was homey, the complementary breakfast was nice and the rooms were clean, Management was very helpful amd dealt with our concerns in a respectful manner making our stay in Banff that much better

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaters007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    211
    70
    15
    11
See reviews for
121
177
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Loved staying here. Just me and my wife for a romantic getaway. Staff seemed nice and the entrance is warm and charming. Also was encouraged to find out they are updating all there rooms! We're bringing our kids over Christmas!! Thanks.

Room Tip: Lots of space in the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I were impressed with the room we stayed in and that the hotel was in the midst of renovations to update the decor. Its a cozy place with a cabin feel. A lovely romantic midwinter getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

we got to our room at about 6 p.m. we were in a room that was across the hall from where a very loud profanity laced party party started at 7 pm. i had to go down to the desk to change my our room. this is not easy to do for someome like me who is disabled and a senior.
the other reason i was disappointed was because when i originally looked at this booking it said "FREE BREAKFAST'' was part of the deal. it also mentioned that TICINOS restaurant was open. i assumed Ticinos would provide the free breakfast as my wife and i both stayed at the high country inn in the past and did get free breakfast in the restaurant. this time ticinos was not even open to the public as it was closed for repairs.
a simple complimentary breakfast was served in a room.
i feel the hign coutry inn was not a good place and was misrepresented in the online ad.... even at the price i paid.
there were several other places available nearby in banff at a much more reasonable price with complimentary breakfast..
my wife and i are low income and we go to banff a month in advance of our wedding anniversary there most years.
we go early most years because our anniversary falls on december 21 which coincides with higher prices at many establishments.
this time ( OUR 39 TH ANNIVERSARY) was memorable for all the wrong reasons.
that is why i am disappointed
sincerely yours john williams

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Williams,

I'm sorry to hear that your recent stay at the High Country Inn was less than desirable. I just wanted to point out a few things to you that will be helpful when staying with us or any other hotel in the future.

Firstly, if there is a room nearby that is causing a disturbance due to noise it's recommended that you call down to the front desk and alert them of the issue prior to causing yourself the inconvenience of changing rooms. Our staff members are well trained on these issues and usually a phone call to the room alerting them of a complaint is enough to get the peace and quiet back. In the rare circumstance that this is not the case, it’s our job to deal with the situation according to the severity.

Secondly, you mentioned that our hotel is not a good value but we always strive to provide competitive rates and value is one of my top priorities in managing this property. My question for you is did you alert us as to why you felt this way while we had the opportunity to fix it? Often times if a guest is staying with us and they do alert us of problems there are ways that we can improve their stay right then and there. Next time if you're not happy for any reason please come see us and we will do everything we can to make the situation better.

Thirdly, you mentioned the breakfast. We have served a continental breakfast in our conference room since 2007. Prior to that, Ticino's restaurant did serve breakfast but has since opted to stay with serving dinner. For future visits, if you're looking for something more than a continental breakfast, I'd like to recommend the El Toro restaurant in Irwin's Mountain Inn to you. This restaurant is two doors down from us and serves a fantastic hot breakfast at a very reasonable price.

I hope you enjoy future stays in Banff and if you're willing to give the High Country Inn a second chance, please ask for the general manager when completing your booking. I will make sure that your requests are met prior to arrival and ensuring a more positive experience.

Kindest Regards,

Jordan Irwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed in other 3 star hotels in Banff and this one does not deserve 3 stars. The common areas need a major deep cleaning. A major hallway had carpet duct-taped over the top. Our room had a smear of toothpaste on the vertical facing of the sink. We were at first sent to a room that was occupied, as was the person ahead of us at the desk. Back to a true 3 star next time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bctraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We Stayed at the HIgh country Inn in mid November. We stayed in the honeymoon suite as it wasn't very much more cost wise, and it included a jacuzzi tub. We thought that a jacuzzi would be a great thing to have after a long day of touring Banff and the area. The room appeared clean, had a larger balcony than most of the other rooms and faced the back of the hotel. It was decent value for the price. However the electric fireplace seemed to not throw heat. It was able to turn on but didn't do anything to warm the room. Also there may have been some electrical problems with the jaccuzi and the bathroom. In the middle of the night the jets of the tub would turn on as well as the heat lamp. Overall I would certainly return. However, if I was looking for a place to actually Honeymoon, I would probably spend more and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jematt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

As our tour bus pulled up, all I could think was, "oh boy, a Best Western without the name Best Western." More like, "Oh boy, am I wrong."

After years of travelling to time-share resorts and staying in high-end two-bedroom suites, this was the first time I stayed in a hotel for a longer period of time. From the outside, it looks like a nice, average hotel. On the inside, you're greeted by a fireplace, a comfy lobby, and a friendly staff.

The rooms are modern (although the bathrooms could use a bit of an update, but I'm picky) and make you feel like you are staying in a higher-end facility than you are. Just a walk away from the shopping centre, the grocery store and the core of Banff, Alberta, this place is a great choice. I have now stayed here three times. All I can say against it is that the pool seems to have a lot of issues and is closed for maintenance or cleaning a lot.

Great hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise, choose a room facing away from Banff Avenue. Both sides of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High_Country_Inn, General Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your review on our property. I always appreciate the feedback given by our guests and take their comments and concerns seriously. At the High Country Inn we are striving to provide a higher than expected standard of quality and excellence to you. As stated in previous responses, we are currently updating our hotel rooms with new lighting, new bathrooms and new vinyl. I'm truly excited to see our guest's reactions as we complete more and more rooms of this project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 33 in Banff
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Property: High Country Inn
Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing